We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to Egyptian Museum”
Review of Ramses Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramses Hilton
Ranked #16 of 144 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed at his hotel last December, as part of a tour. The hotel was very close to the Egyptian Museum, about a 10 minutes walk. The problem was to cross the roads to the museum, there are no traffic lights and you have to run for your life. This is not the hotel's fault, you are going to have this issue anywhere in Cairo.

The hotel was clean and nice, very standard. Our room was big and roomy, comfortable, with a diminutive balcony. Regular standard amenities, nothing to stand out for good or bad. Cable TV with a bunch of international channels in different languages, comfortable bed, network card interface cable for internet (no wireless, wireless was available in the lobby and it was pretty expensive. If you bought 1 hour, you had to use the hour within 24 hours or it would expire)...

There are several restaurants inside the hotel if you don't want to go out at night (Falafel -egyptian-, a British pub, an Indian restaurant, a buffet type restaurant...). Breakfast was served inside the buffet place and it was adequate and variate. There are sandwiches and simple fare in the mall across the street (and one of the best Umm Ali I had in Cairo! ). We never felt threatened walking around the hotel at night.

There were a few small shops inside the hotel and an ATM machine and bank to change money. There is a small mall across the street for more shopping. The hotel was pretty popular with tourists and there were always huge groups downstairs, it was pretty crowded. There was also a casino downstairs and a restaurant upstairs, as well as a pool and spa, but we did not get to see them, the restaurant was booked for a Christmas party

Like many hotels in Cairo, there is a metal detector and a bag scan at the door with security guards, you need to run the bags every time you enter the hotel.

Service was good in general, slow sometimes, but friendly, nothing to really complain about it.

In short, I would say it was a standard, adequate hotel; nothing to make us jump up and down, but nothing to reject it either. Impersonal and I would give 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Labeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to inform you that the hotel will soon go through a renovation process to satisfy all our guests’ needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,690 - 1,696 of 2,661 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2011

The Hilton Ramses is a full service western style hotel. It has several restaurants, a (small) casino, an outdoor pool, a spa and a western style workout center. There is a bank on the first floor and half a dozen ATM machines.. If you can qualify or pay for the concierge level, I would certainly consider doing so. The included breakfast is great, in a restaurant at the top of the hotel. The concierge lounge is well stocked with heavy appetizers and great service. The room is clean and quiet with a flat screen TV, nice toiletries, etc.
It is impossible to describe how chaotic this hotel is. The drive up lanes are blocked by security and vehicles have to be inspected before they can approach. Once you go into the hotel, you pass through a metal detector. The lobby is busy at all times. We were picked up at 4 am for a flight and it was hopping with well dressed business men and tourists alike. The roadways are crazy. It is across about five lanes of traffic to the bank of the Nile. But as there is no pedestrian crossing, you will have to run. Likewise the Egyptian museum is several blocks away. It would be an easy walk, but for the traffic/lack of pedestrian crossings. This is not a criticism, just beware that you may not be able to walk this city as easily as you might think looking at a map. We had some great experiences walking around, and I recommend it, but just be forewarned that you cannot anticipate how chaotic the traffic is.

We had a "Nile side" room. I wouldn't pay for that. It was nice, but the balcony is small and we didn't spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rafearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the traffic issue that caused you some dissatisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Spent one night there during a super packed trip to Egypt. Reached the hotel after a 6 hr flight and another 5-6 hr excursion to the Pyramids. Was ready to crash once I reach the room. But my friend pulled the window blinds and I realised that the room has an amazing view of Nile, Cairo Tower & Downtown Cairo. All rooms have a balcony attached to it. It was amazing to sit there and chat and see the lights on Cairo Tower change around midnight. The rooms were large and comfortable though the hot water in the shower wasnt as hot as I like it. The breakfast spread was awesome. Wish we had the time to explore the other facilities in the hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enthuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2011

We are pleased to know thatyou enjoyed your stay with us and you had a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back again to the hotel.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

We were on the 18th floor with a balcony overlooking the Nile, gorgeous! The staff were very friendly, the concierge very helpful with everything from camel rides to stamps. The evening dance/comedy/musical entertainment in Falafel restaurant was excellent. The rooftop restaurant, Windows on the World, has a breathtaking view. We were celebrating our 10th anniversary and room service decorated our room with rose petals and brought us wine and cheese. Best to avoid the Sherlock Holmes pub...it was cold, annoyingly quiet and only had westerners in there. Much better to enjoy a sheesha, Egyptian tablemates and Egyptian entertainment in the Garden Court Cafe.
Our room was nice and large, and the sounds of traffic (honking!) was muted that far up. The only thing that didn't work well was the hair dryer, and it was hard to explain that in my miniscule E. Arabic, so I didn't pursue getting a replacement. There was a lot of storage and a room safe which was large enough for cameras, passports, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dani_BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and celebrated your anniversary at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ramses Hilton soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We just got back from our trip to Egypt. We spent 3 days at the Ramses Hilton in Cairo. The staff was great, food was good. As I am a gold member we checked in on the 26th floor for priority check-in. Also as a Gold member we had access to the lounge that had snacks and drinks all day and a happy hour in the evening with free cocktails. The breakfast on the top floor was also very well done. Beds were comfortable and we were on the 25th floor so the traffic noise was minimal. You can walk to the Egyptian Museum but beware that just before you get to the entrance you will be approached by someone telling you that they work for the museum and that it is closed for the next hour. Note in Egypt that you should not believe anything told to you.
Couple of things to watch for as well. When you take a taxi to the Pyramids the driver will stop and tell you that you need to take a carriage or camel from that point forward. They will spew nonsense about it being 12 kilometers to get to the pyramids from there and only tour buses are allowed to drive on the site. Insist that your driver drive you to the ticket booth. If they continue to fuss get out of the taxi and walk the last 200 meters to the ticket entrance - it is straight ahead. They are trying to get you to pay 100 Egyptian pounds to be brought 200 M by camel. Once on the site if you want the camel ride for 50 EGP then do it but make sure you tell your guy pulling the camel if he wants any tip not to bother you until the end of the ride. Otherwise he will beg continuously.
Three days in Cairo is plenty. We spend the remaining time in Luxor and then took a desert safari into the white desert. Luxor was great and flights with Egyptair are easy to book online. Once in Luxor it is easy to get around yourself. The only irritant is the constant hasseling from the locals offering to provide rides, guidance, etc. The temple, museum and Karnak are simple to do on your own and a taxi or carriage ride should only cost 5-10 EGP for a ride to any of these. Make sure you agree on price up front or they will ask ridiculous amounts afterwards. The west bank is easy as it costs 1EGP to take the boat in front of the Winter Palace hotel and then negotiate a taxi on the other side. Best thing to do there is make a deal for dropping off and picking up. The idea is to call the drivers cell 10 minutes before you want to get picked up. They don't answer so there is no charges, but they see your number. You should be able to get a driver to drop off and pick you up all day for 200EGP or less. The White desert safari from Cairo was fun and we did this with minimar don't expect it to be as good as described as the sleeping bags, and tents are pretty ratty but it's pretty cheap and still pretty well done.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peterstef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ramses Hilton and for your nice comments about the hotel.
Meanwhile, we are sorry for the incidents that took place at the pyramids.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Ramses Hilton soon.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Absolutely loved this Hilton. As a Hilton Diamond member they treated me like a queen! The service was absolutely impeccable from the Executive level check in to the bellmen, porters, Executive Lounge and Restaurant employees. The rooms were just outstanding and we had a lovely welcome gift upon arrival. I cannot say enough about what a wonderful experience I had at this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetoflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamsesHilton, Hilton Management at Ramses Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2011

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for your nice comments about our Team Members.
We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Ramses Hilton.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Don't go by the Hilton name. You will be disappointed. This hotel is very differenet from usual Hilton. Very crowded, and specially when there is a wedding going on, it becomes a fish market. Reception Staff is not helpful and rude. and rooms are very old. Bathroom has very old fittings and even after a request to get the shower repaired, nothing was done. Restaurents are over priced. Overall, a bad experience for the money you pay.....

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill_Bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.8 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.1 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 144 in Cairo
1,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.3 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Cairo Semiramis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramses Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramses Hilton

Address: Corniche El Nile 1115, Cairo 12344, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cairo
#9 Business Hotel in Cairo
#10 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#13 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £70 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramses Hilton 5*
Number of rooms: 771
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ramses Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramses Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Cairo
Hilton Hotel Ramses
Hilton Cairo
Cairo Hilton
Ramses Hilton Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing