We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great days in cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mesho Inn Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mesho Inn Hostel
Ranked #53 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great days in cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Family palace Hostel has a great central location and is run by very friendly and welcoming people. We had arranged a pick up from the airport with the hotel and although the plane was late for 1 hour the driver was there waiting for us, very organized and efficient. Upon arrival to the hotel we were offered several rooms to choose from and we settled for a front view room with a balcony. Throughout our stay all the staff was very friendly and helpful, making us feel relaxed and at home

Room Tip: all i like
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayde198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    4
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
4
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

this is a really nice place to stay in cairo ,mesho is very friendly guy and all the staff are the same,
i like the breakfast in the morning it was for free and my room was the same one i have got last time ,its my second stay and if i come back again i definitely will stay there,i recommend it for travelers who planing to stay couple of nights in cairo with cheap budget ,thank you guys for every thing!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamsp_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Where to start on this dump the only good 5hing about this hostel is the lady who works their but is cowed by the owners to do as little as possible due to thier childish and very immature behaviour.i booked for eight nights and after the fourth day i asked if they could clean the room and take out the garbage and it wasnt till the fifth day that they actually entered the room and did anything.when i checked to see what had been done the bathroom had not been cleaned and was not cleaned properly while i was their,the floors were always dirty and when i asked for anything they all came off especially the manager as if i was asking for too much .the attitude here if yu wish to spend time in this dump is not condusive to a holiday yu would enjoy.the climb to the third floor is filthy and the inner courtyards on each landing is nothing short of disgusting as 4hey are strewn with garbage .booking .com has osn many ocassions sent me to hotels where they promised one thing in their reviews and delivered far less than they advertized.if yu want a decent hostel and dont mind paying a little more the cairo hostel is a much better option than putting up with these people and much cleaner.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Look, I get it, it costs 10 bucks, you don’t expect the Ritz. But after one night I moved to the Bella Luna where I am paying an extra dollar a night and the difference is huge.
The Mesho didn’t have my booking, the airport pickup didn’t materialize, then the air con didn’t work (yeah, OK, I can just hear all the hardcores snorting at me for wanting aircon, but I was coming down with a really horrible cold and just this once I specifically booked a place with aircon). The advertised included breakfast was not going to happen - again, honestly not fazed – a good breakfast in Cairo costs like a buck anyway, so it wasn’t the absence of breakfast, it was just another thing that I was promised that didn’t materialise. As it turned out, the lovely cleaning lady insisted on bringing me breakfast when I she heard me politely pointing out that it was advertised as being included. But she was the exception. The other staff didn’t really seem to care much when I politely pointed out the things that they had advertised but not provided (the guy who said he would ‘look into’ the air con barely looked up from his social media and never got back to me).
I am not at all fussy about the things that the Mesho lacked but they do need to start providing the things that they advertise as included, or stop advertising them as inclusions.
The noise from the street is pretty intense (again I can just hear the hardcore travellers saying ‘Oh that’s just Cairo’, but I know Cairo well and it simply isn’t true that noise all night is an unavoidable part of staying cheaply in downtown Cairo. There are better, much quieter places for the same or similar price where they provide what they promise to and where the staff really care about you. I suggest the Bella Luna or Wake Up Cairo.
But hey, at a pinch, the Mesho is cheap, clean, and in a good spot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffreywaterfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Mesho and his colleagues are very friendly and love conversing and getting to know thier guestes every chance they get. Great place for young adventurous travelers wanting to experience the true character that is the heart of Cairo. You stay 3 floors up off the ground in a once beautiful 300 year old building with lovely balconies. Do not let the entry way, elevator or staircase deter you from this very nice and well kept hostel. Mesho will set you up with an excellent driver and plan out everything you want to do from Alexandria all the way down to Abu Simel In a complete package at a decent flat rate(includes driver, guides,entrance fees to places, and trains or planes if needed). You learn to trust your driver and guides with your life becuase you are thier well being as well, meaning if they leave you unsatisfied Mesho will no longer contact them for work. The drivers and guides keep you from getting ripped off and hustled by the small percentage of Indecent people in Egypt. I enjoyed my stay very much.

Side Notes: Don't let the Media Intimidate you, I traveled to egypt by myself and I felt very safe, Egyptians are very friendly and love Americans.

Ladies: don't wear shorts or tank tops in Egypt unless you want to get absolutley Gawked at more than you already will.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaylorMitchel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stumbled upon Mesho Inn hotel by accident, we were actually looking to stay at Traveler's house hostel one floor above but ended up staying here instead. We were happy with our find as we were there during the 25 Jan revolution anniversary and Mesho and Islem cautioned us to be careful and gave us their phone numbers in case we needed help. That was appreciated. Of course being in the center of Cairo is noisy and you have to put up with Mozzies flying around but the room is pleasant and clean, and the breakfast tea is a good way to greet the morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel_Lin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury,ct
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

If you've been around tripadvisor for any amount of time you will know reviews can be very misleading. You must consider the reviewers frame of reference to evaluate the review. Mesho Inn is a perfect example. By no means do the reviews match reality. As a hotel Mesho would score a one star on a typical AAA type hotel scale, not horrendous but just bare minimum with everything. Granted, Mesho is a hostel not hotel therefore it deserves a 2 star. The location is actually quite good in downtown Cairo. The rooms are fairly large and spacious but not much attention is paid to routine cleanliness. As with many lower end hostels and hotels in this area Mesho occupies a floor in a very old, run down building. Bathrooms are basically added in to the rooms by walling off a corner with a 6 foot wall (ceilings are very high, 10+ feet). The staff do not speak English which in itself is not a problem but I did have issues with the reservation where they tried billing much more than the booking.com reservation. I was also billed 2X the amount for the quoted airport transportation with the excuse that the rate quoted was for a taxi not private car even though they sent the car. Both were difficult to sort out with the language barrier so I ended up paying the additional fee for transportation. Although probably fine for a single person looking just for a place to sleep, two or more people can find better accommodations elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#94 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#61 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Miami Cairo Hostel
Miami Cairo Hostel
#6 of 124 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travel Joy Hostel
Travel Joy Hostel
#18 of 124 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mesho Inn Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesho Inn Hostel

Property: Mesho Inn Hostel
Address: 43 Sherif St. 3rd Floor | Down Town, Cairo, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mesho Inn Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mesho Inn is located in downtown Cairo, one km from the Cairo Museum and just 5 minutes' walk from Nasser Metro Station. It offers elegant rooms with free Wi-Fi and private bathrooms. Guests at the Mesho can relax in the hotel's comfortable lounge room with plenty of seating, a PlayStation 3, and a flat-screen TV. The hotel also features a communal kitchen and a library offering a wide selection of books. Mesho Inn Hostel has a 24-hour reception desk that also functions as a tour desk. The staff offers room service and can also arrange an airport shuttle or a car rental. Hostel Mesho Inn is a 10-minute walk from the Egyptian Museum and 30 minutes' drive from Cairo International Airport. It offers free parking near to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mesho Inn Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing