We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Palace”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

What a wonderful stay! I came here with my brother and parents. Once we stepped out of the car we were just like "wow". The intricate details and decor was absolutely gorgeous. The rooms were really nice and clean, we never used the pool but it looked really nice. There's tonnes of shopping within walking distance, lots of great local restaurants and sheesha places. But the food in the hotel was great too - a bit pricey as expected. Have dinner on the patio - really felt like we left home when we got here. The breakfast spread was awesome as well!

Only small complaint was we noticed about $90 extra on our bill when we checked out for wifi and phone calls. We didn't use either and told them, after getting a supervisor to review the situation they took it off the bill - but it just sucks having to deal with that.

The small shops in the hotel are fun too if you're unable to trek around for some trinkets.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxojho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    656
    181
    73
    52
See reviews for
340
565
190
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights.. it is very impressive from the start with its neoclassical architecture, its interior décor, furniture, other fittings in the main building gave a very royal feeling to the hotel. It was later we found out it was actually a Palace and newer hotel towers were built around it.. The promenade café with the Palace in as the backdrop together with the surroundings are brilliant settings.. great place to just sit and enjoy a sheesha or a drink..
The check was tedious.. took some to get sorted before were given our rooms..

The room are quite a distant from the check in.. the room was large but it surely needed a refurbishment.. The room quality did not live up the earlier image and standard of quality.. it came with a balcony and view of the Nile but the toilets, furniture, TV needs urgent refurbishing.. Who still uses a BOX TV set ? I could not believe my eyes.. Maybe it has been there since the early 1900s..

The breakfast was superb with a wide verity of fresh selections.. The hotel has cafes and saloons and shops on its compound however it has been priced perhaps for the Napoleons or Aristocrats.. Too expensive..

Check out was a nightmare.. we noted some mistakes on invoice and informed the staff however were given the explanation that was a systems peculiar way of computing bla bla bla.. after a recheck.. a revised invoice was printed without the errors.. no apologies whatsoever by the staff…

I may not go back to stay but will definitely return for a drink and enjoy the royal surroundings of the palace..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent 8 nights at this Marriott and used it as a base for sightseeing. Wonderful experience. Great service and excellent safety precautions. The garden is dreamy and a great place to have a drink, a light meal or people watch.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmyElShourbagi, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Ms. Laraine,

Thank you for sharing your great review. It will always be our pleasure to have you at the Cairo Marriott Hotel as our valued and esteemed guest. We are delighted that you enjoyed the tranquility and atmosphere of the promenade café.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Palace in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Yasmine El Gammal
Marketing Communications Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel last year and was very impressed with the service and the staff’s eye for details. They are so helpful and caring that it’s really touching. It is probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. I booked online and got a very good deal
The hotel is in a very good location, my room had a wonderful view over the Nile. You have plenty of things to do at the hotel. Small shops, an outstanding barber saloon; one of the best I have ever visited. You also have a very nice pool and a very good gym available for the guests. The room was clean, modern and with a great design. The Wi-Fi was very good when I was there; the bathrooms have a nice design. I found the breakfast excellent; there was a huge variety of food types and the service was superb. I also enjoyed a cold beer and a shisha (water pipe) in the garden one night; very relaxing and pleasant.
I look forward to return to this outstanding hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Per H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
476 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel on previous occasions and have always been pleased with the hotel. It has a wide range of amenities and restaurants. Food is of a high quality at both breakfast and the large range of restaurants offered.

Service is a bit too enthusiastic, but not prompt, for example it can take time to give orders, or a long time for delivery of order. Rooms are clean and comfortable, but maybe in need of a refurb.

Like a previous guest, I too noticed bird poo on the cushions on the terrace, however, I saw the covers being changed this morning.

My issue with the hotel is that it is obviously struggling with occupancy during the recent troubles, I would not be surprised if there as many members of staff as guests. As a result, the hotel has fell foul to the wrong type of guest; there are obviously a large number of prostitutes and pimps working in the hotel. I had noticed such activity on my last visit, but it was very discreet and you almost expect it in any large city hotel. But now it is widespread and blatant. I was staying on business, so I was leaving the hotel early in the morning, at the same time as seeing such girls leave, plus have seen them being paraded around the hotel, in a catalogue style fashion.

I'm afraid that this will bring an end to my stays here and will now stay at the Fairmont Towers

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 6 weeks. Quick summary. 4 things I really liked: the staff and their attention to details. The staff are one of the main reasons it is so nice to stay at this hotel. The room was kept tidy and clean and the site itself is gorgeous (2 thumbs up for the gardeners - beautiful work). And the gym is super clean. It is small but there is everything. And finally the security is top notch. I always felt safe. 2 things I "less liked": the hotel is not environmental friendly. It does not follow the basics like not changing the towels everyday. Also, restaurants, beauty salons are really catered for the rich person traveling for business. Everything is so expensive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairoMarriottHotel, Manager at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Canadagirl98,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us , please rest assured that will work on your highlighted point and next time you visit us it will be changed.

Best Regards,
Mosaad Hussein
eCommerce Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Cairo is an exciting city and this is a truly relaxing place to stay if you are visiting. I have been staying at this hotel for the last 10 years, usually once a year in October. Having given it a miss last October due to the political situation, I decided to chance it in February despite the media hype against visiting. I have to say it was the best time we had. It was quiet and calm, excellent weather and the hotel lilted up, once more, to its reputation. The key things about the hotel are the fantastic garden, the promenade cafe and the huge swimming pool with lots of sunbathing space. I don't know of another hotel in Cairo that offers this kind of outside space in the middle of the city. The is also an excellent spa and gym with professionally trained masseurs.

The staff are incredibly friendly and hospitable and try hard to please guests given the difficult time they have been through with the drop in tourism as a result of the political unrest. Having ignored the negative media coverage, I am so pleased to have been back in Cairo once again and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view with a high floor - better views over the garden, the Nile and Cairo
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hertstraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing