We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Maadi-Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Ranked #32 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Crans Montana
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“In Maadi-Good business hotel”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Rooms are nice and comfortable. Excellent bed.Small choice of TV channels especially the English speaking news .Excellent service. Free WiFi only in Lobby. In rooms, you have to pay for cable and 24 hour connection which I found very expensive.
View on Nile narrow but still better than the grim towers surrounding the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask foir vie on nile and preferably from 9th floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giora g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    118
    65
    33
    17
See reviews for
25
30
35
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

In my beloved city Cairo, if you are looking for the best hotel in Maadi district this is Maadi Sofitel. A wonderful Nile view that you can enjoy specially on sunset when you stand in balcony to look at other bank of this greet river you can see best ever villas in Egypt while people are riding their horses in backyard of these villas. Giza pyramids also are well visible
Very nice and proffissional staff, nice swimming pool

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hshalaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed for 1 night at this hotel and I just felt it is average to poor.
Service is very good with kind staff (as Egyptians are in general).
Rooms are old, dark, but clean. Free internet through cable. Bathroom amenities are nice, from L´Occitane. I had difficulties to take a shower since it is installed too low (i´m 1,77m).
I could listen to the people next door, which I didn´t care while I was sleeping.
Breakfast is just OK, with a nice view to the Nile.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

In short:

Clean & comfortable rooms, good breakfast, good price, good pool, good(ish) view of Nile and pyramids (depending on air quality) and friendly staff.

The Details:

Rooms are very clean and the beds excellent. The rooms on the Nile side are possibly a little narrow but more than make up for it in depth and balcony. The bathroom is clean and well featured. There was a problem with the hot water but a little patience and leaving the tap running sorted that out.

Breakfast is good although sometimes the service seems a little chaotic. It can take time to get coffee - so I suggest to ask - don't expect to be offered:) This sounds more harsh than it is meant to be.

The pool is kept spotless. This is good as bad pool water can really mess up your stay. There is a gym which is well kitted out (for a hotel) together with complimentary Gatoraid. Do take a towel from the room with you though - unlike many hotels - towels are not immediately available in the pool or gym area.

The view from the pool is pretty cool:) looking out over the Nile with lots of pyramids in the distance (left and right). Also it's remarkably quiet considering the amount of road noise. It's not without noise - it's just a lot quieter.

The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a good little gift shop downstairs and a few restaurants - all attached to the hotel. This I found very useful after experiencing Cairo in full force during the daytime. Everyone wants something. The hotel is not like this - just very pleasant.

Why not 5 stars? The bar service left a lot to be desired - not because of unwillingness of staff - but because many of the guys there are quite young - they don't know what Pernod is etc. Also the restaurants downstairs are fine for what they know but to be honest I had a terrible lasagna. Something the chef needs to concentrate on.

Also the airco was a bit noisy - I turned mine off at night and had no problems with being too hot. So if this is a real problem - I don't know.

For business users - what is strange is that there is no wifi in the rooms - only hardwired. This is ok for me but if you only have say an iPad that could be a problem. There is free wifi in the bar and breakfast room. Wifi price is ok and the quality of service service seemed fine.

Would I stay here again? Yes. No doubt about it. Are there better places in Maadi - possibly - but the pool - well - that was a BIG plus:)

Room Tip: If you want a good view of the Nile - take the rooms with the higher numbers (more or less > 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thurstonland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Loved the beds and the linen, loved the view to the pyramids, loved the dinner and breakfast buffets. Might be a little too posh for us though... Would definately go back if I only got the money...

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmar1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This sofitel is a bit worn and in use of an upgrade. Given the ditance and traffic conditions in Cairo, I would only stay here again if I had business in the immediate Maadi area. One can get a better deal on a newer, better hotel in other areas.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2deer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2011

What a delightful hotel situated on the banks of the Nile in Maadi, Cairo. We booked our trip through explore egypt.com and they took the headache out of planning our excursions. Everyone from tour guides to hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel was spotlessly clean and with a wonderful view and local restaurants, we were more than happy. We would like to thank all of the staff and explore egypt for all of their help and guidance, we had a wonderful time and will be back soon.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 186338Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.2 mi away
Maadi Hotel
Maadi Hotel
#89 of 138 in Cairo
74 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Belle Epoque
Villa Belle Epoque
#39 of 138 in Cairo
64 reviews
9.8 mi away
Holiday Inn - Citystars
Holiday Inn - Citystars
#18 of 138 in Cairo
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
9.7 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
7.8 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi

Property: Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi
Address: 29 Corniche El Nil, Maadi | PO Box 217, Cairo 11511, Egypt (Formerly Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers)
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#28 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the city's most fascinating sites & ancient wonders, Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi Towers overlooks the majestic Nile River, with panoramic views of the great Giza pyramids. This stylish hotel offers the convenience of a professional business center with its own superb restaurants, conference rooms, ballroom, world-class casino, heated pool and more, 12 km from downtown, 30 min from the CICC and 45 minutes from the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Cairo Maadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Towers Hotel Cairo
Sofitel Cairo Maadi Hotel
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing