We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service...good people”
Review of Hotel Grand Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Royal
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service...good people”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Really thank Hussein and staff for the advise n service. Great hotel for all the single travellers. Nice genuine advise..and great city tour packages... Must say the guys/drivers for city tours are good...
About the rooms..nice compact clean rooms..maybe there is some room for betterment..but great value for the price u pay...considering the place to be in city centre...
And one last curious traveller parting note...they got really fab bedside lamps...have fun!
In a nutshell, good place ..good people.

Room Tip: Single Roms are really for one person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amrit80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    50
    27
    10
    38
See reviews for
35
43
89
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

A hotel in the heart of down town at Talat Harb square.
You are in the middel of cairo and yet you can sleep quitley.
Nice , clean and decent room and fair prices.

Staff is really healpfull and breakfast was included.
Recomended to every one who wants to stay in the heart of cairo and yet stay in a nice and quite place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

I HIGHLY recommend anyone to stay at The Grand Royal Hotel. I couldn't have picked a better hotel in downtown Cairo. Clean and spacious rooms, fresh flowers in your room, Great breakfast to start your everyday.

Amazing atmosphere from the moment you walk in, feels like home.
Walking distance to everything.

You can get everything you can think of from there, At UNBELIEVABLE PRICES for all your tours, from Private guided tours, to cruises, from Cairo to Alexandria to Aswan to Luxor. They'll help you manage, arrange your entire stay there, to make sure that your experiences there is more than expected. You wont need to go anywhere else.

They can arrange drivers to come and pick you up and take you wherever your heart desires for the MOST AMAZING PRICES.

The staff there is outstanding. They really do go above and beyond to make your stay there in Egypt the most comfortable and the best experience you can take home.

I loved it the most cause they actually make you feel like family.
I also loved hanging out in the lobby with the staff and the other guests. You will not regret your stay here, I promise.

Just to name a few wonderful amazing people at the hotel that you will meet are Ibrahim, Hussein Saleh, Madeline, Amir. The whole entire crew there is outstanding. I cant thank them enough for making the best fours days I could ever have there. Thanks a million to all at the Grand Royal.

Also wanna give a special thanks to one of the guest there, thank you so much Lisa for being such a great friend.

Karina :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

First and foremost we experienced the most outstanding and exceptional services throughout our 7 day stay in Cairo.

From the moment we arrived the atmosphere was warm, friendly and welcoming. shortly after being shown to our room we returned to the lounge area where we were greeted by hotel staff and guest alike. Whilst enjoying some Egyption hospitality we discussed our itinerary with the staff and booked what turned out to be and amazing few days of tours with fantastic professional guides (special mention to our driver Muhammad who totally went above and beyond). We had been warned against booking tours through hotels as we had been told prices would be steep, HOWEVER we found not only where the tours fantastic but competavily priced.

Our room was spotless, spacious and comfortable with fantastic air conditioning. The house keeping staff did an efficient and impeccable job. Breakfast was fresh, nutricous and filling (perfect preparation for a long hot day seeing the sights).

On top this the hotel where amazing with helping us during the Egyptair strikes. They wokes us early to inform us of the strikes, made phone calls in Arabic on our behalf and held a room for us in case we did not fly (good thing too as we stayed a few extra nights)

We cannot recommend this hotel enough and fully intend to stay again. Thank you to all the hotel staff for making our trip to Cairo a trip of a lifetime! special thanks to Ibrahim, Muhammad, Madeline, Muhammad, Hussain and Amir and housekeeping keeping crew!

Mark and Jess

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bothe337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The Grand Royal is an excellent place if you are looking for clean, comfortable rooms at a very reasonnable price. Staff was always very helpful and the wifi access is excellent. I never took advantage of the breakfast as I like to sleep in. They can help you book your tours and will advise you on where to find what you are looking for. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ph0enix1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Grand Royal is an awesome hotel with amazing staff! The hotel has a simple elegance, is located in the heart of Cairo (5 minutes to Egypt museum!) and has a staff that is incredibly helpful; I spoke no Arabic when I went to Egypt and the front desk staff would help me to get where I needed to go as well as translate things for me. The hotel offers private day tours which I did, totally worth the money! If you decided to do the day tours, ask for Mina, he is the best driver and super friendly! My trip was so great because I decided to stay at this hotel, it really is the best hotel out of all the millions of hotels in Cairo!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrew275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My stay was during the first presidential election after the revolution. The staff is very helpful and more than welcoming to help you with your requests, be it touristic or about contemporary Egyot. The hotel is very central but offers a great retreat from Cairo's busy streets. Rooms are spacious, offer modern ACs and comfortable beds. The housekeeping service is very good and the hotel is overall very clean. The management is very committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible with an eye for the detail (e.g. fresh flowers). Overall a great budget alternative to the more expensive international chains. In downtown you will find many options to dine out, egyptian or international. Having spent quite some time in Egypt I can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#101 of 138 in Cairo
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berlin Hotel
Berlin Hotel
#40 of 138 in Cairo
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#49 of 138 in Cairo
71 reviews
6.2 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Royal

Property: Hotel Grand Royal
Address: 1 Talaat Harb Square, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grand Royal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Grand Royal is located in Cairo City Centre. Rooms are decorated with white colours and wooden furniture. Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire hotel. The rooms are air-conditioned with wooden flooring. Facilities include TV and bathroom with a bathtub. Some rooms have a balcony overlooking the city. Fresh flowers are sent to the rooms every day. Guests can enjoy the wide variety of restaurants located outside the hotel. Choice of food ranges from Egyptian to western dishes. The restaurant at Grand Royal is also open to guests, and room service is available as well. Guests can take a walk by the Nile River or visit the Egyptian Museum, all within 15 minutes' walking distance. The hotel is within 20 minutes' drive to Pyramids of Giza. Cairo International Airport is located within 35 minutes' driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing