We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Ranked #11 of 141 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Short visit for a site meeting, the Marriott is excellent ( as expected ) with enough staff to meet all requirements. Nothing is too mich trouble and ther service was excellent

Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
Thank hardybandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2009

This is everything you expect from a big 5* hotel. It's as impersonal as all other big 5* but the rooms are nice, the service is efficient and the garden,pool and patio area out back are lovely. Nice if you can afford it!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingwilbury66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

This 5-star hotel has it all! A brilliant stay with many excellent restaurants to choose from for dinner. Breakfast is also a spread for a Pharaoh! The hotel is outside of Cairo, thus a distance from the city center, but this is the place to stay in bustling Cairo. There is a free shuttle to the Museum and City Stars Mall. Arranging a private limo taxi to the Pyramids and Sphinx in Giza is also recommended. You can also play a round of golf and there is a Pro Shop as well. Overall this a great stay and to me made Cairo the only worthwhile stay.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank WernerW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Stayed at the J.W. Marriott outside Cairo for a week. I booked it because it's a golf resort. The hotel was wonderful; great service and food. An international crowd both in the hotel and on the golf course. The lobby bar is full of interesting charachters from all over the world at night. There were some great parties!
It is expensive.
It is a little out of the way and if golf isn't in your plans, you'd save money and some travel time elsewhere in Cairo. I would stay on the Nile on a return trip.
The hotel has several restaurants. I especially liked the Steak house and Italian, again, expensive.
On the grounds there is a waterpark with beach and stuff for the kids.
The hotel has a Bank of Egypt, bank office, in the lobby, for currency exchange, and there is both an ATM and a "Exchange" ATM in the lobby.
I booked a car and driver for a one day excursion around Cairo. I paid about 600 Egyptian, so not very much in Pounds or Dollars. The hotel arranged the car and everything worked out fine. Also, the hotel offers free trips a couple times a week to the pyramids, as well as free bus into Cairo a few times a day.
I used taxis from the hotel several times to go to specific places: Old Cairo, shopping mall, area around the Hard Rock. Prices were ok, 15 - 50 Egyptian
The wackiest days were grabbing taxis around Cairo. Drivers are insane, traffic is terrible, think NYC or L.A
Tipping is expected, everywhere, by everyone, have a bunch of small bills handy. Use the metered, yellow taxis if you can find one. But the private taxis are an adventure.

Golf was great, but buggies are expensive.
They require that you have a Caddie the first day, plan to pay $10-$20 US or equivalent in GBP. The Caddies hassel you almost without end to "work" for you any time you want to play. That got very annoying. During the week, the course is basically empty, so you can relax and enjoy the game. Bring golf balls or go to the mall and buy balls.
Had a great afternoon golf trip to Mena house Golf club (Oldest in Cairo) The 12th is in the shadows of the Pyramids.
Cairo attractions: The museum was fantastic, and almost too much to see in one day.
I loved Old Cairo, with the old Christian churches and Synagouge. The history is incredible. There are many little stands and shops nearby and everyone was very friendly. My first ever visit to a Mosque was in Cairo. Happy i went, i learned a lot.
The visit to the Pyramids & Sphinx was interesting, kind of a "Been There, Done That" day. Pay a few pounds, climb a few steps up, take pictures, then go to the village for lunch. Stands selling everything you can imagine. I had fun meeting the shop owners and people in the cafes around town.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMISPLACEDTEXAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

This is an awesome 5 star hotel. Great lobby, rooms, restaurants, golf course, pools, etc. Staff is best hotel staff I experienced in Egypt. Very professional.

Fortunately I was using points to stay here so didn't have to pay for the room. Thank god. Even then it was expensive.

It's very convenient to the airport but it's a nasty one hour commute from downtown in traffic.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddsfca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2009

I was staying for 3 nights in Cairo but the Marriott Cairo Omar Khayam was booked on my first night so I checked in to the JW near the airport.
On checking out I had a couple of glasses of orange juice while waiting to book a taxi (the location means one has to book through the hotel), 273 Egyptian pounds to go from the JW to the Marriott on Zamalek island! And they charged me 163 Egyptian pounds for a full breakfast for the juices. At least at the Marriott downtown one can pay for drinks separately. No question - stay downtown and avoid the JW.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martarchitex54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I was in a meeting in JW Marriott Cairo on Wednesday and Thursday (21-22 Oct 2009). The meeting lasted from 10:00 AM till 9:00 PM,
I parked my car in the hotel and when I finished the meeting, I found that my left side mirror was stolen.

The car was inside the hotel and they charge almost 1USD/Hr for parking (of course I refused to pay), though, They did not secure my car.

I meet someone in the security (Supervisor) and he said: I cannot protect your car if it is not parked in the basement parking. There has been a long argument about that.

I have parked my car in a place where dozens of cars were parked and there is no single (NOPARKING) sigh at all.

I have met also the Duty Manger, with the same response.
I really wonder what kind of hotel they run in Cairo. This has been a very unpleasant experience to me.

The hotel reply to was that they are not responsible for cars parked outside the parking.

I had raised a complain to the hotel with Number "006 107 377" But they did not do any thing at all.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
2  Thank MohamedEisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
12.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
12.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Citystars
12.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Cairo

Address: Ring Road- Mirage City | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#10 Business Hotel in Cairo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#14 Family Hotel in Cairo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £115 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a new standard of elegance at the award-winning JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. Set against the unique and magical backdrop of Cairo, Egypt, a vibrant city steeped in 7,000 years of history and culture, our luxury hotel provides a combination of relaxed sophistication and personalized service. 440 impeccably appointed hotel rooms and suites offer every luxury for your Heliopolis visit, from pillowtop mattresses and marble bathrooms to 24-hour room service and high-speed Internet. Our stunning suites feature impressive views of our golf course, or "The Beach." With 12 diverse dining options at your disposal, you can rest assured that your appetite will always be satisfied. Indulge in a luxury treatment at the 27,000-square foot Mandara Spa, or play a round at our Mirage City Golf Club. Plan your next event with us in Heliopolis; our hotel features gorgeous, flexible venue space and comprehensive planning services. For the getaway of a lifetime here in Egypt, choose the JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cairo
Marriott Hotel Cairo
Marriott Cairo
Cairo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing