We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #9 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

An amazing hotel, we stayed there for 2 nights and found it was a huge property, I wish there was someone from hotel to show us around the property and tell us about the historic significance of the hotel, I found out from our guide next day that it was a place where the French Queen stayed when the Suez canal was opened and the convoy of the king Farooq took the queen to the Pyramids. There is a wide variety of restaurants in open on the back side of the hotel near the pool area. Our room was comfortable but after sleeping in the bed next morning I had a backache and found that the matteress has a curve in the centre, I was expecting a better quality from the hotel. The view of nile was good. There is a small casino on the ground floor and several saloons.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a tod please take some masking tape as the power sockets are exposed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubaiRoadtripper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairoMarriottHotel, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to host you soon again.

Best regards,

Mosaad Hussein
eCommerce Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,367)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,345 - 1,351 of 2,371 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to going to Luxor and then again for 1 night prior to leaving to come back home. We left Egypt just 1 week prior to the first demonstrations.

We really enjoyed our time at the Cairo Marriott. The rooms are very lavish and comfortable. Our rooms had especially nice views and it was pleasant to watch the sunrise in the morning over the Nile.

The hotel is well located and has lots of nice facilities. We enjoyed the convenience of the Bakery. It was a great place to grab a coffee and a sweet. We also had dinner here one night. We were not very hungry and they had great sandwiches.

Breakfast is served in Omar’s Café and is excellent. They had fresh honeycomb that both my daughter and I loved. We also ate dinner here twice and felt that they had a great selection.

The service in the hotel and the restaurant were excellent. The Egyptian people are so very friendly and go out of there way to make sure you have anything that you need.

Room Tip: Try to get a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Perhaps the best hotel in Cairo. Two towers were built around an old palace. It's a bit of an oasis from the traffic and craziness of this very crowded city. It is expensive for Cairo but not outrageous. Food and drink are very expensive but the rooms are very comfortable and they have a terrific pool in the courtyard. The Garden area is a wonderful place to relax.

It's in Zamalek, part of an island in the middle of the Nile. There are many restaurants and shops in the hotel and a few good ones within walking distance or a short cab ride. Downtown is also a short ride away.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had.

A couple of negatives. Service in the lovely garden area is pleasant but very slow. It's hard to find a server sometimes.

The one thing they need to improve drastically is their fee based wifi service. It's only available in public areas and is very weak. You really can't send pictures through email and signing on is a pain. They do have hard wired service in the rooms but those of us with iPads or smart phones have problems.

But perhaps I and others have become a little too obsessed with the Internet.

Room Tip: Most rooms have either a view of the lovely courtyard or the Nile. It's hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shantaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Although it maybe full on weekends , the garden is one of the best places to spend the morning , excellent variety of food and drinks (imported) and money value is considered good . Especially if ur staying at the marriott .

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ussefhegazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We visited Cairo on April 2010 and stayed twice in this hotel. Before Neil cruise and after. The first time our room was on the block around the pool. Very clean and comfortable. The second time we stayed at the high block of rooms above the 'palace'. That room made me so excited that I'll never forget. Luxurious, comfortable,clean, gave me a feeling of being a 'special visitor'.
The view was perfect from the spacious balcony, right down the Neil, the great river.
Service was of high standards all over the hotel. (Money change, resaurant,reception).
Rich variety of breakfast and the best fresh juice I've ever drunk in a hotel. Feeling like being in a palace but in a very comfortable and convenient way...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

flawless ... location is amazing .. best in Cairo
the architecture is classic egyptian .. with style

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaled G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel is Old/Historic, but very clean and well-appointed. It is one of the many former palaces of the former King Farouk. The hotel sits on an Island in the Zamelek area and our balcony overlooked the pool/bar and downtown Cairo. Every night we were able to look down at the roof party area of gthe main building and watch Egyptian wedding ceremonies and lavish parties. We were upgraded to the Executive Floor for a small amount of money and it was worth the extra charge for included breakfast buffet, afternoon tea time, a full dinner buffet, cheap Internet access and a concierge on duty. The concierge was very helpful in making tour plans for us and especially in their self-initiated move to send a runner to the airport to find our lost luggage. If that was not enough, the concierge politely refuse to take a tip for all of her help. She said, "I am just doing my job, sir." She blew the stereotyped Egypt out the window. This hotel offered a wonderful start to our 17 days in Egypt.

Room Tip: Ask to face the pool and outside bar area. Definitely upgrade if you can to the Executive Floor(s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.7 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 138 in Cairo
2,556 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £106 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1060
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt hotels, Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino sits in the Zamalek area and is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel in Cairo rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing