We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Colden, New York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A good choice”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I are in our 60s, both retired. This was our first trip to Egypt. I chose all the hotels myself and had the agency Freelancers make the bookings. We could have been upgraded to a more "expensive" hotel but I decided to stick with this Marriott and have no regrets on my decision. We stayed for 1 night on 5/21/11 in room #802 in the Gezira Tower. It's a late check in as we have traveled from the White Desert. On 5/22 we will fly to Aswan. Our second stay is for 3 nights, from 6/5-6/8/11 in room #1438 in the Zamalek Tower. I requested the same room in the Gezira Tower but told nothing available at all. There appeared to be some conferences going on in the hotel. Both rooms were furnished pretty much the same. However, the room in the Zamalek Tower seemed smaller. Each room had 2 double beds-very comfy. The bathrooms had all the amenities and what I liked-a bathtub. The biggest difference was the view. From our room in the Gezira Tower we looked directly on to the Nile. From our room in the Zamalek Tower we had a side view of the Nile looking to the left from our balcony and a direct view to the pool and garden area. We preferred the Gezira Tower, not only for the view but it seemed to be a shorter hike from our room to the lobby area. More security in this hotel than others we have stayed. I didn't feel comfortable taking any pictures in the public areas so I didn't. There are some nice shops located within the hotel as well as several restaurants. We had dinner at the JW Steakhouse and at the Ristorante Tuscany. Breakfast buffet at the Garden Promenade Cafe offered plenty of good food with a lot of variety. Egg station as with most other places we stayed. Only used pool facilities the second stay. Pool was clean, a good size, and had plenty of sun beds. All the staff-concierge, reception/lobby area, restaurants, pool, etc. were friendly and accommodating. Loved sitting on our balcony in the evening. The evening views from both rooms were wonderful with the city all lit up. This hotel is in a good location. We walked to the Cairo Tower and across the bridge to Tahrir Square. The restaurant Abu el Sid is only a few minutes walk away-great food and atmosphere. The amount of traffic here and in the city proper can make for some lengthy hauls. Would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Preferred the room in the Gezira Tower #802. Room seemed larger and view was better than our room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris45ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    656
    181
    73
    52
See reviews for
340
565
190
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The Marriott in Cairo is a favoured meeting place for expats and businesspeople. This is the first time I stayed as a guest. The room was OK but slightly dated. The hotel is in the neigbourhood of Zamalek, close to embassies and foreign cultural institutes. There are a few nice shops nearby that cater to the expat market. TV only had news channels from all parts of the world but practically nothing else. All in all, the Mariott is better as a place to meet for a drink than to stay as a guest. The a la carte steak restaurant must be one of the most expensive places to eat in Cairo, ouch!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bashi_Mwepu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Loved the old world palace charm of the place. Service in executive club was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vasalloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We stayed at the Marriott for four nights in April and found the location perfect, the service attentive and the rooms/public areas lovely. If you want to feel like you're in Egypt - the Egypt of your most exotic fairy tale fantasy, don't look further than the Marriott. The decor and historic ambience will bring you back in time. We were originally given a room in the south tower but didn't like it at all. The ceiling was low and the view terrible. We requested a north tower room and it was spectacular. From our balcony, we had a view of the Nile to the left and a view of the pyramids to the right - what more can I say? The breakfast was ample and served in a lovely room. We walked across the bridge to Tahrir Square, took taxis to other parts of the city and loved walking around the Zamalek neighborhood. There are lots of interesting shops, galleries, and some good restaurants. Would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel isn't much from the outside but once you enter you're in an entirely different world. From the sandy streets to high polished marble. From desert to fountains. The gardens and outdoor dining areas are very nice. We found that even though the hotel was extremely crowded we had no trouble finding a table for six. The rooms are very clean and the Egyptian cotton sheets they make up the beds with are ridiculously comfortable. The tented restaurant outside- Egyptian Nights- had good food, especially the lentil soup.

We were actually in Cairo during a horrible sandstorm that kept us confined for a couple of days. We would normally stay in an inexpensive hotel but were grateful for the comfort this place provided during our shut in. The hotel location was convenient as well. We never had a problem catching a cab there was a Pharmacy a block away. (Great when everyone came down with sinus infections after the storm.)

Room Tip: Make sure your card key works 100% before you venture out on the first day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dskorzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al-Khobar
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

it is the 3ed time i stay there and will not be the last because it was i nice stay i get 3 rooms ther 1 suite and 2 double room the room service its good and the people there also we will come back at September normally monthly i am going there

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohaib6600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

After traveling all over Egypt, this was a great treat!! The place was beautiful. The staff was helpful. This was the first time when people did not ask for a tip, we had to run after the guy to give him one. They got us train tickets (which required going all the way to the train station and back) and upgraded us to a nice limo for our departure. The pool was very nice and they seemed to have many different types of restaurants on site (we did not eat in any of them though). You don't get the feel of real Egypt here, but what a great way to end the trip! The only ding, they charged for internet in Oct 2010. Hopefully they are changing that. For that price, they should have it included.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KA207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing