We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for a trip to Egypt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A good base for a trip to Egypt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

I visited Eqypt 12 months ago and found this hotel very pleasant and comfortable. The staff were helpful and the restaurants quite good, particularly the Italian one! My only minor negative is the two rooms I occupied were a little tired but clean and tidy.

I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairoMarriottHotel, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your review and we are very pleased to welcome you always in Egypt.

Best Regards,

Mosaad Hussein
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
E-Commerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    636
    177
    71
    49
See reviews for
329
555
182
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed there for three nights in Oct 11. Had a river-facing king-size bedroom that had a great view down the Nile, but actually overlooked the main road bridge with all the chaos of Cairo traffic. Food is good if not exceptional, and expensive for Egypt, but there is lots of choice of restaurants. Service helpful; - arrnaged our tour to Memphis and Saqqara with no problem. Internet is expensive - why? when you get free internet at hotels costing half the price.

A tip - try dining one evening at the riverboat moored directly opposite to the hotel - they have different cuisines on each floor, but take the lift to the top deck, which is open-air (in good weather!) and enjoy brilliant Egyptian food, excellent service and follow it with a Sheeshah water pipe - really good value and a pleasant way to watch the evening boat traffic on the Nile

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogeandout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

An amazing hotel, we stayed there for 2 nights and found it was a huge property, I wish there was someone from hotel to show us around the property and tell us about the historic significance of the hotel, I found out from our guide next day that it was a place where the French Queen stayed when the Suez canal was opened and the convoy of the king Farooq took the queen to the Pyramids. There is a wide variety of restaurants in open on the back side of the hotel near the pool area. Our room was comfortable but after sleeping in the bed next morning I had a backache and found that the matteress has a curve in the centre, I was expecting a better quality from the hotel. The view of nile was good. There is a small casino on the ground floor and several saloons.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a tod please take some masking tape as the power sockets are exposed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiRoadtripper77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairoMarriottHotel, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to host you soon again.

Best regards,

Mosaad Hussein
eCommerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to going to Luxor and then again for 1 night prior to leaving to come back home. We left Egypt just 1 week prior to the first demonstrations.

We really enjoyed our time at the Cairo Marriott. The rooms are very lavish and comfortable. Our rooms had especially nice views and it was pleasant to watch the sunrise in the morning over the Nile.

The hotel is well located and has lots of nice facilities. We enjoyed the convenience of the Bakery. It was a great place to grab a coffee and a sweet. We also had dinner here one night. We were not very hungry and they had great sandwiches.

Breakfast is served in Omar’s Café and is excellent. They had fresh honeycomb that both my daughter and I loved. We also ate dinner here twice and felt that they had a great selection.

The service in the hotel and the restaurant were excellent. The Egyptian people are so very friendly and go out of there way to make sure you have anything that you need.

Room Tip: Try to get a Nile view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, ME
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Perhaps the best hotel in Cairo. Two towers were built around an old palace. It's a bit of an oasis from the traffic and craziness of this very crowded city. It is expensive for Cairo but not outrageous. Food and drink are very expensive but the rooms are very comfortable and they have a terrific pool in the courtyard. The Garden area is a wonderful place to relax.

It's in Zamalek, part of an island in the middle of the Nile. There are many restaurants and shops in the hotel and a few good ones within walking distance or a short cab ride. Downtown is also a short ride away.

The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have had.

A couple of negatives. Service in the lovely garden area is pleasant but very slow. It's hard to find a server sometimes.

The one thing they need to improve drastically is their fee based wifi service. It's only available in public areas and is very weak. You really can't send pictures through email and signing on is a pain. They do have hard wired service in the rooms but those of us with iPads or smart phones have problems.

But perhaps I and others have become a little too obsessed with the Internet.

Room Tip: Most rooms have either a view of the lovely courtyard or the Nile. It's hard to go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Although it maybe full on weekends , the garden is one of the best places to spend the morning , excellent variety of food and drinks (imported) and money value is considered good . Especially if ur staying at the marriott .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ussefhegazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Aegean
Level Contributor
199 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We visited Cairo on April 2010 and stayed twice in this hotel. Before Neil cruise and after. The first time our room was on the block around the pool. Very clean and comfortable. The second time we stayed at the high block of rooms above the 'palace'. That room made me so excited that I'll never forget. Luxurious, comfortable,clean, gave me a feeling of being a 'special visitor'.
The view was perfect from the spacious balcony, right down the Neil, the great river.
Service was of high standards all over the hotel. (Money change, resaurant,reception).
Rich variety of breakfast and the best fresh juice I've ever drunk in a hotel. Feeling like being in a palace but in a very comfortable and convenient way...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erijon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing