We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cairo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Ranked #12 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

If you love eating this is the place from breakfast till dinner, this is best wide range of selection meat, vegetable, fish , dessert. Rooms are very comfortable and elegantly designed we have the junior suite. Snacks, coffee shop at the lobby super-delicious

Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 60Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    405
    129
    50
    39
See reviews for
264
302
110
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Like everyone I've read the reviews of the hotels on here and was a little dubious of what to expect. Everything I worried about was completely forgotten once I reached the hotel, the staff, the service, food and rooms were exactly as a 5* star should be. This was my first visit to Cairo, it certainly won't be the last and this hotel will be my first call when booking my next trip. Maybe I was lucky but I haven't got anything but good things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baylissfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kahrtoum
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

I am realy impress with sami ramis hotel . Interior, staff , location , food all are excelent . I arrived hotel at 7 morning & the reception treated us like a VIP . She gave us best deal & also inform the history of hotel and Meaning of Semi Ramis . l Gym & swimming pool are very nice & its open 24 hours. I took 2 tours and both are good.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramis_hussain11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
122 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

We only stayed for one night with our tour group. This is a lovely hotel, 5 mins walk to Cairo Museum (if you can get past everyone trying to sell you something). The staff were lovely and the inhotel shops were good. The breakfast was deeeelish, the best mango juice we have ever tasted! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarePhilBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed there for 4 nights in September! The hotel is very very good, cleaned, luxury, and with staff all time willing to help. There was a problem with breakfast (we paid for it but they said that was not included), and since i booked the hotel through Hotels.com i immediately called them (this is the good of the 24/7 agency) and explain them the situation....in 10 minutes they called me in the room from the reception and told me everything was solved and breakfast was included and at the same time i received call from Hotels.com and told me also that everything was ok!! Hotel location is fantastic - 5 minutes walking from museum,only a small road between it and the Nile and 20 sec walking distance from very beautiful bridge...we liked the outside restaurant in the 4th floor near swimming pool where you have fantastic view of river...recommended for everyone!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyprexpens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

I just got back yesterday from a 7 day vacation in Cairo and I can't wait to write this comment. Well where do I start? First the front desk staff were rude, unincorporated and provided zero help when asking about taxi or directions. Second the house keeping service was awful. The room, even though nicely situated facing the Nile, was dirty. We had to ask for new towels twice, and we also asked to change the pillow cases because they were smelly. A few times while we were sleeping, we got knocks on the door and phone calls. The bathroom was so dirty. They did not do any cleaning the entire time we were there. Lastly the restaurants were overpriced and the foods sucked. The staff at the litte cafe on the first floor was extremely rude. Even though it allows take away, they do not like it one bit. They wanted you to eat there so they can get some tip. It was so bad that we had to eat at the Four season hotsel downstreets. The service there was excellent. Overall, this hotel is far from a 5-star hotel. I would not recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoa35lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Even though its intercontinental run it does have something of a local feel to it. Cairo is one of the most horrible cities in the world for a prolonged stay but the Semiramis can come to feel like a bit of a refuge in a way that the other American hotels on the Nile that I've stayed in don't.
Its more or less everything you'd expect from a good 4* not as opulent as the four seasons nor does it have the overbearing service ( May I wipe the seat before you sit down sir !) the service is when push comes to shove more genuinely friendly and helpful. And believe me genuine is a rare quality in Egypt.
As with any hotel in Cairo if you are going to use taxi's rather than chauffeured cars do not on any account use the taxi's outside the hotel, they are as bad as the street cabs and will try to charge you ten times the going rate.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank strewelpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.5 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,440 reviews
7.1 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Cairo Semiramis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Cairo Semiramis

Property: InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Address: Corniche El Nil | PO Box 60, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cairo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Cairo Semiramis 5*
Number of rooms: 726
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORIC LEGENDS ON THE BANKS OF THE NILE Standing on the site of the historic Semiramis Hotel, the Semiramis InterContinental is situated in the heart of Cairo, a few minutes' walk from the city's commercial centre, the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities and the Cairo Opera House. The Citadel and Old Cairo are nearby. The pleasures on Zamalek Island are in full view across the Nile. The Giza Pyramids and Cairo International Airport are only 25 km (16 miles) away. Free WIFI and 12 dining options, 11 meeting and conference rooms make the hotel a favourite culinary and event destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your InterContinental Cairo Semiramis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Cairo Semiramis Hotel Cairo
Semiramis Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing