We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice average marriott hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice average marriott hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I enjoyed my stay here, but it is not the Four Seasons. It is a typical Marriott in service and room. The public areas are much nicer, but the volume of traffic throughout the hotel leaves top-notch service impossible. The spa area needs to be renovated. Very old looking.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMan333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    656
    181
    73
    52
See reviews for
340
565
190
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

We just came back from a 5 days trip in Cairo. Our travel agency made a reservation for a Nile view room which was really great (it worths the extra cost). The beds were very confortable and there was a variety of pillows to choose from.We tried the Tuscany restaurant which was good but a little expensive.In everything you order or buy in Egypt there is 25%taxes!! The pool was heated and the facilities very clean. Coffee maker provided.Breakfast very rich and international(from pancakes to sushi and also steaks!) served until 11 am.You can make a reservation for guided tours offered by the hotel(quite pricy).There is a supermarket near the hotel where you can buy water or soft drinks.Minibar is expensive.Last advice:if you get a good rate stay there!The city of Cairo is chaotique!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lianaharala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

This place is amazing. BEAUTIFUL!! Stayed 4 days in one of the top floor towers and and my suite was spacious and well appointed. The service was very quiet and efficient. Truly a wonderful hotel. All the restaurants had great food. If there was any draw back was that the smoking area in the lounge was right by the floor door and you had to walk through it. On the back end of my trip I stayed there again and stayed in one of the room around the pool ask to stay in one of the tower buildings..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w0rldtravelled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

One of the oldest and largest hotels in Cairo. But its age is only felt in its charm; the executive level rooms are all very modern, well appointed and nicely sized. Great city location on the Nile with easy access to local stores around the corner (including a Subway). The lobby, front desk and executive lounge can be crowded at times, so plan some extra time if you have tight plans.

Executive level privileges include free internet, (3) free pressings on day of arrival along with access to the lounge. This was explained in a nice index card given as I checked in. The lounge has a great breakfast and evening spread (much nicer than both the Conrad and Hilton lounges).

Upon check out, I was told my room rate was not high enough for the free internet and pressings. I was being billed. They said Gold & Platinum upgrades are not entitled to the Executive level services.

I have stayed at the Conrad and Hilton in Cairo and this Marriott is far above those in value and quality. The downside was the policy of the executive level benefits, this alone downgrades my hotel rating and my recommendation to work colleagues not to support this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We stayed here for a total of four total nights spread over two seperate weekends. When you first arrive, you can be a bit intimidated by the security presence, but it gives you peace of mind even though Cairo is a very safe city. However, this hotel has everything you want. The place has some very good places to eat even though they are a bit pricey compared to your options in Cairo which are much less. It probably had the better bar of all the places we visited in Egypt. The casino is cheesy, there was no craps tables. The staff served complimentary coffee but you had to get it in the lobby before 7 or 8AM. I am not an early riser, so I missed out on that. I have to say though that the staff is excellent. They upgraded us to a room on the second weekend, and it was a spectacular suite. It was very clean. My one complaint is that the transportation porter does not tell you the best way to get a cheap taxi. We paid too much for a taxi the first day or two. I would recommend that you get a taxi away from the hotel. Get a white metered taxi as well, they won't rip you off. All in all, the you will have a view of the Nile and some other great vistas. You cannot go wrong by booking a stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhemp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Good location. Facilities and restaurants are good.. good pool and fitness center (do not recommend the massage). We had the exec room package which is excellent value unless you want a lot of cuisine variety.. the exec lounge offers more or less the same menu but is great value as you get breakfast and dinner as well.
Rooms are ok - quite dated and bathrooms are very average. We stayed ground floor and was not noisy at all.
Small casino in hotel is also good for casual visitors.. overall we enjoyed our stay.. they do try and rip you off on internet / drinks and extra taxes but figure that into your budget ahead of time and shouldn't be an issue

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cam8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

The main buildings are great and the garden is an oasis from the noise of Cairo. We stayed in the older tower which is in need of refurbishment, which they are doing - hence 3 lifts were out of order. We had an adjoining door to a VERY noisy neighbour on the first night, but the hotel moved us with no fuss at all, even though the hotel was pretty full.

As others say, the breakfast is good, if a little expensive but the home made pizzas are worth the money but the service is slow compared to Western and Asian hotels.

Cairo is great fun, if not for the faint hearted, particularly if you want to walk across the road! We soon got used to haggling everywhere but always as the taxi drivers for a price before getting in. Don't use the hotel porter to call a cab - he quoted us and we were charged LE40 for the same ride which we got on the 2nd day for LE20 by walking to the bottom of the ramp and hailing one ourselves!

Use the bottle shop round the corner for beer (LE26 for 4 bottles - minibar was LE42 for one!), Abu El Sid is great restaurant and only 2 minutes walk but Felfela was awful - the chicken was so tough we could not eat it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing