We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Conrad Cairo(Cairo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,515)
Filter reviews
2,515 results
Traveller rating
1,431
727
208
85
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,431
727
208
85
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palacezamalek towersuez canalgarden cafecountry kitchenthe executive loungemain buildingbeautiful hotelan oasiszamalek islandbusiness centernile viewlarge hotelspecial thanksbreakfast buffet isegyptian museumegyptian pounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,576 - 1,581 of 2,515 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We stayed at the Cairo Marriott for a night at the end of a 10 day tour of Egypt. We arrived at the hotel at 6:30am after the overnight train from Luxor and we were able to check in and access our rooms immediately which was a treat because it allowed us to shower.

The hotel is located in a handy location in the centre of Cairo. It is a beautiful hotel as it used to be a palace. There is about every amenity you could wish for, tennis court, swimming pool, choice of restaurants, ATMs, shops etc.

Our room was of Western 5 star standard, lovely beds, fabulous Egyptian cotton linen, quiet, spacious.

We left very early the following morning and the hotel prepared a breakfast box for us to take with us in lieu of the buffet breakfast.

As mentioned in other reviews the food is expensive but in my mind no different from other 5 star hotels around the world.

If 5 star luxury is what you are after then this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KellyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

The Cairo Marriott was built to house the Empress Eugenie, Napoleon III's wife, at the opening of the Suez Canal in 1869. That structure has been expanded with two large towers and a ring of garden and poolside rooms which have all the amenitiies of a modern hotel. It is located on the island of Gezira in the Nile River in downtown Cairo. The rooms are lovely and the gardens beautiful. There are restaurants serving every ethicity within the hotel. A small casino is also located in the central building. Strolling the banks of the Nile right outside the hotel to see the many anchored restaurant and night club boats, the little party boats cruising the river and to see the city blazing with light in the evening is a delightful thing to do after a hard day of sightseeing. While the city is perhaps the noisiest I have ever been in (drivers are apparently grafted to their auto horns) the hotel is a quiet oasis. Security is excellent but not intrusive. Service at the garden tables for cocktails in the afternoon is a bit casual, but this is the Middle East so one makes allowances. The food in the Japanese and Italian restaurants was excellent and the breakfasrt buffet was outstanding. The rooms are large and well appointed.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhw089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Arrived quite late in the evening. Front desk was very helpful in giving me access to my room. It's a very large hotel but has a grand garden in a most perfect setting. The room was very comfortable with the best Egyptian cotton sheets and lots of pillows. The room was large and very clean. The breakfast had lots of variety and wonderful service. Ths is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yu243229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

This is a fantastic hotel in Cairo. The main building is beautiful and are room was incredibly comfortable and up to Western standards. We used the pool area everyday which is small for a hotel of that size but adequate for lounging around. Food in the hotel is incredibly expensive. There are a number of restaurants a short walk away including Maison Thomas for delish pizza and Abu El Sid for excellent Egyptian (we went twice to both places). Taxis are cheaper just by walking to the end of the hotel driveway - so avoid the overpriced hotel transport. All in all, a great stay and would recommend to anyone heading to Cairo. Happy travels.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I stayed in the Cairo Marriott and Omar Khayyam Casino twice for a few days each and stayed in both a garden room and a room overlooking the Nile in the Zamalek tower. Both rooms were large, clean and comfortable except the room in the Zamalek tower overlooking the Nile had some street noise even though we were on level 12 as we were near the road overpass going over the Nile. Otherwise we found the hotel to be beautiful and the grounds nicely laid out and expansive.

We ate in the Ristorante Tuscany (which had a small menu but food was ok), the Garden Promenade cafe (which had a great menu and the food was good) and the JW Steakhouse (which the food had a bit to be desired - mince in the hamburger was plain and the grilled chicken was overcooked and dry). There are lots of other restaurants to choose from and you don't really need to leave the hotel grounds.

The rooms were big and spacious and the hotel itself was beautifully decorated with statues and wonderful antique furniture.

There are lots of shops in the hotel and the pool was large and there seemed to be enough deck chairs for everyone. There is a small cafe at the pool for you to order snacks, drinks and ice creams.

The hotel is on the island of Zamalek next to the Nile and to go to the Egyptian Museum or the Khan El Kalili bazaar will be a taxi ride away of approximately 15 - 30EP depending on how much the taxi driver wants to try to rip you off that day.

You cannot drink the tap water in Egypt and you receive 1 free small bottle of water in the room a day and the hotel charges approximately 15 - 25EP for more. Instead you can walk out the main entrance of the hotel, go down the driveway, turn left and walk 2 blocks (past the Vodofone store) and buy big bottles of water at the Mobil petrol station for around 2.50 - 5.00EP as well as other snacks.

All in all it's a really great hotel and a sanctuary from the noise and hustle and bustle of Cairo.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetsettingaussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews