We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contrary to reviews”
Review of Ramses Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
Ranked #13 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Contrary to reviews”
Reviewed 17 January 2009

As part of our package tour, we were booked in the Hilton Ramses. Reading the reviews before our trip, I was concerned that this hotel may be a bit ratty and worn. Although the rooms were a little worn, the service and the restaurants were excellent. The staff at the hotel couldn't have been more gracious or accomodating. My wife had purchased artwork and made arrangements to have it stored until we returned from the other legs of our trip the next week. There was absolutely no problems and the staff person took her to the storage room where she selected the space where it could be stored without being damaged. The next week the artwork was retrieved without any issues. Overall, the staff was excellent and provided exceptional service. The restaurants, especially the Windows Restaurant and the Steak House were absolutely fantastic. The staff went out of its way to prepare special meals and were very attentive. Staying in a Hilton, I was expecting to pay an exorbitant price for dinners, but the costs were competitive with other restaurants in Egypt and definitely had more value than what I would have paid in a Hilton restaurant in the US.

  • Liked — It is in the middle of the city and sites are easily accessible by cab
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tjneirb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    700
    305
    108
    81
See reviews for
551
638
303
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

i booked this hotel through british airways holidays got a really bargain rate including tax and buffet breakfast. my reservation was for 15 nights but through no fault of the hotel i did a stupid thing - drank the tap water 3 days after i arrived got sick but with the help of the front desk got pills which helped however these pills were quite strong which game me side effects headaches,trouble breathing loss of appetite etc. i had to cut my trip and went home - only stayed 10 days but was mostly confined to my room.

the hotel itself was great - really nice people at the desk when you check in/out at the restaurants the cleaning people all couldn't be nicer. they gave me a beautiful room with a great view of cairo. my meals were excellent with buffet breakfast and dinner. unfortunately i had to get sick but i will go back to cairo egypt this year and take better care of myself. again the ramses hilton was an excellent hotel one of the best hotels i every stayed at.

  • Liked — the accommodations and the restaurant and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank instruction01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We booked this hotel through a Trafalgar tour. The hotel is large and has several restaurants, a pub, a lounge area, a bank, and a couple of small shops. The lobby was very nice and open. The concierge and desk attendants were very helpful and friendly. The staff was very attentive.

We ordered room service and were quoted a wait time of 25 minutes. I thought the service would take longer, but was surprised that the meal arrived in less than 20 minutes on a beautiful table. Dining facilities phoned a few moments later to inquire whether everything arrived as requested. The wait staff in the Maharaja restaurant (Indian restaurant within the hotel) were very attentive and polite; the food was also nicely prepared. The wait staff in the Sherlock Holmes Pub, just off the lobby, were also very courteous and prompt with service. The pub food was also delicious.

We were upgraded to a junior suite on the 9th floor, which had a queen size bed, balcony overlooking the Nile, and a sitting area. The room seemed nicely furnished and clean. The only downside was the constant traffic noise.

The busy streets prohibited much walking sight-seeing, but a multistory Hilton complex with a couple of restaurants and many stores was steps away from the entrance.

We did not use the pool facilities, since it was rather chilly, but it appeared clean and well kept. There were metal detectors at each entrance, and the hotel felt very safe overall.

  • Liked — friendly and courteous staff
  • Disliked — traffic noise
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kempland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2008

We stayed here twice through a Trafalgar tour. During the first stay, our bathroom was quite old, and there was rust in the bathtub and the water was not very hot. The second time we stayed there, the bathroom was fine, but the TV was ancient and did not work. The food there is overpriced and mediocre at best. One time I ordered chicken broth which was so salty it was inedible.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank atlanta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

We stayed at the Ramses Hilton for 3 nights. The room was decent and clean, as we expected from a Hilton. However, I was quite upset at the fact they ran out of hot water some nights!! My boyfriend always showered first (at most 15min) and by the time I start my shower, the water is lukewarm at best and starts to turn cool despite turning the hot water on the highest setting or turning off the water completely and re-starting it.

As other travelers mentioned, we were quite disappointed with the management of the hotel. We asked them about transportation to the Pyramids and they suggested a private taxi. When we rejected the private taxi proposal because it was too expensive, the staff's attitude turned considerably cooler. He was even reluctant to write down "Giza Pyramids" in Arabic for us. When we inquire about taxi rates, they never tell us the fair taxi rate, but tells us to pay double the rate even if we hail a taxi ourselves. Our first day in Cairo, they told us to pay at least 20 EGP for a taxi ride within downtown Cairo, when taxi drivers were happy to get 10 EGP. Whenever we ask them for information about sights or travel, they wanted us to book tours with them. When we refuse the tours, the staff's displeasure is quite apparent.

The hotel's location was also not the best as there are few restaurants within 20min walking distance. The streets in front of the hotel definitely require some skill to cross - it's very feasible to cross, but not for the faint of heart. We generally wait for a few locals to congregate and cross with them.

We would not stay at this hotel again as the location and value for money are not good.

  • Liked — Clean room
  • Disliked — Location, lack of enough hot water, incorrect information provided by staff
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittlerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Stayed at the Hilton Ramses as part of a tour group on the Friendly Planet Pyramids & Petra tour in November of 2008. We found the hotel to be "okay".

The positives were a comprehensive breakfast buffet, large lobby with multiple restaurants, banks & shops, decent rooms w/balconies and views of the Nile, tv w/ movie channels.

Negatives were a very loud and crowded lobby, a tough location with very little close to the hotel or within "safe" walking distance given the insane traffic and unobserved crosswalks.

Wasn't anything to write home about, nor was it abysmal, thus the 3 star rating.

  • Liked — Amenities at hotel
  • Disliked — Tough location to walk to anything safely
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilroy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Ramses Hilton for 4 nights in November 2008. The hotel itself is nice in terms of the common areas. The pool area was nice, as are all the restaurants (at least in terms of decor, we really only had 1 meal at the restaurants in the hotel, which was pretty good). We did not have breakfast in the hotel, as it was expensive. Also, having ready access to the bank with two banks and three ATMs from different companies was quite nice.

Our room was up on the 23rd floor with a view of both the Nile and the pool with a nice large balcony. The streets below are always busy, and even with the balcony door shut, you can still hear a bit of street noise all the time. The room was large (we were upgraded to a Junior suite for free from the King Alcove room we were supposed to have). The furnishings inside the room were a little bit dated, but no biggie. The washroom was clean and pretty large with a separate bidet. So while the room was somewhat expensive by Egypt standards, it was fine, and the bed was comfortable, so it was a nice room to come back to after an invariably hectic day in Cairo.

As far as location goes, the hotel is located right in the centre of the busiest part of the city. It is very close to the museum, and to Tahir square, and only a short cab ride to Khan el Khalili. However, to get anywhere from the hotel, you need to cross at least one very busy street with no cross walk. As I will explain later, the hotel tries to take advantage of this fact by essentially trying to create a "resort" within the city. Now back to crossing the street. A lot of reviews have suggested that you should NOT cross the street on your own. Its takes a little getting used to, but really, it's quite doable especially if you cross when the locals cross. We found a spot near the south side of the hotel where you only need to cross 2 lanes of busy traffic to get to the bus station, from where you can go through an underground tunnel to get to the museum and many other places.

Our biggest issue was with the way the hotel is run. Don't get me wrong, the staff was very friendly, but they seem programmed to only help you in so far as getting you to use hotel services (and they pretty much offer ever service you would need, at a pretty significant premium, of course). We asked where we could find a nice restaurant to eat in, and we were pointed to the restaurants within the hotel only. We asked him "where would YOU eat" trying to find out a good restaurant where the locals would eat, and he said "if I had the money, I would eat at the restaurant here" We asked how much a cab ride to the pyramids should cost, and were told that we should instead book the tour through the hotel so as to avoid hassle. Even with going to the museum, which is just across the street (albeit a very hectic street), we were advised to take a tour. Anything we would ask for help with, we were pointed towards a "solution" that would benefit the hotel. Now this is very much what I expected outside the hotel, as pretty much every local in the city is trying to fleece you for money in one way or another (no one is actually trying to help you just for the sake of it), I was hoping to get some honest and useful help from the concierge.

All in all, a decent hotel that is well located, but you just have to put up with some of the same kind of annoyances you deal with outside the hotel, in the hotel itself, except they are much "nicer" about it.

  • Liked — The location and the view
  • Disliked — The fact that I couldn't get away from the feeling that I was trying to be ripped off at every turn
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cdn_traveller69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Property: Ramses Hilton
Address: 1115 Cornish El Nile, Cairo 12344 , Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cairo
#9 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#9 Business Hotel in Cairo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 771
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing