We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

After a lot of comparison and consideration, I decided to stay at the Marriott in Zamalek. Although the standards for hotels seem to be lower in the Middle East, the Marriott was pretty in line with the brand for the most part. I would not consider it a 5 star hotel, but a solid 4 star. But I was very pleased with my choice. It was a beautiful property, and a cool historic building and the location was perfect. Zamalek is a great area that is an oasis from downtown yet only minutes away from the heart of city.

The minor negatives:

Food. Although good, the hotel restaurants are very overpriced for Egypt, and even a bit expensive for the US. But I guess that is to be expected, and there are quite a few restaurant options near the hotel. Also, bringing outside drinks and snacks is frowned upon by the hotel. But I have heard this is common at all the higher end hotels in Cairo and I never had a problem bringing in a couple beers or bottles of water at a time. But they might give you a hard time if you are bringing grocery bags of food in.

Also the casino was not what I expected it to be. It was very small room, and usually only a couple tables open at once so they were always pretty crowded. So I ended up not gambling at all which I had kind of looked forward to.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prime81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,290
    666
    186
    74
    55
See reviews for
358
570
192
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Star707, Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 970 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

There is nowhere else that you should even consider staying. The first time I stayed at the Cairo Marriott on Zamalek Island in the Nile, I thought I had been beamed up onto an intergalactic Space Station. There were people from everywhere in the Middle East, from Europe, the Antipodies and the Americas, what a feast for the eyes and the ears! At one moment there was a sheik with his collection of wives and children sweeping through the foyer, at another businessmen from Europe meeting up with their counterparts from Egypt, people were relaxing over snacks and refreshments in the foyer coffee shop, while we waited for our guide to check us in and check our room. Whatever you want or need can be had here: access to ATMs; money changers; exotic and gold jewellery; newspapers from all corners of the world; books; maps; a massage; sunglasses; a bakery; headache pills; souveniers; textiles; fashion. There are many eating options: room service; outdoor restaurants; American hamburger diner; international fine dining. There is coffee any way you like to have it. I prefer Egyptian Coffee and I like to have it in the Garden Restaurant with all of the delightfil aromas of food and shisha (apple tobacco smoked through a water pipe) and panoply of colours of Egypt engulfing me. If you are given to gaming, then there is an excellent casino at this hotel, with staff who are very happy to provide your choice of gambling for you at whatever time you are inclined to do so. This hotel is basically two towers built beside the original Palace which was constructed to receive Princess Eugenie of Russia who would visit for the opening of the Suez Canal. The original fixtures, features and fittings lovingly remain in all their lavishness and lushness: the marble staircases; the guilted mirrors; the grand dining rooms; all instantly transporting. One of my favourite features of the Cairo Marriott is their breakfasts! I am prepared to travel across the world just to sit in the Marriott breakfast dining room. You can choose from cuisines, they are all there: English; Japanese; Middle Eastern; Scandinavian; American; French (Continental). I like to mix and match. The egg chef is a delight to watch. The waiters are prepared to do a special arrangement on coffee i.e.get it for you exactly as you like it, for me, a double Egyptian (Greek/Turkish style). They know if you start your day well, the rest of the day will be great. The rooms are as grand as you choose, from standard to grand suites. Regardless, they are all on the large side and luxurious. We asked for a Nile View room and were not disappointed. The Nile at night is even more magic than it is in the day. Nearly everyone who visits Cairo is going to take a side trip to Alexandria, the Sinai or a Nile Cruise to see the Valley of the Kings and the temple at Karnak. The Marriott has a huge luggage storage capacity for these guests. I like to stay in Cairo for a period, cruise the Nile or visit other parts of Egypt, then come back to Cairo for a period before travelling on. So the luggage storage amenity is vital. This hotel has excellent security in place, so you can always feel safe here. Should you wish to immerse yourself in Cairo street life, it is just around the corner. Here you can taste the local cuisine in delightful small eateries and meet the locals. If I had to choose one word to describe the Cairo Marriott, I would vacillate between "Service" and "Transporting"!

Room Tip: Ask for a Nile View room higher floor in either of the two towers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear guest,

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. Thank you for sharing your experience, the hotel as you mentioned is a historical Palace, originally built by Khedive Ismail Pasha for the inauguration of the Suez Canal celebrations in 1869. The Palace housed European monarchs, including Empress Eugenie, the wife of Napoleon III, and was also the venue for the first performance of Verdi’s Opera Aida.


Once again thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

With a hotel this size you will never get the personal touch and we didn't. That said the rooms (we stayed in 903 and 927) are very good and have almost zero noise which in Egypt is something unusual.

The gardens are an excellent place to enjoy a cool drink / expensive but tasty meal. The gardens are also VERY popular with wealthy locals.

It is a Mariott, you get pretty much the service you would expect, professional yet impersonal.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nziain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance and would like to assure you that we continue to benchmark all our pricing against the market and updates are made accordingly.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.



Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Has the right location and good facilities if you're headed into the middle of town. Staff were OK, not incredible, but good enough. Rooms clean and convenient. Good if you're on business and in the middle of town.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Around917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your valued feedback, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.



Kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you want to go to Cairo you should stay ONLY in this hotel. Its really the beat in the city, you can even say its a city by itself inside the city.
rooms are well cleaned and organised, they have a wide selection of restaurants i tried them all but especially the Garden cafe which has more than 500 seats its really wonderful for a morning coffee its really crowded during the fridays and saturdays.
for a wonderful dinner i will highky recommen the JW steal house its located in the ground floor of the historical palace, they have in this restaurant so profissnal people leaded by the most experienced food and beverage profissnal (ithink his name was Nasr) he even could turn themistake happened during my service to a wonderful experience.
i also like the check in and check out ,reception staff were very polite.
Brakfast in the Omar cafe is really wonderful and the coffee is always fersh.

Room Tip: Select this hotel for a wonderful stay in Cairo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and should you revisit us soon.



Looking forward to welcome you back in the palace.




Thank you
Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at the Zamalek Marriott overnight after a scheduled event that same evening. We have stayed there before, years ago, and loved it then so there was no hesitation... We were not let down. First of all, it is a unique hotel in that a portion of it is an old palace. Absolutely beautiful! Second, the service is second to none. All the staff was very attentive. We were not in our rooms for 3 minutes when a phone call came to make sure we were satisfied with the room. Furnishings were in great condition and the bath was lovely. The bed: expected Marriott comfort. If I could only take that bed home! Executive member lounge is a pleasure and the views are great. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sports club next door and the Cairo Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kobsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose our hotel again for your recent stay, and that you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to having you back with us in the not too distant future again.



Thank you

Emy El Shourbagi

Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We and our clients have been staying here for many years. You can wander for hours throughout the grounds, palace and shops on this property. Great food, especially outside under an umbrella. Stayed in March 2012.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that your stays have been always pleasant at the Palace and that you have enjoyed every aspect of it.



We look forward to welcoming you back to more rewarding experiences at the Palace in the near future.






Kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,566 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
12.9 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1086
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing