We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$95
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ramses Hilton(Cairo)
US$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$204
US$175
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$170
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Grand Royal(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Windsor Hotel Cairo(Cairo)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$15
US$14
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
251
214
59
17
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
214
59
17
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclose to the airportpool viewsushi baritalian restaurantroom facingshuttle busexecutive flooran early flightroom servicerooms are bigrooms are cleanbusiness tripshort staycity viewegyptian museumfestarosso
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2009

If you're looking for a lovely hotel with good service near the airport, The Concorde El Salam is a good choice. We stayed for our last day in Cairo at this hotel, and we had a lovely experience. The rooms are spacious, and the service was the best we had in Cairo. We stayed in an executive room which included free alcoholic drinks in the executive lounge from 7-9 at night. We took good advantage of this service.

The stage near the pool at night had a small Spanish band, and then a Hawaii show. Watching them was a nice compliment to the dinner and coffee we had outside. We didn't try the pool, but it looked clean and pretty nice. After dinner, as we were retiring to our room, we saw an Egyptian wedding party begin. It was nice, and it wasn't noisy at all compared to the other experiences we've read here.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent. The buffet included a large selection of Egyptian and Continental food, fruits, pastries, cheeses, and breads. It was our best breakfast in Cairo.

The location is far away from downtown (about 40 minutes from the Egyptian Museum), and very far away from the pyramids. If you're only planning to stay for a day or two in Cairo, or you would like a nice hotel for your last night in Cairo (such as we did), then I would recommend this hotel. Otherwise, I think the long drive everyday through busy Cairo traffic would be a little too much of a hassle to take everyday.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The hotel rates were excellent and food in the restaurants was good. The room and bathroom were clean and I did not experience the noice from the outside as some of the other reviewers did. Our family does not use hotel facilities such as pool and gym, but by the looks of it they were adequate and well maintained. The location is quite a distance from the pyramids etc but the cost of the tour was not affected. We did spend a lot of time in traffic, but that was bearable. We used Salah Mohammed of First24hours.com for our tours and he was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it, the pool area was beautiful and the staff were more than helpful. The restaurants were fantastic albeit a little pricey. The rooms were great and well maintained. We used their registered taxi drivers who were fantastic and offered a great insight into the locals and their culture. Our driver Hesham was hilarious and was a fantastic host, taking us to lunch and secret places that tourists would usually overlook. He went above and beyond and looked after us very well. Altho the hotel is about a 20 min drive from the city centre, the surrounds are nice and quiet and you are situated in a gated complex. They offer free shuttles to and from the airport and museum.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We booked this hotel specifically because it had a pool but when we arrived the pool was closed for annual maintenance.

Another thing that really annoyed us was that in the main reception area there is a sign with arrows pointing where the different restaurants, business centre and fitness suite are. However, the arrows point in the opposite direction to which they should. When we pointed it out to the staff, they said that the sign had been moved over 6 months ago but no-one thought it was their job to move it back.

Expedia were doing a special deal for Executive Suites which we took up. However, I wouldn't call the room we were given a "suite". It was just an ordinary bedroom with en-suite bathroom. The rooms were comfortable although it would have been nice to have two chairs to sit on instead of only one.

There was a lounge on the floor below us where we had breakfast. The choice was OK but the quality wasn't brilliant. Also in this room, soft drinks were available, free, all day and high tea (sandwiches and little cakes) between 3pm and 5pm (also free). However, the atmosphere in the room wasn't condusive to sitting and having a relaxing drink.

We did have one evening meal in the hotel, in the restaurant called The Silk Road. The meal was very nice if a bit expensive.

The business centre sells 1/2 hour and 1 hour cards for internet access. These are very expensive and you can only use them once so it's a real swizz.

The hotel is very near the airport so it's convenient for that but the opposite side of Cairo from the pyramids. You don't hear noise from the airport but the rooms are inadequately soundproofed so you can hear people talking in the next room and walking up and down the corridors. Not what I expect from this grade of hotel.

All in all, we were disappointed in this hotel. We'd booked this with the intention of relaxing for a few days after a hetic holiday seeing the sights.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crazy_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

This is a lovely hotel and my wife and I had a great five day anniversary break based here. It’s just ten minutes from the airport and not too expensive to get around Cairo.

There’s a free shuttle bus provided by the hotel to get you to and from the airport which also goes to the Egyptian Museum (one way only) a couple of times day.

There are several themed restaurants within the hotel complex. We went to the Italian and the Indian and were very pleased with the choice of menu and the quality of the food.

The hotels big secret is it’s Executive Rooms on the second floor. If you book one of these rooms, as we did, there are lots of extras. First of all there’s the Executive Lounge on the second floor where free full breakfast is served between 6.30 & 10.30am. You have free use of this lounge throughout the day with free non-alcoholic drinks served; free snacks mid afternoon and a ‘happy hour’ early evening with alcoholic drinks and canapés. Then there’s the wired broadband internet access in your room. At $10 a day it’s much cheaper than the wireless access charge throughout the rest of the hotel. You also have your own reception desk.

I emailed the hotel beforehand to book the free airport transfer. We were delighted to be met by their representative ‘air-side’ straight from the plane and accompanied through immigration, baggage and customs.

We would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Live1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews