We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Hotel Royal”
Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #101 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay at Hotel Royal”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The reception was excellent. Nasr and Amr took great care of me. I was treated like a VIP. Rooms are a little small but very clean & well kept. Management (Said) made sure that I was happy & booked many trips for me with a personal driver. You cannot ask for more than that! Hotel Royal is located in the Heart of Cairo with many shops & the Nile River close by. Egypt is beautiful and the people are very kind & happy. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in downtown Egypt. Thanks guys for the great customer service. I especially want to thank Said, Nasr & Amr for such a great welcome & a great time. Royal Hotel is #1

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    26
    16
    18
    14
See reviews for
16
47
35
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I rate this hotel 5 stars it is excellent in a caring and hospitable staff. I feel those are two things that make the success of a hotel. It's small, but it's clean and the people are fruendly. It's also within walking distance from downtown. Thevhotel's location is a little difficult to find at first. My stay there was wonderful! I will stay there again, and I recommend it to anyone who appreciates low cost, but high quality.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Had a great stay here. Had the room for about $20. It is a far call from The Ritz, but I challenge you to find a better room in such a good location near Talat Harb square for $20. The staff are english-speaking and friendly. The bathrooms are just glass enclosures in the actual bedroom, but it works. Water pressure is spotty--especially in the morning. If you are looking for something a step or two above a hostel with friendly, helpful staff, stay here! You won't be disappointed.Come in expecting a budget, value hotel and that's exactly what you get. Helpful (but pricey) tours and taxis can be arranged. Harvard to find because it's in an alley with very limited signage. Can be loud because there are street cafes all around with rowdy guests. Nonetheless, I loved my stay here and would come back again if I were looking for a cheap option in Cairo. Pass on the hostels and other small hotels and give Hotel Royal (or Grand Royal, their other hotel) a chance.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room that does not face the alley because it gets loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codydean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Small, friendly hotel in the heart of Cairo. Hard to find by taxi driver. Better print out the Arabic address. Small, clean rooms with comfortable beds and good air conditioning. Breakfast freshly cooked for each customer in the morning. Friendly reception happy to assist and give directions. I traveled with my mother and we felt very safe in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulinaG46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Its absolutely a great place to stay while your in downtown Cairo. Its walking distance to several attractions like the Egyptian museum and the river Nile and tons of coffee shops and shops of any kind. This hotel is also mentioned in the Lonely Planet. The staff is also very welcoming and the rooms are very clean and breakfast included. They also offer any tour your heart desire at a good price. I really enjoyed my two weeks there.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

I made a reservation here at the last minute (in person) and they were very accommodating. The staff is friendly and non-invasive. I booked their largest room for a reasonable price. The rooms are clean, sheets are clean, and the breakfast isn't bad either. The ensuite room's bathroom is in the corner of the bedroom. This may take some getting used to: The bathroom is simply walled off in the corner with no roof, but the opaque walls still give you the privacy you need. There's a balcony that overlooks the crowded street below. I read reviews regarding noisiness, but it's really not that bad. Elwy St is a pedestrian-only street that is lined with chairs and tables outside of sheesha cafès, so it has quite a bit of people, but its not too loud. It's conveniently close to the Museum and other hotspots. Overall, it's s nice hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wgill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konya, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This hotel is very bad, cleaning is bad, tehere is no towel, I asked 2 times but they did not give, breakfast is also terrible, there is no breakfest restoran, personel says lie, room is very noisy, wc is inside the room, I strongly recommed to avoid fron this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hüsamettin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#41 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
8.1 mi away
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#69 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#44 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#61 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#49 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: 10 Elwy Street | downtown Cairo, Cairo 99999, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Royal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal offers air-conditioned rooms overlooking exotic palm trees and flowers. The Naguib Metro Station is conveniently located 300 metres away. All of Hotel Royal's rooms are elegantly decorated and are provided with fresh flowers. They have dark wooden floors, a work desk and a private bathroom with a bathtub. Free Wi-Fi is available. Royal's 24-hour reception can provide sightseeing tours and recommend surrounding restaurants. A shuttle service to Cairo International Airport, 18 km away, is also available. Hotel Royal is situated a 5-minute walk from the Egypt Museum and the River Nile. Tahrir Square is 200 metres away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing