We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Ranked #10 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and pleasant”
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I enjoyed staying here very much... the room was well-appointed, the bed was very comfortable, with lovely soft sheets; nice modern bathroom. Service was excellent. Italian restaurant was very good; breakfast also very good. Gym and pools were great. Spa is lovely. Great choice if you need to be in this part of Cairo. Probably the best choice for that area.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingGirl1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    291
    97
    35
    27
See reviews for
186
152
50
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2010

HOTEL - Ours was a 10 day long holiday. I was accompanying my husband on his business so used to hv the whole day to myself. I loved exploring the hotel every day and discovering each corner of the hotel. Its huge, well kept and clean.
OTHER THINGS IN THE HOTEL- they have lovely pool, kids pool, wave pool, indoor pool... too many options to explore when it comes to water activities !! Also, the free spa, steam sauna, Gym makes it a value for money spent for the stay. The hotel is huge and mesmerizing!
THE LOCATION - is a very close to the airport but far off from the main city and it takes almost an hour for the cab ordered to reach the hotel. So, plan accordingly. However, there is a free shuttle to the main city which is quite useful and handy. There are 2 Marriot properties in Cairo so you must specify the complete address to the cab driver.
RESTAURANTS - have an italian, chinese & Thai and other cuisines as well. Good restaurants with nice ambience. Expensive like any other 5 star restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinksp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
106 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I booked this hotel as it is close to the Cairo Airport due to an overnight connection and after flying all day, it seemed like a good idea to stay at a JW. I used points, which was probably a good thing as the value for money might be in question.

Getting There: The hotel is located very close to the airport – according to the web site, it is 7 km. As soon as you leave the airport property you can see the hotel sign. Beware -- seeing and getting to it are apparently two different things – or at least our experience was with two “U” turns and a much longer ride than one would expect.

Transportation options: You can book the hotel pickup - either complementary shuttle or the $45 USD limo pick up. I failed to notice that you needed to book the complementary shuttle in advance, and was thus a bit surprised that I couldn’t call the hotel when I landed and get a ride. I would NEVER recommend the USD $45 hotel limo pickup. We picked up a cab at the airport – being Cairo, quotes ranged from about 100 Egyptian Pounds to a low of about 40 EGP. Bargain hard, as there are plenty of cabs and not a meter in sight.

Having stayed at quite a few JW Marriott’s around the world, I found this one to be below what one would expect for JW standards. (See my reviews of the Cairo Grand Hyatt – or the JW Marriott in Shanghai as comparisons). The check in was fine (albeit a bit slow with a Trainee) and we were asked about 5 times if we wanted our bags carried to our room. We tried to “break” some bigger bills into smaller bills at the check in and we were told that they didn’t have anything smaller than a 100 EGP bill.

Room: the room was bigger than one might expect – and ours had a few minor issues. The bed was very hard (a bit too hard for comfort), our toilet leaked water and the door handle on the door fell off.

We ate at the Italian restaurant in the hotel and thought the food was quite good and just a bit overpriced. All in all, it was good service and good food – worth going to.

As mentioned in other reviews – this hotel is NOT near downtown and anyone who is going to Cairo to visit the tourist sites would be well advised to not stay here, but rather find a hotel in city center or closer to where the action is.

All in all, this is a airport hotel, not quite on top of the airport, and given my experiences – not worthy of the “JW” name.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Stayed at the Marriot near the airport (not to be confused with the one in downtown) and had quite a good time.

The hotel is very close to the international airport and a golf range. Sadly, I couldnt get to explore the latter due to business commitments, but he view from the restaurants seemed pretty nice.

The rooms were well furnished and comfortable - something you would expect from the JWM hotels. The WC/Bath were well done, and the hotel in general had a nice atmosphere to it, with lots of space to walk around and explore.

The food was really good, especially the Lebanese restaurant, which I ate in almost every night. Wonderfully spiced food in a very lively restaurant with live music, belly dancing et al

The only real drawback of the hotel is its distance from the city. This would mean getting a taxi was a pain in the &%&( unless you book it well in advance, and also high cab fares everytime you go to town.

Other than that, a big thumbs up to the hotel.

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Afty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2009

Short visit for a site meeting, the Marriott is excellent ( as expected ) with enough staff to meet all requirements. Nothing is too mich trouble and ther service was excellent

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hardybandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travellingwilbury66
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

This is everything you expect from a big 5* hotel. It's as impersonal as all other big 5* but the rooms are nice, the service is efficient and the garden,pool and patio area out back are lovely. Nice if you can afford it!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingwilbury66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roodepoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

This 5-star hotel has it all! A brilliant stay with many excellent restaurants to choose from for dinner. Breakfast is also a spread for a Pharaoh! The hotel is outside of Cairo, thus a distance from the city center, but this is the place to stay in bustling Cairo. There is a free shuttle to the Museum and City Stars Mall. Arranging a private limo taxi to the Pyramids and Sphinx in Giza is also recommended. You can also play a round of golf and there is a Pro Shop as well. Overall this a great stay and to me made Cairo the only worthwhile stay.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank WernerW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
12.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
12.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
12.8 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
12.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Cairo

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Cairo
Address: Ring Road- Mirage City | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#6 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#10 Business Hotel in Cairo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#14 Family Hotel in Cairo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 438
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to a new standard of elegance at the award-winning JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. Set against the unique and magical backdrop of Cairo, Egypt, a vibrant city steeped in 7,000 years of history and culture, our luxury hotel provides a combination of relaxed sophistication and personalized service. 440 impeccably appointed hotel rooms and suites offer every luxury for your Heliopolis visit, from pillowtop mattresses and marble bathrooms to 24-hour room service and high-speed Internet. Our stunning suites feature impressive views of our golf course, or "The Beach." With 12 diverse dining options at your disposal, you can rest assured that your appetite will always be satisfied. Indulge in a luxury treatment at the 27,000-square foot Mandara Spa, or play a round at our Mirage City Golf Club. Plan your next event with us in Heliopolis; our hotel features gorgeous, flexible venue space and comprehensive planning services. For the getaway of a lifetime here in Egypt, choose the JW Marriott Hotel Cairo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Cairo
Marriott Hotel Cairo
Marriott Cairo
Cairo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing