We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Semiramis and enjoyed each one of them --- luxury and elegance is all over the interior - the lobby place with the diversite restaurants, the piano playing during the night, the superb breakfast and the special service from the staff. The view is very beautiful even for the city-facing rooms overlooking Tahreer sqr. Ideal location , I propose you take a walk next to the Nile to Zamalek. Opposite to some other people reviews, we had not a single disturb during our sleep (probably because we were allocated at 21st floor) -- Highly recommended

PS --- I cannot believe how a hotel of this status does not provide WiFi internet in the rooms !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Marios G,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review of your Dec-stay. Your nice words on hotel service, location and facilities are really appreciated and I am pleased to know that you and your partner enjoyed the stay in our hotel. I understand your concern about non-availability of wireless internet in room, however access point is available upon guest request to overcome it (Appreciate adding this request to your next booking) . In the meantime, wireless connection is available in all hotel's public areas.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    410
    135
    51
    40
See reviews for
271
305
111
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
237 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had two nights in Cairo and chose the Intercon at Semirais over the HI and Intercon at City stars. Reviews we read hadnt gave this property enough credits. Granted, it is a bit old from the outside (as is most hotels at the RIver Nile), but the convenience of it being near the River Nile and a 2min walk to the Museum justified our decision, with less traffic than the properties at City Stars.

The downside might be its lack of wifi in rooms (LAN is fast and hassle free though) and its poor sound insulation when staying in rooms facing the Nile and the main roads.

Won 5 bucks from the Casino atthe 3rd floor, so that made me happier.

Good selection of 3 restaurants with the highly rated Bird Cage Thai restaurant, we gave this hotel 2 thumbs.

Room Tip: Good to pay a little more and watch the Nile as the sun sets. Good sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear AbuDhabiWil,

Thank you very much for posting your review and for your nice comments regarding our hotel's location and restaurants' varitey.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and partenr in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel returning from a trip in Jordan, great all round, 5 star service and luxury as you would have expected, we stayed in the club suit which included breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks and snacks, all of which were so good, you really didn't have to venture out to any other restaurants in the hotel or outside. Nevertheless, we did eat at the hotel's Italian restaurant which was equally great. One thing to mention was that the service in the club suit was exceptional with one gentleman in particular especially brilliant.

We also used the spa and had a message which was great.

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights just before the Egyptian army dismantled the protests by the Muslim Brother Hood and therefore the hotel was very quite with few tourists and mostly international press staying there, however, the hotel's security was very comprehensive with a 'ring of steel' perimeter security fence and so we felt secure and so can still recommend the hotel to tourists whatever your views on the current political situation.

Location wise, the hotel is opposite the Nile, with Tahrir Square directly behind the the National Egyptian Museum is a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Samuel C,

Thank you very much for posting your review and the nice words in. I am delighted to know that you and your spouse enjoyed your hotel stay.

Looking forward to welcome you and your spouse back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Mananger
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
337 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The very best thing about this hotel is the staff who all go out of their way to make the stay as pleasant as possible. One of the best examples is Nesma Atef from the Club Lounge who ensured my stay was enjoyable with, for example, helpful suggestions for places to visit.

The lobby area of the hotel is a bit dated and dark. The location is good for Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. There are security checks for everyone arriving at the hotel. Whilst I'm sure this is necessary, it gives a poor initial impression of the hotel as the security area looks like a 3rd world airport.

I booked a Club room and as a regular Intercontinental customer was upgraded to a Nile view room.

The room had a balcony which would have been great if the temperature had been a little higher. As it was, the room was quite cold but Nesma arranged for a heater to be provided.

Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and the floors with restaurants, etc. In the room it's only a hardwired connection but, again, the staff provided me with a wireless hub so that problem was sorted.

The bedroom was quiet, although lighter sleepers might find the constant traffic noise a little irritating, even on the 17th floor as the windows are only single glazed. As you would expect from an Intercon, the beds are comfortable and the place is clean and tidy, if a bit dated. The safe in the room is quite small - too small for my laptop.

The Club lounge was worth the extra money. The staff are really attentive, in truth sometimes too attentive. Breakfast buffet is good and varied and there are drinks and snacks available all day. Happy Hour from 6 to 8 pm has a buffet that is perfectly adequate for dinner.

With the current problems in Egypt, occupancy in the hotel is really low. In 4 days I never saw another customer on my floor. That's a real shame as I had a great trip to Cairo, with no problems at all, with very few tourists to block the views, and sunny weather. For the price I paid, the hotel exceeded my expectations .

Room Tip: I stayed on the 17th floor which was relatively quite. Nile-side is always going to be best in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Tonytourist,

Thank you very much for posting your review. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed hotel's product and service.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here with my mom on a tour group back in Jan 2013. The hotel room was 2 beds, very comfortable beds looking out at Nile. Beautiful sunsets. The location is ideal but traffic is notoriously heavy here so plan ahead and bring ear plugs due to traffic noise and morning prayer. Walking is advised to get to nearby sights and museums.The breakfasts were superb. The variety and quality excellent. While its close to Tahrir square, you really don't see much there. It's ordinary looking. We felt safe despite the turmoil back then. They had us go thru a metal detector upon arrival to hotel,but since this is so common at airports and stadiums, it was no big deal. Staff and people in bazaars very friendly. I liked the beautiful ambiance of the interior rooms and restaurants. Even the lobby is reminiscent of a mosque. We had an interesting experience with use of indoor hot tub. A traditional Muslim man was using it despite the posted time being "Women's Hour." The poor female attendant got him to finish up, but not after he said some very choice words to her and carried on for awhile. Of course in the US women and men hot tub together but not done here. Even workout time was limited to female time and male time. Since this was my first trip to the Middle East, it was an eye opener to the culture, but didn't taint my wonderful experience with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go with a Nile view to watch sunsets and higher floor due to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303Kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear 303Kristen,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for your review. I am pleased to know that you and your mom enjoyed your stay at the hotel during January.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your mother back to the Semiramis InterContinental hotel where all efforts will be exerted to make your coming stay more enjoyable.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The service at this hotel is excellent. The Egyptian staff were very helpful as always. The hotel has organised a very nice 3-day tour for us which was amazing. The only downside, is the fact that it was very cold when we visited Cairo, and this hotel, as with many places in Cairo, does not have heating. Nevertheless the hotel did provide a small electric radiator which made things better. Semiramis does not have double glazing and the balcony doors are very old and even though we were staying on the 15th floor, facing the Nile, there was some noise from the road and some draft from the wind. The hotel's restaurants are very good. I had the best Pad Thai ever. The Sushi and Lebanese food is not bad either. The breakfast was excellent as well. Overall, we really enjoyed this trip. Thank you Mr. Amr for everything.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michalis34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Michalis34,

Thank you (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review of your stay at the Semiramis InterContinental. I am pleased to know that you and your family members enjoyed the 3-day tour organized by Amr at Concierge as well as the variety of our restaurants. I understand your comments about street noise and cold but Cairo is bustling 24-hour a day! And the city, during last December, was hit by a very cold weather, rarely, witnessed in Cairo.

Looking forward for welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanfrancisco,ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

stayed here for just 1 night. It was expensive but very good hotel and location was excellent. you can see tahrir square from top and nile river on other side.

Also world famous museum is also 200 meters away and that was the main reason to stay here so there will be no time waste in the morning.

also breakfast was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenpat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear kenpat123,

Thank you for posting your December stay review. It is a pleasure knowing that you and your family members did enjoy your stay at the Semiramis.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing