We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ramses Hilton
Nearby Hotels
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo(Cairo)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Meridien Cairo Airport(Cairo)
US$171
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,769)
Filter reviews
2,769 results
Traveller rating
1,366
796
365
127
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,366
796
365
127
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace cafeegyptian museumsherlock holmes pubnile viewthe executive loungeindian restaurantspecial thankssecond homecairo towertahrir squareduty managerfront officebreakfast buffetvisit cairohotel staffenjoyed my stayfatma
Filter
Updating list...
1,770 - 1,775 of 2,769 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a tour. Got upgraded to a suite on 19th floor without asking but a suite is just a larger room. Glass doors to balcony are all single glazed so traffic noise 24/7. Room was very tatty and in dire need of redecoration. Food was OK at buffet restaurant.
The biggest problem is the location. The hotel is totally surrounded by wide, fast moving, very busy roads with no way to get across except just to wait for a gap, close you eyes and run like hell. There are no road markings, pedestrian bridges and almost no traffic lights. We had to be rescued by a policeman once as we were stranded on the central reservation for over 15 minutes.
WiFi is very expensive. Suggest you stay near the pyramids and take an organised tour into the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _suewells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

After reading a lot of recent negative reviews, we were a bit nervous going to the Ramses Hilton. However we found the hotel to be perfectly adequate. It could use a bit of updating, but everything was clean and working well. We were on an executive floor, and our room was surprisingly spacious with great views of the Nile and the pyramids. We only went to two restaurants, but found both of them to be clean and delicious. Everyone on the staff were very helpful and accommodated any needs we had. The location was excellent, and we were able to walk across the street to the museum. All in all, a great hotel in Cairo!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fsskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelLansen, Director of Operations at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2010

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Ramses Hilton and for taking the time to write your comments.
We are happy to notice your great comments about our hotel and our team members.
As for your comment on the hotel’s need for renovation, please note that the hotel will soon go through a hotel renovation in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton and any of our Hilton Family of Hotels worldwide in the near future.
In the meantime, if we can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us on ramses@hilton.com
With Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Stayed at this Hilton as part of the Trafalgar Best of Egypt Tour. My experience was less than pleasant. Prices with in Egypt vary on a daily basis, but I was not expecting this same practice with the Hilton. For example, the price for the internet varied greatly from day to day as well as person to person. I know Egyptians like to haggle, but for standard services, this gets quite old. Especially when you find others, particularly men, pay less for the same service.

I traveled with a friend who had $60 and 25 Euro stolen from her suitcase. Granted, she did not lock the money in her suitcase as recommended. However, when reported to the duty manager my friend was made to feel she may have already spent the money elsewhere or simply misplaced it.

Finally, on our last night we were looking forward to some nice Egyptian food as the Trafalgar Tour did not offer this. We checked out the Falafal resaurant in the Hilton. Upon sitting down we were offered some Egyptian bread and hummous which looked nice initially. However, after moments we realized there were cockroaches crawling in and out of the bread! Needless to say we left, but were frowned upon for doing so.

Our rooms were fairly clean, no real complaints there.

The Hilton has a "mall" accross the street. Lots of shoes and purses for the locals. Some stores also for souviners. Haggeling is a must in Egypt as you may know. However, one store in the corner on level 6 (1 level below McDonalds), offered a less than desirable experience. My friend and I were trying to pick out some t-shirts for gifts. The man was quite pushy, but eventually after about 10 minutes we found what we wanted. We told him we'd go to the cash machine to get some money as he did not take credit cards, he immediately began yelling at us, telling us we wasted his time and made a mess of his store. He kicked us out and told us to never come back!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deflep22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelLansen, Director of Operations at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

We have noted all your comments in regards to your recent stay with us which made your stay uncomfortable. Please accept our sincere apology for the discomfort that this might have caused you. It is one of our top priorities to meet every guest's needs and I am sorry that on this occasion we did not succeed to meet your expectations.

However, I would like to ask you to send us your email address and your contact details, so that we can investigate your comments accordingly. Please do not hesitate to send us your details on: ramses@hilton.com

In regards to your experience at the shopping mall across the street, even though every shop has his own tenant and they are not Hilton employees, I would like to follow up with the owner of the shop accordingly in regards to your comments.

I look forward to hearing from you soon so we can tackle the issues as mentioned in your Trip Advisor posting.

Thank you
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Some reviews had warned of the 'dated decor' and delayed check in.Neither was an issue.
The lobby is crowded and a bit noisy but check in was a cinch with a very friendly and efficient front desk which had adequate staff.
The rooms were large, modern and looked recently renovated.The bathroom was clean with good toiletries.The view from the balcony onto the Nile and Cairo skyline was super.
The room service was excellent, though we wish there had been a tea maker in our room.
Two bottles of drinking water are complimentary on check in, after that you have to pay.
The breakfast was sumptuous with a very varied choice.At times there can be quite a rush and you may have to wait in line for a table.
There is a small mall across the hotel where you can dine and also do most of your shopping.
All of us enjoyed the stay in the hotel,it was central, close to the River and the Musuem.The rate of USD 155 was very reasonable and value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fastprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Director of Operations at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2010

Thank you for staying at the Ramses Hilton and I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

However, I would like to inform you that coffee making is available in the room upon guest request through the Room Service where they can provide you with the kettle and tea and coffee amenities.

We are happy that you enjoyed your time during your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Ramses Hilton soon.
Thank you
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

An incredible location in the very heart of Cairo, along the Nile, and 5 minutes walk from the Egyptian Museum, where-else would one want to be if one has to come to Cairo?
The thirty-plus-something tower of the hotel is `imposing`, yet ugly, but at least ´blends ` the dust level of the city and the sand all over with its brown color.... To be fair, once inside, one doesn`t see it and the views from inside are actually as great as the location lets you expect - no matter in which direction the view is (museum-view, nile-view, ot to the north with its labyrinth of small streets and alleys, all so fascinating that one could simply sit and keep watching for hours).
Ask for a room on a floor as high as possible, and if you get Nile view you may (may!) even see the Pyramids in th far distance if there is enough wind in town. The hotel has a 24 hr bank open (!) which serves primarily the Casino business, and the lobby-impression maybe a bit `wild`, but it gets decent beyond the public areas. The rooms are spacious and the sleep is great even though the incredible noise level of Cairo 25 hrs a day. The only `disappointment` of the hotel (which has very attentive staff from the reception to te lounge) is the too-small pool (no greenery around it) and a not too well maintained gym. The gym is apperently operated by an external company. However, they were just renovating it and it looks `promising`.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews