We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Freedom Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Freedom Hostel
Ranked #2 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had an amazing stay at freedom hostel in Cairo. Staff were incredible and very helpful.. Listened to everything I wanted and tailored a great vacation to my needs. Very kind, welcoming and energetic. Hostel was very clean. Prime location. Few minutes from everything. When I went away from Cairo to Luxor and Aswan, I was legitimately homesick for Cairo and I believe it was because the staff at freedom hostel made me feel as though Cairo and the hostel was my home. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very clean, the staff is very warm, the price is good, have breakfast, the kitchen has a washing machine, microwave oven, the new has welcome tea, sleep until what time to have breakfast.
Staff will give you tailored journey of Egypt, and the price is lines do not include entry student tickets are half price is very reasonable, but the Chinese student id card to explain half a day It is good to have English on card to do a lot.
Location is very good, can walk to the museum, wifi soon covered the whole layer.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tianyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the hostels of hostels! I stayed here for 5 nights in Dorm and its easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It was spotless, absolutely no dust or dirt or anything. They have a washer and dryer for you to use as well and they cook up some great food for you too. I cannot describe how friendly the staff were. They organized numerous day trips too.The Staff will be your best friend when you leave! Also they have AC and wifi! Stay here it feels like home. safe, clean, calm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

i stayed for 5 nights in a room with privat bathroom in march 2014. the first room i got in the hostel had four single beds, was huge, with high ceilings, a balcony, wooden floor and a spaciouse bathroom. besides a few outside noises the room was very quiet. for a night i had to change another room. the room was ok but much smaller, with a double bed, less high ceilings, no balcony and no wooden floor, again with a spaciouse bathroom. you cant hear outside noises but since its close to the bathrooms of the dorms you hear more of the hostels noises. the young staff was very friendly and helpful with information regarding trips. complimentary breakfast is served on small tables in the lobby where you find other travellers to share experiences. the atmosphere is friendly and ideal for travellers, as a solo women traveller i felt very safe in freedom hostel which is located on the third floor of an old colonial building.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Danielawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have never stayed at hostel before so no ability to compare. I booked for 2 reasons 1) close to the museum 2) needed to be cheap. Ticked these requirements for sure. I booked a private room as solo female traveller (older) so Im not into sharing. My room had 4 beds and own bathroom. I figure that the $AUD20 per day I spent to have the privilege of private room was pretty fair and worth it. Breakfast was basic and would get you by. Peter, who greeted me was great & helpful. Internet was excellent. Be aware that, as with most of Egypt, there are 2 nights for compulsory power cut to building block, for about an hour, between 7.30 and 8.30pm. Just ask what nights, plan to stay out and have coffee during this time as it is very dark inside, no emergency lighting. Didnt bother me as I had computer with loads of battery power. My belongings were safe while I was out (room was able to be locked) Not sure how you go with keys to lock door if you do share with strangers. Metal shutters did help keep a lot of alley noise out. the noise was just men drinking coffee after dinner and playing backgammon or chess, but they do stay up later than I did :-) Mattresses were foam, but I found that a lot with cheaper places. beware if you have back problems, this may not suit. What I didnt like, but I am guessing this is the norm for cheaper places or hostel environment, is that they only had bottom sheet, no top sheet and the towel provided was the size of a bath mat. Hey it may of been for that purpose but Im not sure. I wont mark down for this as I am sure this is normal, I just havent stayed in hostels before to know.
Overall, I was happy with cleanliness & general feel of place and would stay again for sure.

I have added some other info below, not related to the hostel and this information does not reflect the rating I gave, its just extra info if required

GENERAL INFO
GETTING THERE: Take a snapshot of the location (with wider area) on your phone or use printed map. I came from train station via a taxi driver, who had no idea how to get there. Using map, I was able to pinpoint him there once in the area. Cairo is big after all! If you email hostel, they will provide driver for airport pickup for EGP80. The word FUNDUQ (fon-dook) arabic word for Hotel, should be imprinted in your brain. 4 flights of stairs will get you in. Stairs & "foyer" are filthy, but its a shared building so I guess no-one wants to clean it for everyone else's sake. Dont let this put you off.

FOOD: At the entrance of hostel, turn left to the main road (Sherif Basha). Cross this road. A few blocks to right is McDonalds (sometimes its nice to just have something predictable!) Across the road from McDonalds is Simonds Bakery Cafe - OMG the cakes are to die and the coffee isnt half bad. Quiet sophisticated indoor setting to enjoy & relax. If you turned left on Sherif Basha (still across road from hostel) keep your eyes open on the RHS, you will see a rabbit warren of hundreds of plastic chairs, open air cafe setting. For the first time in 3 weeks in Egypt, I felt very comfortable (in this setting). First time I saw Egyptian women smoking shishas (or even in cafes minus their menfolk) was here. There are plenty of street cafes with street food options. My pick was the Sports Cafe (2 big screen TVs for soccer fans) a little further in the alley. I ate at LAZIZ (2 El Kady El Fadel Sabry Abou Alam St) for cheap varied menu food (soup, pizza, shwarma, pasta etc). I didnt really find falafel options, but wasnt looking too hard either as i was a bit over it by then. Plenty of places to buy water, soft drinks etc. Pharmacies abound.

PEOPLE: for those who are new to Egypt. TRUST NO-ONE who approaches you. If you are lost, pretend that your not, as the person who approaches you has an ulterior motive. If your lost - YOU pick who to talk to. I walked to and from Museum from hostel and knew exactly where I was going, but still I was approached several times by men who "I am not taxi, just want to help you, I am (and take your pick) student at University (or) Museum worker (or) worked for tourist police (or) have english friends (or..well you get my drift)". Even though I said I know where I am going I was constantly being manhandled to go in the opposite direction, seemingly to go the "best way" or to good shopping etc. I found a good defence mechanism is to pretend you are having a phone conversation as you walk and wear dark sunnies. It gives you an opportunity to scope around without looking like you are. Sorry but those who want to rip off tourists will target the tourist, and hard. I dressed very conservatively but obviously still stuck out like a tourist.

Room Tip: Pay to have room private if in your budget, take earplugs to Egypt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackoperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My stay at Freedom Hostel was a fantastic one. During my stay, I have made a lot friends and its staff are very professional.I hereby strongly recommend the hostel for its services and its clean environment. If I were to return to Egypt sometime in the future, Freedom Hostel would be my first choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bolaji M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Definitely best hostel in Cairo i swear to King Pharaoh. Close to Metro station n lots of restaurants around. Only 5 mins walk to Cairo Museum. Dorm rooms r comfortable and clean, bathroom always clean and 24 hours hot water, Super friendly staff could speak multi-languages n hanged out with us to the local bar around the pretty Nile river. we smoked Shisha under the moonlight made us hard to forget AND we still got breakfast at 2pm even was wasted last night. I can't complain more

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 329Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.4 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 138 in Cairo
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#25 of 138 in Cairo
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 138 in Cairo
2,557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
10.7 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#1 of 138 in Cairo
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freedom Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freedom Hostel

Address: 6 Bank Misr St.,off Sherif St | infront of the centeral bank of Egypt, 3rd floor, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Price Range: £8 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About Freedom Hostel *Enjoy accommodation in style. Your travelling experience comes complete with a contemporary in-house lounge, laundry facilities and small guest kitchen. You can book travel & tours at our travel desk and keep in touch with friends & family with our internet corner, Wi-Fi and international telephone access. With our free luggage storage facilities, 24 hour reception and host of friendly staff will make your stay in Cairo a breeze. * If you've never been to Cairo before it can be quite an overwhelming and intimidating place, so why not let us make it easy for you? Less stress = more fun! No one understands the importance of having a great time while on Holiday like our staff here at Freedom Hostel. We provide the best tours and entertainment packages you'll find in this city. Forget a big, boring hotel or hostel with nothing going on - come stay with us and get a taste of Egypt that few visitors get to experience! Location Information *Our Location is one of the most easy to be reached at just 200 meters from the famous Talaat Harb Square, in front off the central bank of Egypt. *The Egyptian Museum is about 5/10 Minutes' walk. *Several Egyptian and International restaurants, cinemas and shopping malls are located nearby. Tea, coffee and shisha cafes located just few meters away. Accommodation Information *Our accommodation options include deluxe twin or double en-suited rooms, single or triple private rooms and dormitory rooms. All come with fresh white linen, a balcony, air-conditioning and a modern security system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Freedom Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing