We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good egyptian budget hotel”
Review of Travelers House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelers House
Ranked #26 of 60 Cairo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 March 2013

this is perfect place for travelers who do not want to spend much money,travelers house located in very central street in down town of cairo which make it near to every where,The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean and were serviced on request Soap and towels were provided. Wifi was good in the common area (none in the room), Free and continuous teas and coffees were available.nothing to argue about considering the price Dont let the entrance on ground floor trick you as the hostel itself on fourth floor is a different .We used the airport shuttle offered by the hostel - it all worked very well. Good way to avoid the usual taxi hassle.
the friendly staff of travelers house speaking very good english and they help as much as they can to comfort you .this place is highly recommended for people who want to spend few nights in cairo ..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank victor s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Travelers House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Great location! Walking distance to the Egyptian Museum and rail station. There is a common area with internet and you can request for tea and shisha too, which was good. Staff speaks English. There were some mosquitos at night that didn't make the sleeping experience good. The bathroom had mold in it and wasn't in the best condition. Lastly, the elevator and the building itself is very old, so please be aware of this, but this is common in downtown Cairo at this price point. It gets the shower and sleeping job down, but I would not stay here for anything more than that. Not a good choice for romance for my wife and I. Overall, great value and location for the price you pay if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank magnusip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Choose this hostel based on price and the many positive recommendations posted on Trip Advisor. We were booked into Travellers House for three nights and checked out after one due to the fact that the street noise from our room was unbearable. The location was perfect and the staff were very friendly and their english was good but this was not enough to convince us to stay any longer than we had too. Our room as a double with an ensuite which consisted of a shower over the toilet. It had an unpleasant smell as well which we could not pin point. One towel was offered for two of us. Our room was also full of Mosquitos.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here, make sure you ask for a room that is no where near the streets.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I was very happy to have stayed here for about week this January. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful in every question I had. Not only did they put up with my endless questions, they were also more than happy to show me sites, explain directions and took care of my taxi ride from the airport.

The rooms are simple and clean, and the breakfast in the morning does the job.

I would like to also note that the manager, Adel, Is amazingly helpful and made me feel safe the entire time I was there. If you are single traveler, this place is perfect, but of course it's good for anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I visited cairo recently along with my family and stayed at Travelers house at cairo after seeing some reviews in trip advisor. i found the hotel to be safe, staff were very friendly and caring, they speak english well. it is situated in a convenient locality so proximity to hotels, transports, exchanges, atms etc was there. The hotel arranged for trips to other places in egypt and the whole trip was well organised, we were guided by knowledgeable persons. our safety was well taken care of, and i felt a home in the hotel. i will recomend this to all my friends for their trip to cairo

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank latvika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I came here looking for a room. The owner was amazing. Unfortunately, I didn't stay there because I needed a work desk inside the room. The owner, however, was totally understanding of my peculiar need and let me use his wifi to look online for other hotels and he even recommended a few. Who does that!?

I will definitely stay there on a non-working holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
4  Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

This place is hidden within the bustling streets of Downtown Cairo, and although noisy and dirty, THH was clean and a great find.
We had a car pick us up which was arranged by the hotel and was very cheap. The breakfast was simple but just what we needed before a big day at the Pyramids.
Staff were helpful.
Internet was easily accessible.
Our viator tour also picked us up from here too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Camilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.7 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
381 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#64 of 139 in Cairo
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairo Moon Hotel
Cairo Moon Hotel
#6 of 60 in Cairo
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luna
Hotel Luna
#13 of 60 in Cairo
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#3 of 60 in Cairo
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Family Palace Hotel
Family Palace Hotel
#12 of 60 in Cairo
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelers House

Address: 43 Shereef St, Cairo 00202, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range: £9 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelers House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened. Finally after looking for the best central point in Cairo for all travelers we found this strategic location to establish travelers house, the hostel is situated in the heart of downtown. Therefore we are so close to everywhere - 8 minutes walk to Egyptian museum, 2 minutes walk to subway (Nasser, Attaba and Orabi metro stations), 10 minutes walk to the main bus station (Turguman station), 11 minutes walk to the train station (Ramses station), 17 minutes walk to the oldest and most famous market (Khan el-Khalili bazaar), 30 minutes drive from Cairo International airport. Located around the hostel collection of Egyptian and international banks, restaurants and coffee shops (24 hours service)..Travelers House has large rooms with high ceilings and high quality furniture and equipped with air-conditioning which make your stay pleasant and comfortable. The fresh towels and the linen are available 24 hours for free, 24 hour hot water in the private bathrooms inside the rooms and the shared bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Travelers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing