We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it's good, but ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yes it's good, but ...”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Changed our usual Cairo hotel based on seeing their main building and gardens. These are great and seem to be the main reason the hotel hast 5 stars. Unfortunately the 1970's annexes on either side do not live up to these standards. My room had traces of thick dust on the edges, on the phone and hair drier, the bedsite phone did not work and the additional-charge internet connection was slow and kept cutting off.

The main reason why I like this hotel is that you are able to sit in the extensive gardens in the evening ater a long day (this should not be underrated!!) and sit on your balcony looking down on the Nile. However, if you don't plan on doing these things and rate the hotel purely on room quality, size, cleanliness, etc, Cairo Marriott falls significantly short of other hotels, such as Fairmont or others.

Room Tip: Ask for a high-up room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Round_Earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback, and I am very sorry that you did not have a good experience with us during your last stay. We at Marriott strive for excellence and can only improve with your comments. I would very much welcome a discussion with you on the issues that you had with us, and please do contact me on emy.elshourbagi@marriott.com.


Kind regards
Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,264
    658
    183
    73
    54
See reviews for
347
568
191
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel in early November. Despite being one of the largest hotels in the Middle East, it certainly lags behind in terms of service. There were only 3 receptionists, which seem to take forever to check-in guests. We were Platinum Rewards members and despite that, we were told to wait since they were busy! I can clearly see that they are taking their time in checking in guests and they should work faster!

The location of the hotel is good, in the island in the middle of Cairo. The rooms, bathroom are showing signs of age--definetly not the best in Cario. We were in a upgraded room which had LCD TV's, but the room looked below average--certainly not the hotel rooms we see in Dubai or Doha.

The breakfast was in the club lounge, which was good; the food is adequate and plentiful to choose from.

The view was amazing from the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get the higher floors as the floor on the lower floors are noisier. Try to upgrade to a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We value your feedback and have shared it with the respective departments. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a complete rewarding Cairo Marriott experience.


Thank You
Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Atmosphere and grandeur are key in this location. Nile view rooms have great link with the famous river and its city. Rooms need refurbishment. Minus is that both at check-in as check-out, time was unacceptable due to bureaucratic procedures (ID-card issue and Expedia tariff differences).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We value your feedback and have shared it with the respective departments. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future for a complete rewarding Cairo Marriott experience.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We had our wedding there, it was a masterpiece, the service is perfect and the staff there are really helpful, cooperative and understanding, were always helping us to solve all the unexpected problems we faced that day, moreover the food quality was amazing and all the invitees were really happy with it, a very large variety, but actually we didn't go to the swimming pool it was a small one and we didn't had time for it, just we stayed there for 2 nights and then left the hotel, but indeed it was just amazing experience there

Room Tip: the royal suites are not that large as for the four seasons in Cairo, the view is really nice from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your wedding and thank you for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.


Kind regards

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a beautiful hotel without a doubt especially the common areas e.g. meeting rooms, etc. The hotel includes a 24 hour bank which comes in handy if you need Egyptian pounds or change for tips etc. It also has several shops that looked interesting if you have time to explore.
The rooms are comparable to other high end Marriott’s. We traveled on Marriott points and had executive level access. The room balcony in the city was also a nice plus. We had a room with a view of the pool as well as a bit of the Nile. We didn’t eat at the hotel but enjoyed the fruit basket and sweets left in the evening.
The pool is as wonderful as it appears in pictures. However, I felt the least comfortable in Egypt at the pool as an “uncovered” woman (maybe Sex in the City 2 was in the back of my mind). That being said, I enjoyed sitting by the pool while my nephew swam and could easily imagine enjoying a leisurely day by the pool. Security was posted outside the elevator on our floor. We were told every exec floor had security. They also had metal detectors at the entry. A few other drawbacks include the lack of signage directing guests to registration. Because this is a very large hotel this is important especially if you arrive exhausted. I didn’t visit the casino but it is a nice to have if that is your thing. The staff was helpful and friendly (not overly so).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ixchel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We take our customer feedback of utmost importance, please rest assured that all your comments are being considered to ensure your utmost satisfaction on your future visits.

Thanking you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the Palace in the near future.


Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was very lucky to stay for 2 days at Cairo Marriott Hotel in October .i stayed at a DBL room which was huge we had two beds each was a queen size .the room had all the necessaries anyone may need to have the room service was very punctual the food was very tasty .on the 2nd day we ordered breakfast in our room it was an American breakfast which was great the portion was huge.we really enjoyed our stay and I would definitely stay again soon at this hotel .our room was overlooking the Nile and you could see all the scenery from high above as we were on the 16 floor . We were given the Marriott Rewards card as soon as we checked in so we could use it easily in any Marriott Hotels all over the world .great experience .

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 16 or 18 floor the scenery is spectacular .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiapride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Cairo Marriott Hotel and Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We do hope that, in the near future, we are able to welcome you back.


Thank you
Emy El Shourbagi
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAIRO
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by the "comeback" made by this wonderful Marriott property. I was attending a wedding with my family, and we spent the night in one of the newly renovated diplomatic suites at the Zamalek tower. I must say the hotel management managed to get this hotel back on its feet in terms of service. All the staff members that I dealt with during my stay were excellent and very efficient. Food was excellent and room service and house keeping were swift. The newly renovated suite was very keenly appointed with an array of ameneties. I believe if this hotel manages to keep up this quality of service it will win back all the clients it lost in the past 10 years or so. Very good job Marriott Zamalek.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M-Elgawhergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your stay at the Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again and again to the Palace.

Emy El Shourbagi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1086
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations, and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. with an upgraded outdoor heated swimming pool, in-house guests can enjoy their relaxing time around the pool bar. Kids can also enjoy their time in kids pool area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing