We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad service”
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed from 1 to 8 of January 2011. Great location, but the service was not good. Checking out they charge my credit card 302.11 EGP for 9 bottles of water (I am sure were less) and a coffee. In my check they wrote 4 times "minibar soda: 57.19" which I haven't drink at all. This was an assault. Marriott Cairo hotel never again…

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseportela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,226
    648
    180
    72
    51
See reviews for
334
562
186
713
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
604 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

What a great hotel! Comfortable beds and linens, very quiet rooms (with the minor exception of one night when a party was taking place next door), and great views of the Nile River! I needed an electrical current adapter for my three pronged plug on my computer and they loaned me one for the week!

You will find security pretty tight here with bomb sniffing dogs at the entrance along with police and soldiers carrying weapons and a security scanner a la airport style at every entry to the hotel. Reality being if Egypt loses its tourist trade, the country will likely go bankrupt and Americans drop a hefty amount of money in this country on tourism.

But I digress....Breakfast buffet (included) served in Omar’s Café has something for everyone from sushi to Egyptian food to cereal to made-to-order omelets and begins service at 3 or 4 in the morning and goes until 11 AM!

We ate at Egyptian Nights, outside the first evening. We enjoyed trying some grilled meats and a traditional fava bean dish. The star of this show was that each table had water pipes, and many patrons were participating in smoking the pipes.

The next night we ate at Torii, an Asian restaurant with a great Egyptian sushi chef. We stopped in at The Bakery for fresh baked pastries. Lunch was taken at the Garden Promenade Cafe where they have everything from breakfast to burgers to pizza. On our return, a week later, we at at either JW’s Steakhouse, reported to be the only New York Steakhouse in Cairo and Ristorante Tuscany, serving northern Italian dishes. Both restaurants were very good. You do have to keep in mind that this is NOT the USA and food still has a regional flair. We were told by our tour guide that we should not eat at any restaurants other than the "5 star" places because of hygiene issues. We happily stayed within the Marriott and were not disappointed with either service or quality.

The Lobby Bar is a great place for International people watching and enjoying tea, coffee or an after- dinner drink. They also serve pastries and light food. Harry’s Pub fashions itself as an English Pub, but there is no British beer served here. We did not stay for the live entertainment. The View, located on the 20th floor in the Zamalek Tower is only opened on certain nights so we did not see that either.

There is a casino and a show room which we did not have time to see, but the show room offers traditional belly-dancing on Saturday nights. The Marriott also offers several shops covering everything from costume galabeyas and belly dancing outfits to a full service pharmacy and clinic. There are two ATMs in the lobby and 2 banks that are open 24 hours a day.

Internet service is not wireless but cords are provided in the rooms. (See note on needing a 3-pronged electrical adapter). If you want to print off boarding passes or check airline reservations, the business center will give you 15-20 minutes free for this.

There is a health club with masseuse and steam rooms and a large heated pool that is open 24-7. There is also a beautician and manicure/pedicure salon among the shops.
Overall, I can't think of anything they were lacking at this opulent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

the reason this is the best place is the location. Have stayed at 4 Seasons Nile Plaza and at Fairmont Nile City, both of which are flashier and excellent hotels, but the Marriott has a lovely garden with a huge outdoor restaurant - the others have just roof top pools. The garden terrace is great for people watching too as le tout Caire comes here to hang out, presumably becuase it is one of the few green spaces in the city where good food can be had. It is also, of course, an historic building. The palace areas and kept up very nicely in properly palatial style. The pool (full size) and the lobby are a bit 80's. The rooms are good of a generic 5 star type, but bathrooms small and a little old fashioned (those funny low American bathtubs). We got a great rate on an executive suite (with lounge use - there is a running buffet from breakfast until midnight). So it's not perfect but believe me, if you are staying more than 1 night in Cairo which is uniformly brown and dusty you will so appreciate the outside space. It is also in walking distance (3mins) of good restaurants such as Maison Thomas, Abou El SId and La Bodega/Aperitivo - a big plus in view of Cairo traffic and taxis...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovingmyholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong KOng
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

This was the most horrible service we have ever experienced in our life time..It was like a joke. How did they find all the incompetent unhappy bunch of people to work for Marriott.. I only blame the upper management, they should immediatly change their General Manager.Anyway I tell you never MARRIOTT again .

Ok, Great location , beautiful athmosphere but that's it. Average looking old rooms and average cleanliness . AGAIN HORIBLE SERVICE..I highly recommend anyone Kempinski or Four Season to stay and just visit Marriott for an afternoon drink.

they should send all the Hotel Managements students here to know WHAT NOT TO DO!!,.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank QueenBee1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CairoMarriottHotel, Director of Sales at Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, responded to this review, 19 January 2011
Dear valued guest,


Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take these comments very seriously and would like to discuss them in detail with you at your earliest convenience. Please contact our General Manager directly at +20 2 27283000, Please refer to this review when contacting us: we look forward to working with you to resolve the issue.

Best Regards,

Nadia El Ansari,
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Looks good but the service was terrible. Breakfast was a battle every morning, fighting to get at some ordinary food.

We also stayed at the Mena House which I would highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert_Finnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I stayed for 5 non continuous nights at the Cairo Marritt &Omar Khayyam Casino around new year's eve 2010. It was by far the worst Marriott experience I ever had. (Ive stayed at Marriotts in various countries).

The service was not only slow, but also aggressive. They are unreasonable and do not have a helpful attitude. If you ask them something, and try to make them think to come up with an answer, it seems like they want to yell at you when they reply (if they reply). The price quoted when I made my reservation turned out to be close to 15% less than what I actually paid, just because the Hotel seems to have its own exchange rate applied when making an invoice in Egyptian pounds, and my credit card company converts that amount, at the real rate, back to a Dollar amount I have to pay. There is also a city tax that was not included in the price I was quoted...So the differene turned out to be quite significant

I asked the front desk about this, and the man talking to me was not only inpatient, but also aggressive. The hotel food is ok, but you should expect to pay 60 dollars for a shared appetizer and main course plus a beer.

I dont know if there si a better hotel in Cairo, but definitely avoid the Cairo Marriott & Omar Khayyam Casino.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelSavvy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

The hotel common areas are in an historic palace and it looks and feels great to be there. The room buildings are modern 70's style, which I also like. We disliked very much the first room that was given to us, in one of the low buildings by the pool, with a strange access, and facing a giantic tree that covered any possible view of the pool and made the room dark, with an old and seedy feel to it. So we asked to move to one of the high towers, and politely asked for a view, but got a very dry answer that the hotel was full and that we could be moved to a room in the tower, but on the 2nd floor. We had no view either, but the room was much better, more spacious, cleaner and lighter. In America that would be a classic 4star room, not a 5star. The hotel restaurants were great and the breakfast and dinner food was delicious, with a good value for foreigners. Zamalek area is nice, central and it feels safe, but since nothing is close in Cairo and we only left the hotel with our private guide van, we felt that staying in Giza, probably at the Mena House Oberoi, to have breakfast looking at the pyramids, will be our next choice in Egypt!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marciopsiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.6 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,351 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.6 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino

Property: Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Address: 16 Saray El Gezira Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#7 Business Hotel in Cairo
#9 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 1087
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the premier Cairo, Egypt, hotels, Marriott Cairo Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino, in the Zamalek area, is the perfect destination for weekend getaways, vacations and business travel. The twin towers of this landmark hotel rise 20 stories high and provide magnificent views of the Nile and six acres of palace gardens. Dear valued guest, Please excuse us as we are closing our swimming pool for renovation to enhance our facilities and make your stay always more brilliant. closure will be from 08th of October 2016 till end of June 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Cairo
Cairo Marriott Hotel And Omar Khayyam Casino
Marriott Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing