We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean and beautiful veiw”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Clean and beautiful veiw”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Everyone there was very nice and they focused on making sure we were safe where ever we went. Our room over looked the Nile and it was amazing. Because of the issues in Egypt right now we paid for a private driver from the airport to hotel and for all our sites. I would definitely recommend this now. Just know the drivers get extra money for taking you where they want you to go, so negotiate before you leave and be VERY clear on what you want. Make sure to read travel notification from the Embassy before your travel so you know what you're getting into. Honestly though, the hotel was really what made our stay here awesome!! Thank you to all the staff that we met!

Room Tip: Ask to over look the Nile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Chicavm,

I wish to thank you for posting your review of January-stay and I hope that you and your partner enjoyed hotel stay and the city as well.

Your comments do mean a lot to us and I will sure pass your kind words to all my hotel colleagues.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner back to the Semiramis InterContinental.

With my best regards,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    411
    135
    51
    40
See reviews for
271
305
111
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed here in 2013 and was really impressed. We had a club room which overlooked the Nile which was beautiful, by night it was a a hive of activity on the water and the bridge, not to mention the street below... there never seemed to be any let up in the traffic. In the early morning it was lovely to watch people out fishing in small boats and also to watch locals swimming along the banks.
Our room was on a high floor & had a stunning balcony which, due to the angle, gave amazing view points. The room itself had two queen beds which were the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in, the pillows were incredible, there is a pillow menu, we didn't need it as the beds & bedding were incredible. The bathrooms are beautiful, very well equipped, slippers, gowns etc and the fluffiest towels :) Large plasma TV, writing desk, relaxing chairs and generally, a very comfy, welcoming room. However, there is no wifi in the rooms and that's a real downer for such a modern, well equipped hotel. The club room gives access to a lounge with a dining room annexe where you will be served an utterly gorgeous breakfast, the waiter asks if you want juice, you say yes and they will then juice any fruit under the sun for you! The breads and pastries are scrum diddly-umptious! A full cooked breakfast is available as well as continental. The lounge has computers and printers for use by guests, TV's, radio, newspapers etc and serve afternoon tea. There are amazing views of Tahrir Square from this side of the hotel.
We ate at Sabaya on our first night, this Lebanese restaurant is amazing, we had never tried the cuisine before and wouldn't be very adventurous but the restaurant manager went through the menu with us and helped us chose a wonderful and thoroughly enjoyable meal.
We also ate in the main restaurant upstairs and had the most sumptious steak EVER! As it was early evening we were allowed to choose where we sat, obviously we chose a wonderful table in a corner which was surrounded by huge windows overlooking the Nile. The restaurant staff throughout this hotel are unique, so professional yet they have so much time to engage in conversation with guests, talking not only about the food but any subject. We certainly had some wonderful chats with many of them.
Location wise the hotel is spot on! Right across the bridge you have downtown Cairo, around the corner you're at Tahrir, the Nile is directly in front and taxi travel is very reasonable and easy!
This hotel was chosen due to it's location (we were visiting Egyptian friends in Cairo) and the club room was a little "treat" (thinking it was a one off visit) however, we are going back to Cairo in June and will book a club room again. After staying here, it would be difficult to chose another hotel over the Intercontinental. It's a little piece of luxury you simply must try.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, Nile view room. Club rooms have a lot of "perks"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Monica S,

I wish thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review of your May-13 stay and for recommending our hotel.

I am glad to read that you and your family members enjoyed hotel stay and tried new food experience in our Lebanese restaurant.

Will be looking forward to welcome all of you back in 2014, where no effort will be spared to make your coming stay a memorable one.

With my very best regards,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed 4 nights at Semiramis and enjoyed each one of them --- luxury and elegance is all over the interior - the lobby place with the diversite restaurants, the piano playing during the night, the superb breakfast and the special service from the staff. The view is very beautiful even for the city-facing rooms overlooking Tahreer sqr. Ideal location , I propose you take a walk next to the Nile to Zamalek. Opposite to some other people reviews, we had not a single disturb during our sleep (probably because we were allocated at 21st floor) -- Highly recommended

PS --- I cannot believe how a hotel of this status does not provide WiFi internet in the rooms !!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Marios G,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for posting your review of your Dec-stay. Your nice words on hotel service, location and facilities are really appreciated and I am pleased to know that you and your partner enjoyed the stay in our hotel. I understand your concern about non-availability of wireless internet in room, however access point is available upon guest request to overcome it (Appreciate adding this request to your next booking) . In the meantime, wireless connection is available in all hotel's public areas.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your partner in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
237 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had two nights in Cairo and chose the Intercon at Semirais over the HI and Intercon at City stars. Reviews we read hadnt gave this property enough credits. Granted, it is a bit old from the outside (as is most hotels at the RIver Nile), but the convenience of it being near the River Nile and a 2min walk to the Museum justified our decision, with less traffic than the properties at City Stars.

The downside might be its lack of wifi in rooms (LAN is fast and hassle free though) and its poor sound insulation when staying in rooms facing the Nile and the main roads.

Won 5 bucks from the Casino atthe 3rd floor, so that made me happier.

Good selection of 3 restaurants with the highly rated Bird Cage Thai restaurant, we gave this hotel 2 thumbs.

Room Tip: Good to pay a little more and watch the Nile as the sun sets. Good sized balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear AbuDhabiWil,

Thank you very much for posting your review and for your nice comments regarding our hotel's location and restaurants' varitey.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and partenr in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel returning from a trip in Jordan, great all round, 5 star service and luxury as you would have expected, we stayed in the club suit which included breakfast, afternoon tea and evening drinks and snacks, all of which were so good, you really didn't have to venture out to any other restaurants in the hotel or outside. Nevertheless, we did eat at the hotel's Italian restaurant which was equally great. One thing to mention was that the service in the club suit was exceptional with one gentleman in particular especially brilliant.

We also used the spa and had a message which was great.

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights just before the Egyptian army dismantled the protests by the Muslim Brother Hood and therefore the hotel was very quite with few tourists and mostly international press staying there, however, the hotel's security was very comprehensive with a 'ring of steel' perimeter security fence and so we felt secure and so can still recommend the hotel to tourists whatever your views on the current political situation.

Location wise, the hotel is opposite the Nile, with Tahrir Square directly behind the the National Egyptian Museum is a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRCB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Samuel C,

Thank you very much for posting your review and the nice words in. I am delighted to know that you and your spouse enjoyed your hotel stay.

Looking forward to welcome you and your spouse back to the Semiramis InterContinental Hotel in Cairo.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Mananger
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montesson, France
Level Contributor
337 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The very best thing about this hotel is the staff who all go out of their way to make the stay as pleasant as possible. One of the best examples is Nesma Atef from the Club Lounge who ensured my stay was enjoyable with, for example, helpful suggestions for places to visit.

The lobby area of the hotel is a bit dated and dark. The location is good for Tahrir Square and the Egyptian Museum. There are security checks for everyone arriving at the hotel. Whilst I'm sure this is necessary, it gives a poor initial impression of the hotel as the security area looks like a 3rd world airport.

I booked a Club room and as a regular Intercontinental customer was upgraded to a Nile view room.

The room had a balcony which would have been great if the temperature had been a little higher. As it was, the room was quite cold but Nesma arranged for a heater to be provided.

Wi-Fi is available in the lobby and the floors with restaurants, etc. In the room it's only a hardwired connection but, again, the staff provided me with a wireless hub so that problem was sorted.

The bedroom was quiet, although lighter sleepers might find the constant traffic noise a little irritating, even on the 17th floor as the windows are only single glazed. As you would expect from an Intercon, the beds are comfortable and the place is clean and tidy, if a bit dated. The safe in the room is quite small - too small for my laptop.

The Club lounge was worth the extra money. The staff are really attentive, in truth sometimes too attentive. Breakfast buffet is good and varied and there are drinks and snacks available all day. Happy Hour from 6 to 8 pm has a buffet that is perfectly adequate for dinner.

With the current problems in Egypt, occupancy in the hotel is really low. In 4 days I never saw another customer on my floor. That's a real shame as I had a great trip to Cairo, with no problems at all, with very few tourists to block the views, and sunny weather. For the price I paid, the hotel exceeded my expectations .

Room Tip: I stayed on the 17th floor which was relatively quite. Nile-side is always going to be best in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Tonytourist,

Thank you very much for posting your review. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed hotel's product and service.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here with my mom on a tour group back in Jan 2013. The hotel room was 2 beds, very comfortable beds looking out at Nile. Beautiful sunsets. The location is ideal but traffic is notoriously heavy here so plan ahead and bring ear plugs due to traffic noise and morning prayer. Walking is advised to get to nearby sights and museums.The breakfasts were superb. The variety and quality excellent. While its close to Tahrir square, you really don't see much there. It's ordinary looking. We felt safe despite the turmoil back then. They had us go thru a metal detector upon arrival to hotel,but since this is so common at airports and stadiums, it was no big deal. Staff and people in bazaars very friendly. I liked the beautiful ambiance of the interior rooms and restaurants. Even the lobby is reminiscent of a mosque. We had an interesting experience with use of indoor hot tub. A traditional Muslim man was using it despite the posted time being "Women's Hour." The poor female attendant got him to finish up, but not after he said some very choice words to her and carried on for awhile. Of course in the US women and men hot tub together but not done here. Even workout time was limited to female time and male time. Since this was my first trip to the Middle East, it was an eye opener to the culture, but didn't taint my wonderful experience with this hotel.

Room Tip: Go with a Nile view to watch sunsets and higher floor due to traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303Kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear 303Kristen,

Thank you very much (Shokran Gazeelen) for your review. I am pleased to know that you and your mom enjoyed your stay at the hotel during January.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your mother back to the Semiramis InterContinental hotel where all efforts will be exerted to make your coming stay more enjoyable.

I remain,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing