We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible location - constant traffic noise”
Review of Ramses Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
Ranked #15 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour. Got upgraded to a suite on 19th floor without asking but a suite is just a larger room. Glass doors to balcony are all single glazed so traffic noise 24/7. Room was very tatty and in dire need of redecoration. Food was OK at buffet restaurant.
The biggest problem is the location. The hotel is totally surrounded by wide, fast moving, very busy roads with no way to get across except just to wait for a gap, close you eyes and run like hell. There are no road markings, pedestrian bridges and almost no traffic lights. We had to be rescued by a policeman once as we were stranded on the central reservation for over 15 minutes.
WiFi is very expensive. Suggest you stay near the pyramids and take an organised tour into the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _suewells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,636 - 1,642 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

After reading a lot of recent negative reviews, we were a bit nervous going to the Ramses Hilton. However we found the hotel to be perfectly adequate. It could use a bit of updating, but everything was clean and working well. We were on an executive floor, and our room was surprisingly spacious with great views of the Nile and the pyramids. We only went to two restaurants, but found both of them to be clean and delicious. Everyone on the staff were very helpful and accommodated any needs we had. The location was excellent, and we were able to walk across the street to the museum. All in all, a great hotel in Cairo!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fsskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelLansen, Director of Operations at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2010

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Ramses Hilton and for taking the time to write your comments.
We are happy to notice your great comments about our hotel and our team members.
As for your comment on the hotel’s need for renovation, please note that the hotel will soon go through a hotel renovation in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
In the meantime, if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us on ramses@hilton.com
With Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Stayed at this Hilton as part of the Trafalgar Best of Egypt Tour. My experience was less than pleasant. Prices with in Egypt vary on a daily basis, but I was not expecting this same practice with the Hilton. For example, the price for the internet varied greatly from day to day as well as person to person. I know Egyptians like to haggle, but for standard services, this gets quite old. Especially when you find others, particularly men, pay less for the same service.

I traveled with a friend who had $60 and 25 Euro stolen from her suitcase. Granted, she did not lock the money in her suitcase as recommended. However, when reported to the duty manager my friend was made to feel she may have already spent the money elsewhere or simply misplaced it.

Finally, on our last night we were looking forward to some nice Egyptian food as the Trafalgar Tour did not offer this. We checked out the Falafal resaurant in the Hilton. Upon sitting down we were offered some Egyptian bread and hummous which looked nice initially. However, after moments we realized there were cockroaches crawling in and out of the bread! Needless to say we left, but were frowned upon for doing so.

Our rooms were fairly clean, no real complaints there.

The Hilton has a "mall" accross the street. Lots of shoes and purses for the locals. Some stores also for souviners. Haggeling is a must in Egypt as you may know. However, one store in the corner on level 6 (1 level below McDonalds), offered a less than desirable experience. My friend and I were trying to pick out some t-shirts for gifts. The man was quite pushy, but eventually after about 10 minutes we found what we wanted. We told him we'd go to the cash machine to get some money as he did not take credit cards, he immediately began yelling at us, telling us we wasted his time and made a mess of his store. He kicked us out and told us to never come back!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deflep22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelLansen, Director of Operations at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

We have noted all your comments in regards to your recent stay with us which made your stay uncomfortable. Please accept our sincere apology for the discomfort that this might have caused you. It is one of our top priorities to meet every guest's needs and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not succeed to meet your expectations.

However, I would like to ask you to send us your email address and your contact details, so that we can investigate your comments accordingly. Please do not hesitate to send us your details on: ramses@hilton.com

In regards to your experience at the shopping mall across the street, even though every shop has his own tenant and they are not Hilton employees, I would like to follow up with the owner of the shop accordingly in regards to your comments.

I look forward to hearing from you soon so we can tackle the issues as mentioned in your Trip Advisor posting.

Thank you
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Some reviews had warned of the 'dated decor' and delayed check in.Neither was an issue.
The lobby is crowded and a bit noisy but check in was a cinch with a very friendly and efficient front desk which had adequate staff.
The rooms were large, modern and looked recently renovated.The bathroom was clean with good toiletries.The view from the balcony onto the Nile and Cairo skyline was super.
The room service was excellent, though we wish there had been a tea maker in our room.
Two bottles of drinking water are complimentary on check in, after that you have to pay.
The breakfast was sumptuous with a very varied choice.At times there can be quite a rush and you may have to wait in line for a table.
There is a small mall across the hotel where you can dine and also do most of your shopping.
All of us enjoyed the stay in the hotel,it was central, close to the River and the Musuem.The rate of USD 155 was very reasonable and value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Director of Operations at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2010

Thank you for staying at the Ramses Hilton and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

However, I would like to inform you that coffee making is available in the room upon guest request through the Room Service where they can provide you with the kettle and tea and coffee amenities.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time during your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton soon.
Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

An incredible location in the very heart of Cairo, along the Nile, and 5 minutes walk from the Egyptian Museum, where-else would one want to be if one has to come to Cairo?
The thirty-plus-something tower of the hotel is `imposing`, yet ugly, but at least ´blends ` the dust level of the city and the sand all over with its brown color.... To be fair, once inside, one doesn`t see it and the views from inside are actually as great as the location lets you expect - no matter in which direction the view is (museum-view, nile-view, ot to the north with its labyrinth of small streets and alleys, all so fascinating that one could simply sit and keep watching for hours).
Ask for a room on a floor as high as possible, and if you get Nile view you may (may!) even see the Pyramids in th far distance if there is enough wind in town. The hotel has a 24 hr bank open (!) which serves primarily the Casino business, and the lobby-impression maybe a bit `wild`, but it gets decent beyond the public areas. The rooms are spacious and the sleep is great even though the incredible noise level of Cairo 25 hrs a day. The only `disappointment` of the hotel (which has very attentive staff from the reception to te lounge) is the too-small pool (no greenery around it) and a not too well maintained gym. The gym is apperently operated by an external company. However, they were just renovating it and it looks `promising`.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We are experienced travellers in their mid sixties. The Ramses Hilton was an excellent choice for our visit to Cairo and for Cairo standards, worth every cent. We booked months in advance through the Internet and paid USD240, but the going rate ‘at the door’ was USD350. So do your ‘homework’ before booking. Security is tight, a clean environment, with comfortable rooms, the food is controlled and safe, abundant hot water and great aircon and service; a true 5 star. We could not fault it. The included buffet breakfast is excellent, with wide choices: tea, coffee, juices, fruits, cereals, cakes, pastries, bread, sausages, eggs, bacon, etc, etc . It is only 5 min walk from the Egyptian Museum, but don’t even think in walking across streets in Cairo. It is just too dangerous and risky for anyone accustomed to the orderly western streets; just take a taxi. It is only about 1 dollar. But make sure you call a ‘white’ taxi, the ones with the ‘taxi’ sign on the roof, as these have meters and most understand English. Some turn the meter off for foreigners that are a target for rip-offs, so insist on the meter or walk out (many taxis in Cairo are unregistered, do not carry meters and speak Egyptian only; they are generally ‘black’ or other colours and can overcharge foreigners many times the amount ‘going around in circles’. Ignore anyone directing you to them, including the hotel doormen).
There is a very good quality souvenir shop on the lobby floor, with convenient prices. Also a Bank, to exchange all currencies (AUD, USD, CAD, EURO, GBP) at good rates; no need to look further. There is also a small rundown shopping mall across the back street, associated with the Hotel, but not worth the trouble, unless you have spare time.
The buffet restaurant is good for lunch or dinner, but somewhat pricey. A dinner for three, with wine and drinks was about AUD 120. There is a nice restaurant near past the Museum, the ‘Felfela’ (again take a taxi). Food is Egyptian, well prepared and safe. Prices average about AUD 20 per person.
There is a public ferry service on the Nile, that departs from almost opposite the Ramses, and only costs 1 Egyptian Pound (about 20 cents AUD). It goes to the Giza mooring in about 30 minutes of river trip; no English here. Great for photos. There are also other boats, but ignore the directions of the ‘locals’. Strangely enough, we found a nice and safe patisserie next to the Giza mooring with delicious French pastries, and cheap.
Only use bottled water in Cairo. The bottles are cheaper on the small street shops (1 AUD), near the shopping mall opposite the Hotel, at about a third of the cost. Get 1 or 2 large ones and keep them in the room, for teeth and drinking, or hand-washing before meals. We had sanitizers and generally took care; and we didn’t get sick. Apart from the constant ‘baksheeshing’.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussie00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Stayed for two nights as a family with two teenage sons. We were booked on points and were upgraded to King Exec Nile rooms on 25th floor overlooking Nile. Rooms a bit tired, especially the bathrooms which need upgrading but tremendous views. Even so, comfortable.

Location is good: next to Nile and next to Egypt museum.

What made our stay though was the Windows on the World restaurant (36th floor) which we had our Hilton Executive club breakfast at each morning. The food was not so special, but the view was breathtaking (take a look at their website). Also the manager there (Adel) gave tremendous service.

Overall, the hotel was not a top of the range Hilton, but Windows on the World made it memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hampshire444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelLansen, Director of Operations at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2010

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Ramses Hilton and thank you very much for your comment.

Concerning the hotel's need for renovation, I would like to inform you that the hotel will soon go through a hotel renovation to satisfy all our guests' needs.

I would like to thank you for your nice comments for our Restaurant Manager of ‘Windows on the World’ Restaurant and I promise to convey your nice words to him.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time during your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton
Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,652 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Address: Corniche El Nile 1115, Cairo 12344, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cairo
#9 Business Hotel in Cairo
#10 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £75 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 771
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing