We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hosptality”
Review of Cairo Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairo Moon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 54 Cairo B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Hosptality”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I would personally rate this hotel as one of the amazing budget cheap hotels in Cairo ,The owner Mohammed Alnajar made my experience in his hotel like a 5 star resort experience he really does go out of his way to make his guest feel at home and that's how he made me fee .

This was my first trip to Egypt and I was scared and worried from the news I was hearing in television before visiting prior to leaving Canada I have contacted Mohammed to let him know that I needed to book hotel but did not want to deal with third party websites he confirmed my booking for a whole month and gave me a good rate
Mohammed went out of his way to make sure my landing experience in his home town is the safest one he and his driver were waiting for me before I even landed and took care of all my bags and everything else

Don't put high expectations as I was expecting standards of service like in Canada in the beginning and was shocked but Mohammed made sure I was satisfied and actually switched me from the second floor to the first floor room which has an amazing view right beside the lounge

keep in mind its a low budget hotel however its in a very convenient and safe area ,hotel is right in the middle of everywhere 3 minutes walk to all the amazing shops and dining ,there is a McDonald's right around the corner of the hotel

overall I had a really good experience, Mohammed and his staff are wonderful

truly wonderful first time experience in Cairo and felt very safe walking in and out of the building with the doorman being there all night felt like 24 hour security

(**** only downside is hotel is really outdated and old and is in need of major renovation also television are the very small tiny ones from 20 years ago and really need to be upgraded to new bigger flat screen televisions


****rooms are not cleaned everyday unless you specifically ask them to*****

Room Tip: **** I recommend you to get your own linens and Towel as overall quality of Egyptian hotels standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Princess_Huda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    23
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
25
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

For the price you're paying you could do a lot worse than the Cairo Moon.

Make no mistake: this is a budget hotel. The hotel only takes up the 8th floor of a building (as many other budget hotels do), and the signage is a bit hard to spot from the street.

The room we stayed in had a noisy aircon and the shower was more like a trickle, but at $25 a night for a private room and bathroom in downtown Cairo, we had no reason for complaint.

Mohammed (the owner/manager) was very friendly and helpful. Even though we were just there for one night, he tried his best to make us feel at home and was always ready to answer any questions we had.

The location is excellent and the security in the building was very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZA_Travel_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Fantastic hospitality and made very welcome. We were picked up from the airport and day trips were organised. Accommodation is basic but very good value for money. Well worth the amazing trip up in the elevator. They were very helpful in advising us and in organising a daytrip to Giza, Saqarra and Red and bent pyramids.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kiwifamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I would categorize Cairo Moon hotel as one of the best Budget hotels which offers five star service by Mr. Mohamed. Even minor defects were happily ignored by me as Mohamed made us feel at home and tried his best to make us comfortable. He organised customised trips for us at excellent prices. Currency exchange, mouth watering breakfast, free internet, airy balcony on 8th floor - what else could I have asked more for ! He provided us an option to access his kitchen to boil water for our infant kid.

Would always stay here even if I was paid to stay in a five star hotel else where in the city. Thank you Mohamed for all your help. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the road having a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Puneet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mzuzu, Malawi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Although it's been over a year since my brief stay at Cairo Moon (September 2011) I still feel obliged to express my appreciation for the welcome I and my family received at Cairo Moon hotel. We went at the last minute without knowing what to expect. The elevator into the hotel was a little daunting but the rooms themselves were spacious and clean and the manager and staff were very helpful and accommodating of my large family's needs and spoke excellent English. They gave us plenty of friendly, useful advice on restaurants and avoiding tourist traps around Cairo.

The breakfast was simple - bread, jam and tea- but the rooms were priced at such good value that even that felt like a generous gesture. Thank you and apologies for the delay in posting this review.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peanut-Caramel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I really feel truly blessed for finding this hotel, I was backpacking the middle east solo but felt at home among friends the very first night I checked in. Mohamed is a very involved owner and will make sure your experience is as perfect as he can make it, always helpful, always friendly.


ASK FOR "RAAOF" AS A DRIVER! I went all over the middle east and out of the dozen or so drivers I had, Raaof in Cairo was definitely the best! Bright young man, very good english, studied tourism and history in college so he can give you a lot of insight both past and present into Egypt. In addition to showing me all over Cairo, making sure my experience at the pyramids was amazing, and spending entire days with me, he also went above and beyond by picking me up at the airport even though I arrived at midnight, and dropping me off when I left at 4AM. Very trustworthy. He truly made my experience in Cairo epic but most importantly SAFE. He's much more then a driver, he's a guide (a very good one) and now a friend.

There are nicer more expensive places to stay but given the overall experience if you consider yourself a "traveler" more then a "tourist" you really need to stay here and spend a couple days with Mohamed and Raaof, let them show you Cairo with a locals perspective. They are both very professional and likeable guys.

Before coming I read comments about the building being old and breakfast being bland, which I guess I can understand, but for the $ I was actually very surprised by how nice and comfortable this place was, yeah its old, but very clean and everything worked. Remember this is in downtown Cairo! Thats the best part, and you can't beat the price. If you're used to staying in most hostels like me this place will feel like a luxury hotel :)

I obviously had a great time in Egypt, and a lot of that had to do with staying here.

Room Tip: This place is high enough that the 24/7 "noise of Cairo" really isn't that bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SharkBait8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I did choose three time this hotel. Because i always feel that i am living at my family home. His staff is very cooperative and his owner Mohamed El naggar has very nice personality and helpful person. If Egyptian government will give me residence visa i will live in CAIRO MOON HOTEL.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shakeel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#24 of 137 in Cairo
576 reviews
0.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
378 reviews
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Moon Hotel

Property: Cairo Moon Hotel
Address: 28 Adly Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cairo Moon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel offers all of the comforts of home in the center of downtown Cairo. Our colorfully designed, immaculately clean rooms are equipped with A/C or fan, and some offer a spacious balcony. We invite you to enjoy breakfast on our shaded terrace overlooking the city. We offer free hot drinks throughout the day and night, so you can relax and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing