We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place in the middle of Cairo”
Review of Travelers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelers House
Ranked #26 of 60 Cairo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel was a welcome relief for my group of 4. It's situated right smack in the middle of Cairo and walking distance to Tahrir Square. Food and shopping is not a problem here.

But the best part of Travellers House was Adel and his brother who helped us a lot. Service was fantastic which was a surprise if you think about the rates here.

Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a cheap and awesomely comfortable place to crash in Cairo.

PS: The hotel is on the 3rd floor I think, and going up in the elevator is scary, but everything else was just awesome.

Room Tip: There is one room with attached bathroom, would be good for those who want privacy.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaymondRaj1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Travelers House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

39 - 45 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2012

This was an amazing hostel with a great location, fantastic staff, and affordable pricing. The location is close to Tahrir square, across the street from the best bakery in cairo, and has food all around. The staff speak excellent English and are extremely friendly and helpful. I enjoyed talking to them whenever I could and we quickly became friends. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, and are air conditioned which was amazing in the summer. They have high ceilings and have balcony views of the busy street below.

I loved my stay at this hostel and I hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did. Thank you Ahmed and Adel who were wonderful staff who helped take care of me. I will always remember hanging out with you guys and our enlightening conversations.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I stayed with my partner and two friends in a 5 bed dorm here in downtown Cairo, the room itself was very clean, the shower had no curtain though so the bathroom flooded every time we used it! The air conditioning was brilliant!
The owner’s English was very good and he was very helpful, even giving us a takeaway breakfast as we had a very early start one morning. The owner arranged a taxi for us which went from our hostel to the pyramids at Giza to the pyramid at Sakkara them back to the hostel for a very reasonable price (£20 for the four of us). Twice however he gave us confusing directions to places we were trying to find on foot, which was frustrating! Overall, however, this was good value for money and I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotty02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The travelers house hotel is a GREAT place to stay!

Like most people, I was a little anxious when booking my trip to Egypt, but I felt completely comfortable here.  Even when protests were occurring at Tahir Square whilst i was there, I felt completely at ease here.  

The location is good and is walking distance to Egyptian Museum/Tahir Square and Islamic Cairo, but it is far enough so you are not close to any problems.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.  A/C was fine and I even enjoyed my own private balcony.

The bathrooms were always kept in good condition and hot water was always available.

The common area/lounge is a great place to rest after a long day and mix with other like minded travelers.  Cable TV (with BBC) was good to keep on top of the action at Tahir Square.

A decent Breakfast was also provided - eggs, cheese, bread and tea/coffee, much better than most places.

All this aside, the best thing about Travelers House was Adele!! He's the MAN! He arranged a taxi to collect me from the airport, he organized any tour I wanted to go on, he recommended places to see/eat/visit whilst I was in Cairo,  he even helped me get Internet on my iPhone and wrote down instructions in Arabic if I was going anywhere tricky so I wouldnt get lost.  

Basically, Adele definitely contributed to my great stay in Cairo and helped me in any way he could - I truly appreciate his help.  Also,  his English is great and he's a friendly guy who enjoys a good chat (like me) :-)

I would definitely recommend staying at the Travelers House Hotel, it has everything you need, plus more, and it's sooo cheap!

Thanks again Adele :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AusRob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Travelers House is a really nice hostel to stay. Location is superb with the best falafels around the corner and if you like sweets, its just opposite the hotel. Nearby is a very good koshari restaurant. Close to train station, walking distance from Metro, local shops and modern shops/restaurants/cinema all around. A safe place & not too close not too far from Tahrir. Because of the great central location it's a bit noisy and earplugs at night will do you good. Luggage storage is no problem.
Rooms are spacious, clean & comfy with large windows, high ceilings & street view, hot shower 24/7, small kitchen, big common area with internet & TV and small balcony. Airport pickup on time. Car can be arranged at reasonable price. The elevator is working most of the time. If not it's only 4 easy floors and somebody will help with your luggage (arrival/leaving).
Above all the service is very welcoming, friendly and helpful! Adel speaks very well English and has solid information for your travels, knows the best places in Cairo, helps you organize your trip. Samy is the best driver. Thank you guys, I had a great time and interesting chats! Thanks to all of you! When in Cairo I'll certainly stay here again.

PS I'm a sgl wmn traveling by bike. Storage of the box for a couple of weeks was no problem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernadette56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here in March. We were impressed with how smoothly everything went from start to finish. In Egypt this is definitely something to be thankful for! First off, they had a driver waiting for us at the airport at 2:00 in the morning even though our plane was 2 hours late. When we got to the hotel they immediately checked us into our room and offered us tea. We wanted to get started on our vacation as soon as possible and they were even able to arrange a trip to the Pyramids that morning for us even at the late hour. We were very impressed. We only had 2 days in Cairo but had a great easy vacation thanks to the staff here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I chose this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor and was quite pleased with my choice. The staff especially make this hotel stand out - always friendly and always willing to give advice. I work in the tourism industry so I appreciate this immensely. They gave me lots of solid information to help me decide what I should visit in Egypt and then helped me figure out how to do it. Now is a great time to visit Egypt - the weather was fantastic - warm days and cool nights.
My room had a great little balcony to watch the city below. Cairo is a fascinating place and a fun place to people watch, there is always so much happening. There was also a balcony in the common area where they serve breakfast, it was nice to eat breakfast while watching the city wake up.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.7 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#63 of 139 in Cairo
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairo Moon Hotel
Cairo Moon Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cairo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#13 of 60 in Cairo
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#3 of 60 in Cairo
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family Palace Hotel
Family Palace Hotel
#12 of 60 in Cairo
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers House

Address: 43 Shereef St, Cairo 00202, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range: £9 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelers House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened. Finally after looking for the best central point in Cairo for all travelers we found this strategic location to establish travelers house, the hostel is situated in the heart of downtown. Therefore we are so close to everywhere - 8 minutes walk to Egyptian museum, 2 minutes walk to subway (Nasser, Attaba and Orabi metro stations), 10 minutes walk to the main bus station (Turguman station), 11 minutes walk to the train station (Ramses station), 17 minutes walk to the oldest and most famous market (Khan el-Khalili bazaar), 30 minutes drive from Cairo International airport. Located around the hostel collection of Egyptian and international banks, restaurants and coffee shops (24 hours service)..Travelers House has large rooms with high ceilings and high quality furniture and equipped with air-conditioning which make your stay pleasant and comfortable. The fresh towels and the linen are available 24 hours for free, 24 hour hot water in the private bathrooms inside the rooms and the shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing