We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved drastically..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #13 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has improved drastically since my last visit and last review.
Reception, welcoming and checkin process was extremely smooth.
I was upgraded to a junior suit which was really good.
The bellman escorting me to my room was extremely polite and well informed about the hotel and it's facilities.
The room was clean, bathroom was clean.
Only the shower head was leaking water from everywhere but I didn't bother to call anyone cause I fixed it my self.
Breakfast was amazing, great selection and great fresh juice bar
Waiters and chefs were friendly and polite..
Check out was extremely smooth as well.
I would like to highlight only that still smoking is allowed in the hotel's main areas which smells bad!!
Even those who smoke forget and enter non smoking areas like the elevators with cigarets in their hands!! Which spoils the mood of those who hate the smell..
That's all.
People to highlight.
Night shift manager. Mr. Gergess (don't know last name)
And the checkout receptionist I think her name was Marina..
Extremely professional oriented people.
And I'm glad Semiramis intercontinental is back to were it used to be.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank kabouzeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Intercontinental Semiramis offers an excellent downtown location with a fantastic Nile view. Service is flawless and the room is spacious and comfortable. Limo service is plentiful and fairly affordable.

The restaurants available offer a wide variety of cuisines and the attached shopping center is varied and interesting. Flat-screen TV offers a wide variety of services from CNN to the BBC as well as many local Arabic satellite stations for those who want to get a local flavor.

The bed is extremely comfortable and the in-room mini bar is well stocked. Internet is wired Ethernet. Wi-Fi is only available in the lobby. This was not an issue for me since I travel with my laptop. Those with tablets may have an issue with the lack of in-room Wi-Fi.

During my two week stay I felt pampered with the staff offering constant help and soliciting feedback on the service and ways to improve it. The Semiramis is not a super luxury hotel but in my mind it is a superb experience and I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for the "Nile View" rooms. They cost a few Dollars more per night but the view is spect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hussam_Eassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

On my few days in Cairo the one thing I didn't want to leave behind was The Hotel suite.The lebanese restaurant is really good and the service is appreciated .Wish I could go back again but war and political problems are holding me back.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nithila113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Many times I visited this Hotel, and I really love it... It's on tharir Square, and you can have fantastic walks around the place.... The swimmingpool is nice.. It is a large hotel, but everything goes fluently. A fantastic place to stay in Cairo

Room Tip: Room 2501 is fantastic! has a huge balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex-EG-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Despite all Egypt's problem this hotel retains it's reputation for impeccable service. There are now many new hotels in Cairo, but this one is my favourite. The Lebanese restaurant is really good and authentic, and prices right now, with the low Egyptian pound are really affordable.

Room Tip: Get a high room to get away from the noise of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Food Place and View are AWESOME
The pool is not that big but clean
Many restraunts
Very clean rooms and big beautiful rooms
And big balconies for the view of the nile too
(It is beside Tahrir square, egyptian museum, Castel of the Nile bridge that has 2 big lions and the Cairo tower too)

Room Tip: Best rooms are rooms with Nile View. Choose floors between 10 and 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldeheby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

955 and 954

The attendant to clean the rooms 955 and 954 Ibrahim Abdel Hamid was very helpful in every aspect and done a good job in cleaning the rooms.
He went through the cleaning in details and always was available if we needed any special needs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trips692014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ICSemiramisStaff, Manager at InterContinental Cairo Semiramis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear trips692014,

On behalf of Ibrahim, Room Attendant and Hotel Management, I would like to thank you (Shokran Gazeelen) for your review and kind comment. I will sure pass your comment to Ibrahim and head of department.

Looking forward for the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel where no effort will be spared to make your next stay an enjoyable.

Thank you again,

Sherif Abourida
Operations Manager
sherif.abourida@ihg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 139 in Cairo
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £105 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing