We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #7 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Ostrava, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I've visited this hotel twice - once in the 80's for business, and again recently for New Year. It is special - originally a palace, with colonial gardens and grand reception areas. Pure class and relative tranquility in the middle of the chaos of Cairo.
I have travelled all my life for my work, and this is one of the top 5 hotels I have ever visited.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,244
    656
    181
    73
    52
See reviews for
340
565
190
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed here twice on our trip to Egypt, both times in a room in the older area of the hotel. Quite a walk from the lobby, out thru the courtyard. I think all the rooms have balconies: unfortunately, ours overlooked what must have been a fountain until construction. It looked like a place to hang people....but to be honest, the courtyard at night, with the lights on the trees lit up, is beautiful. The room itself was very nice.
There are two restaurants out in the courtyard, we sat outside twice, lovely atmosphere and you can choose from either menu. Just the people watching is fabulous.
There is a lot of walking: be prepared. There are also a lot of steps to the pool area, and down to Omar's cafe, where they serve breakfast (a great breakfast buffet, you can get fresh cooked omelettes and waffles). There is a wonderful little bakery with sandwiches and pastries, but you pay more to sit in there to eat: we bought the food and ate it on our balcony, which was cheaper and nicer as well. Coffeemaker in the room very spacious room. My elderly mother found the tub an issue to get in and out of, no handrail and high up: we went to the pool area and showered there, where there is a shower for handicapers you can walk straight into.
The area around the hotel is congested with traffic, and difficult to walk around, but worth getting out into to see the people and the city. I saw a man riding a bicycle balancing a ladder on his head in traffic. . . crossing the street is a risk. A local woman took pity on us and finally came across to help us. If you go out the front door of the hotel, and turn right, and right again at the corner, and walk one block down to the red "Vodaphone" sign, just past it is a Mobil station that sells cookies, water (cheaper!) and groceries. Across the street (which is 5 lanes) is a restaurant with a wood door, Abu Sid. We ate there: it was ok, but others have raved about it. Very local atmosphere and worth a try.
There are two banks in the hotel for money exchange. I was glad that I had used them, as we did a cruise on the Nile and in other cities, people had trouble using the ATM machines. The Egyptian Museum is nearby, but I highly recommend taking a cab there, as walking thru the traffic can be difficult. There are guards with bomb sniffing dogs outside every entrance to the hotel: but we noticed this outside many hotels or office buildings in Egypt.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brooklynMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I felt like a princess staying in this hotel that was once a palace. The hotel is stunningly gorgeous and very clean. The Zamalek neighborhood is very peaceful and the perfect setting along the Nile for this hotel. There are loads of restaurants and shops which are all great. The shop prices were very reasonable (we loved AUF and NOMAD) and we spent a few evenings having mezzahs, desserts and sheesha at the Egyptian Nights hotel. Sure the hotel food prices were higher than out in the city, but for a 5 star place, the prices were less than expected. We also LOVED the Marriott Bakery on the first floor. Great coffee, juices, sandwiches and desserts. There is also a bank in the hotel to change money and break big bills. Everything you need is here... As for our deluxe room, it was spacious, with a balcony that you could see the Nile from, the bathroom was all marble and big, the beds were SUPER comfortable. The TV offered many viewing options. There was also a desk, desk chair and arm chair. Each morning housekeeping left us complimentary bottles of water and one day they left us a large fruit basket! Everyone we encountered that worked for the hotel was extremely nice and super helpful. We definitely tipped often and well, but the staff deserved the gratuities. We used the pool everyday. It is super large with an area in and out of the sun. Towels are available poolside as well as a cafe and a great pool staff that brought us everything we needed. My husband and I definitely splurged on this trip, but it was well worth it! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professorwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at the Cairo Marriott for 2 nights at the end of July and we were definately glad we chose it.

The only gripe we had was the length of time to check-in but with 5 people at the desk and 30 people or so waiting to get served it was a minor concern.

We booked an executive suite and it was definately worth the extra money. We had a few drinks at the garden terrace and by capital city/major hotel standards the prices were reasonable. We ate in the executive lounge on the 18th floor and found the food to be of good quality and plentiful for what we needed. The breakfast was served in the lounge as well and again was perfect for what we wanted.

The Pool and Spa area were very clean and open 24 hours for those who wanted a swim at 2am. The Palace itself is fantastic and visitors should take time to have a wander round and especially to the function rooms to find a fantastic staircase in the Royal Salon.

The location is perfect for visiting Cairo and its sights and even strolling out of the hotel at night we felt perfectly safe.

The staff were very attentive and every so often would ring or knock at the door to see if we required anything.

We'll definately be returning to the Cairo Marriott on our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caladesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Great stay, i think to in room food service was great, and the fact they have three resturants on site and great food you cannt even describe. i would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalSShoper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here 3 nights at the end of a long 3 week trip in the middle east. This hotel is HUGE. Many different restaurants and shops. As noted, this hotel used to be a palace which they converted. Grounds are well maintained. Upon arrival, there was a fruit and cheese platter in the room. Room was large and had a balcony overlooking sports club and nile. We used the pool; heated which was nice treat. We generally ate breakfast at the hotel and lunch/dinner down the street. One nice thing about this hotel- it on an island in the nice part of town. You can walk down the streets freely and safely (well, watch out for the speeding traffic) and not get harrassed to provide a "tip" or purchase some trinket. Front desk always responded right away with any requests. We were told from our egyptian guide that many Egyptian celebrities dine at the restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhaganmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed at the Cairo Marriott for 2 nights and I am glad we didn't stay any longer. We had already booked a day tour of the Pyramids with Rameses tours and were thankful that we didn't have to spend too long in the hotel. The only positive things I can say is that it is in a good location; not too far from the pyramids and the Egyptian museum. The staff were not attentive or friendly...it doesn't take much to provide service with a smile. Although there were several restaurants in the hotel vicinity the food was mediocre and ridiculously expensive. We ate at Roys Country Kitchen and had chicken wings to share as a starter, chicken fajita and pizza for our main course for the total of £50!!!! It wasn't even that nice! We ate at Maze in Cape Town and had 2 starters, 2 mains, 2 deserts for the same price and the food was ten million times better. There is building work going on at the moment which we were not warned about which made it very noisy in the foyer and in the Zamalek tower which we stayed in. The waiters at the garden cafe were positively rude and must laugh behind your back as you pay through the teeth for an alcoholic beverage - vodka and redbull was £10 and a bottle of beer was £5. The whole place is like a maze, difficult to find your way around without GPS and I was disappointed by the 'palace' reference...I didn't think it was impressive at all. The breakfast buffet was OK...again, stupidly expensive for a few beef sausages. My partner witnessed a chef drop food on the floor, scrape it up with his utensil and then continue cooking with it!!!
We were so glad when our tour guide took us to Abu Tareks restaurant to indulge in the most supreme koshary food....it was divine!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeachesShire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing