We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff (Ahmed Hossein)”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #84 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My girl and I stayed here for four nights on september 12. We would come back again, no doubt about it. Nice, clean, cheap place to stay at.

It is located on a busy commercial street and the atmosphere on the neighbourhood is nice (although a little noisy at night).

But let me tell you something: WE FOUND HERE THE MOST HONEST EGYPTIAN OF THE ENTIRE TRIP (MR. AHMED HOSSEIN). Really, I would come back to this place just for this man, he helped us a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _scar_V1064230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel is tucked in a pedestrian alley behind the Central Bank of Egypt. At night the pedestrian alley turns into several sheesha cafes. Yes, you can hear the noise from your room. but the noise dies down by midnight. i am an extremely light sleeper, but by the time you get back to the hotel, you are so exhausted from your day, it is easy to sleep right thru the noise

The hotel is divided into two parts. off to the right is where the reception is with a couple of rooms. Room 2 (our room) is off to the left, with several more rooms and the dining area. our room was very lovely, with two small terraces. the only negative about our room is that the bathroom is a part of the room. It sounds odd. there is no roof to the bathroom. therefore, you can hear everything. if you are travelling a with a companion, either you need to be very comfortable with each other, probably work out a schedule (hanging out on there terrace is also a good option)

The hotel staff was amazing. we cannot say enough fabulous things about them. I emailed them alot before our trip, they were so attentive and patient with me. they even arranged our cruise from Aswan to Luxor.

Only negative about the hotel is that they arranged a driver for us (this is of no fault of the hotel's). everyone has been bragging about Egyptian Bob in their reviews. he comes across as being very nice, but the more time we spent with him, we realized he was just a bully who wanted our money. it got to a point that he would just point to random places and tell us what they were. when in fact he was just saying they were the point of interest just to shut us up.

Room Tip: Get Room 2. right on the corner, large, spacious, clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beena31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Downtown stationed Hotel Royal was quite a good experience. Close to most sights of Cairo like the Egyptian museum and the ever-busy Tahrir square. The staff was very helpful and the reception was open 24/7. They were also quite easy to communicate with since they knew very good English unlike most Egyptians. The building was very nice from an archtectural point of view and so was the interior design, but there were also evident signs of decay. The room was clean enough.
The only drawback of this place was the noise. Cairo is very noisy overall and hotel royal was no exception. There are multiple cafes just below the hotel which keep up the noise levels until 1-2 a.m. but at least they are quite silent during the day.
All in all I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil1_skate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was an excellent hotel, located right in the heart of downtown with easy access to food and transportation. The breakfast was great (bread, omelettes, jams, cheese etc), staff were very wiling to help us with directions etc. When we had to leave early one day, they even packed breakfast for us.

The street that the hotel is on is actually above some cafes that operate late into the night, but the window shutters are fairly soundproof so we had no problems with the noise from downstairs. Altogether, a very comfortable stay and great value for money! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug-cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel Royal really was a great place to stay in Cairo. We were welcomed very late at night, and after a long day travelling we were shown to our rooms. We had breakfast everyday, which included bread, juice, eggs, omelettes, jams and butters. We were 3 students studying in Cairo at the time, so spent a lot of time at the Cairo Museum, which was a 10 minute walk away. The rooms are spacious, clean, modernly furnished and all include wireless internet, which was great. My room was on the front of the hotel, which was a little noisy, but I believe this will be common unless you spend over £100 a night somewhere else in the city! My friends room was much quieter, so it might be better to ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you're a light sleeper. We organised a trip to the Pyramids with the hotel, and that ran quite smoothly! We paid $30 to the hotel, but ended up spending quite a bit more when we got to the Pyramids as we were more or less forced to go on a camel ride! I wasn't too happy at the time, but it turned out to be a great trip and the scenery was amazing.

The staff at the hotel were great, and all spoke really good english. They were always on hand to help us whenever we needed it. The cost was extremely competitive, as we booked through hostelworld.com. It turned out to be great value for money. I would fully recommend staying here. It is great value for money, and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel if you are a light sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel deserves the positive reviews it's received. The staff are very friendly, breakfast was good, the adjacent streets are atmospheric, and the rooms are of a decent size complete with a balcony (rather bizarre bathroom arrangement though, but you'll cope). Ok, so that's the good stuff. Now for the not so good....

The location is very central, and provided you don't get lost, the Egyptian Museum is just ten minutes away. However, it's worth noting that few taxi drivers know where Elwy Street is and when you show them a map in English they're no better off, so always take one of the hotel's map/cards with you, which has combined Arabic and English street names. Trust me on this! Also bear in mind that despite Elwy Street being pedestrianised and a good people-watching spot, it's very noisy and you won't be able to sleep until 1.00am if you're lucky. But the main thing to be wary of is the tours provided by this hotel. Yes, they are cheap and remarkably good value. But at Giza you're not going to receive a 'tour' as such but more a driver who takes you to the Pyramids (via a 'museum', which is essentially a shop that no doubt pays him commission) and then hands you over to a camel owner who tries to rip you off for a tour of the Great Pyramids.

You obviously won't want to miss out on the wonderful experience of riding a camel around such a startling site as the Pyramids, but do not, under any circumstances, accept the first quote given to you, as I can guarantee it will be ridiculous. As much as I loved Egypt there's no denying that many people are unscrupulous and will have no qualms about emptying your wallet. Pay no more than 300 Egyptian Pounds each for a 2-3 hour camel ride tour of the pyramids. They'll try to charge you three times but just walk away; you're being robbed, and you just know that the hotel's driver will receive his cut.

Don't let any of this affect your attitude. It's all quite an experience and this hotel is perfectly fine considering the low prices it offers. Just be mindful of potential con-artists though....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

a two star hotel about £30 per night.
booked two rooms looks bad outside downtown up two flights of stairs perfect room with ac good decorations balconies available , very good staff perfect would stay there again , the rooms are really modern and well decorated.
Perfect

Room Tip: ask to see them there are 12 personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#47 of 139 in Cairo
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#63 of 139 in Cairo
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 139 in Cairo
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#78 of 139 in Cairo
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 139 in Cairo
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#41 of 139 in Cairo
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Address: 10 Elwy Street | downtown Cairo, Cairo 99999, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range: £15 - £25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal offers air-conditioned rooms overlooking exotic palm trees and flowers. The Naguib Metro Station is conveniently located 300 metres away. All of Hotel Royal's rooms are elegantly decorated and are provided with fresh flowers. They have dark wooden floors, a work desk and a private bathroom with a bathtub. Free Wi-Fi is available. Royal's 24-hour reception can provide sightseeing tours and recommend surrounding restaurants. A shuttle service to Cairo International Airport, 18 km away, is also available. Hotel Royal is situated a 5-minute walk from the Egypt Museum and the River Nile. Tahrir Square is 200 metres away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing