We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“actually 2004”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
“actually 2004”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The resort was amazing! It was family friendly and they really know how to cater to their guests. I would deffinatley reccomend this hotel and would love to go back for a short visit some day.

Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EllieS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    290
    97
    35
    27
See reviews for
186
152
50
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The service and the personal of the hotel help us in everything; they recommended us which tours to take and in reference to the hotel everything was exceelent.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank RocioH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2009

The hotel had superb facilities and good service,the wave pool was awesome! The kids had lots to do!

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnjuH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We traveled from Amman, Jordan to Cairo for a five day holiday, with family also coming from Athens, Greece. The airport transfers, hotel rooms, restaurants, spa, golf course and golf club, the service at all levels was absolutely fabulous! Everyone at the hotel tried really hard to make us have an unforgetably fantastic stay. We will travel back to Cairo in the coming months and we will certainly stay at the J.W. Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpiroLindaAuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Drove up over 2 days exploring in hired 4x4 from our holiday in Sharm El Shiekh to Giza, after day of chaos in downtown Cairo and desert, (Wife driving as my stress levels too high), we were tired 10pm and finally on ringroad towards Suez.
We found this hotel purely by accident and were amazed to get 5 star treatment at a little over 1200Nok (about 100quid room only). Words cant express the comfort and luxury of the huge room we were given, marble bathroom, massive queen bed (14pillows -my wife counted!) and huge tv. We had a balcony that looks out over the pool area and waterfalls -admittedly they look better at night and I think this is definately more a buisness hotel than tourist - Giza Pyramids for example is about an hour driving away
i read a reveiw saying they thought the hotel awful and smelling of cigarette smoke ?.. I dont understand that statement, the place was immaculate and smelled fresh. (I know some hotels in Egypt dont care). We travel a great deal and have seen good and very bad hotels all over the world, for once Im 100% happy with this one.
We ordered room service for supper and they set up a table and all the trimmings in the room. It was excellent, my wife was over the moon at the standards and service (she can be bit fussy). Most comfortable bed Ive had in ages. We even ordered room service for breakfast - Pancakes,breads,omelettes the works !
Total cost when we checked out - 1800 Nok / £180 ! - Thats cheaper than most 3 star hotels in Scotland ! If this is all a knock on of the credit crisis and hotels lowering their prices then bring it on !! im Scottish and like to keep my cash in my pocket !
If I was on buisness or travelling through Cairo then I wouldnt hesitate - I would be here !

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk, england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Perfectly good hotel with plenty to do. 4 swimming pools and an excellent gym. The restaurants were ok but genereally overpriced, especially the steakhouse. There is absolutely nothing to do around the hotel, don't be fooled into thinking it'd downtown, it's a good 1 - 1 1/2 hour drive to Giza etc should you want to do the tourist trail. Rooms were always tidy and laundry sevice was fantastic, got my grease engrained overalls back to new which I have never heard off before. The service at the front desk and "at your service" could have been better. Room internet access is incredibly expensive!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delay220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We would highly recommend this hotel, especially for a family with children and for people wanting to combine a visit to Egypt with some relaxation.

We stayed for a couple of weeks in early September, 2009. As this was during Ramadan, the hotel was not full, which may have been an advantage since nothing was crowded. We experienced NONE of the problems mentioned in the negative reviews. On the contrary, our room was spotless and well maintained, with a balcony overlooking the golf course. The weather was perfect to sit out there in the evening. Especially with the balcony, the room was fine for three people, and the staff did a great job keeping it in tip top shape (including cleaning the balcony). One small example: a light bulb went out one evening, and by the following morning it had been replaced (without our saying anything to the staff).

Perhaps the best part of the hotel was the staff. They were friendly, well-trained, and genuinely caring. When our daughter wasn't feeling great one afternoon, they insisted on specially preparing some food that would be good for her. The staff in the restaurants generally called us by name, and they did a great job of remembering our preferences and suggesting items that they thought we might like or were particularly good that day.

For us the best part of the hotel was that it combined relatively easy access to the "tourist sites" with great facilities for recreation. The hotel is convenient to the airport (but far enough away that there is no airplane noise); it took maybe 15 or 20 minutes to go from the hotel to the airport, and with the shuttle bus, it couldn't have been easier. The hotel is about 30-45 minutes from downtown. Most days we took the hotel's shuttle bus which leaves at 8:30 and comes back around 1:00 and drops you at the Egyptian Museum (right next tot he Nile in downtown Cairo) or next to the market (Khan el Khalil). The drivers were great -- pointing out things of interest en route and indeed varying the route slightly both to avoid traffic jams and show other points of interest. Although we were at first disappointed that the shuttle bus gave us only four hours or so in Cairo, this turned out to work very nicely, as we found that after four hours visiting the museum (or walking around the old city) we (and especially the children) were ready for a swim. So we could spend the afternoon in the pools (or at the (artificial) beach -- complete with wave making machine!), on the tennis courts, or in the fitness center (which is huge). The facilities are great -- comparable to what you'd find in a quality resort in Hawaii. One small beef is that two of the pools are considered part of the spa and are off limits to children under 18, but in practice the beach and the big outdoor pool were fine for the kids. And the staff, especially at the tennis courts, were great. We took a couple of tennis lessons and would highly recommend it.

One last thing to mention. On Fridays the hotel does free tours of the pyramids, Saqqara (step pyramid), and Old Cairo on a rotating basis. We went on the tours of Old Cairo (citadel, mosque, and Coptic quarter) and of Saqqara, and would recommend them. Personally, I would have preferred to omit the visits to the perfume factory and papyrus shop and use the time for more sightseeing. But "shopping opportunities" are unavoidable in most tours, and as shopping goes, these weren't bad at all.

Overall, we had a great experience. It really is a great place to stay, particularly if you want to combine sightseeing with relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0beExpl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
12.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
12.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
12.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
12.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Cairo

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Address: Ring Road- Mirage City | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#6 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#10 Business Hotel in Cairo
#14 Family Hotel in Cairo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a new standard of elegance at the award-winning JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. Set against the unique and magical backdrop of Cairo, Egypt, a vibrant city steeped in 7,000 years of history and culture, our luxury hotel provides a combination of relaxed sophistication and personalized service. 440 impeccably appointed hotel rooms and suites offer every luxury for your Heliopolis visit, from pillowtop mattresses and marble bathrooms to 24-hour room service and high-speed Internet. Our stunning suites feature impressive views of our golf course, or "The Beach." With 12 diverse dining options at your disposal, you can rest assured that your appetite will always be satisfied. Indulge in a luxury treatment at the 27,000-square foot Mandara Spa, or play a round at our Mirage City Golf Club. Plan your next event with us in Heliopolis; our hotel features gorgeous, flexible venue space and comprehensive planning services. For the getaway of a lifetime here in Egypt, choose the JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cairo
Marriott Hotel Cairo
Marriott Cairo
Cairo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing