We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We were greeted by a hotel representative at the airport. You need to advise the reservations team of your arrival date and time. The hotel runs an airport shuttle service that departs every hour on the hour. The shuttle also goes to the Egyptian museum 3 times a day.
The hotel staff were absolutely amazing, very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious and clean. We stayed for 4 nights in an Executive room and took advantage of a sumptous breakfast buffet every morning. They serve tea and snacks from 3-5pm everyday and between 7-9pm all alcohol at the lounge is free together with the finger food. They provide you with free bottled water and non alcoholic drinks throughout the day.
It is true that the hotel is far away from the main attractions, but we went on tours and maximised our days so that we did not have to go to the city everyday. After spending a day in the bustling madness of Cairo markets and traffic, it was a relief to head back to the tranquility of the hotel. The rest of our stay was spent by the poolside.
The hotel has many amenities like the fitness centre, swimming pool, casino, cinema, horse riding etc. There is live entertainment every night, we watched some Hawaiian dancers and even witnessed a traditional Egyptian wedding reception!
It was a shame that the pool closed at sunset (around 8pm) as there are no lifeguards on duty hence a late night swim is not possible.
Overall, I thought this was a fantastic hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
There is a little gem I thought was worth mentioning...across the street from the main entrance to the hotel is a cafe called Beano's. They serve amazing cakes, coffees, shakes, fruit drinks and light meals at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reshika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    189
    55
    16
    30
See reviews for
106
106
49
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2009

We stayed in the hotel Concorde El Salam in Egypt. We stayed all inclusive. The service was excellent, the food was varied and nice, the room was lovely. The facilities the hotel had were excellent, sometimes we stayed by the pool and sometimes we stayed on the sun loungers that over looked the sea.
Just outside our hotel, a 5 minute walk away was a lovely shopping centre called Soho that also had evening entertainment.
The only bad thing about the holiday was the flight (first choice & Thomaon) the seats had very limited space...
All week we never saw a cloud in the sky....
One of the best holidays by far.
Sarah - Aylesbury, UK

Helpful?
Thank Sazzle65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cacapava, SP
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed in Concorde El Salam in April. Stayed for 5 days in the Executive Suite to take advantage of the free drinks from 7pm till 9pm. It is great to have drinks, however the executive lounge has no atmosphere, sometimes not even music. But is well worth the free drinks as every glass of wine is around 10 egyptians. The food in all restaurants are simply delicious. Bedroom is not state of art, but air conditiner works beautifully and the housekeeping does a good job with the cleaning! The hotel is beautiful and the views from the balcony even better if you get one facing the pool. Forget about the noise stuff.. there is no such thing! Just enjoy and RELAX! Be aware.. far from the city centre, even through worth it!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariana_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2009

If you're looking for a lovely hotel with good service near the airport, The Concorde El Salam is a good choice. We stayed for our last day in Cairo at this hotel, and we had a lovely experience. The rooms are spacious, and the service was the best we had in Cairo. We stayed in an executive room which included free alcoholic drinks in the executive lounge from 7-9 at night. We took good advantage of this service.

The stage near the pool at night had a small Spanish band, and then a Hawaii show. Watching them was a nice compliment to the dinner and coffee we had outside. We didn't try the pool, but it looked clean and pretty nice. After dinner, as we were retiring to our room, we saw an Egyptian wedding party begin. It was nice, and it wasn't noisy at all compared to the other experiences we've read here.

The breakfast in the morning was excellent. The buffet included a large selection of Egyptian and Continental food, fruits, pastries, cheeses, and breads. It was our best breakfast in Cairo.

The location is far away from downtown (about 40 minutes from the Egyptian Museum), and very far away from the pyramids. If you're only planning to stay for a day or two in Cairo, or you would like a nice hotel for your last night in Cairo (such as we did), then I would recommend this hotel. Otherwise, I think the long drive everyday through busy Cairo traffic would be a little too much of a hassle to take everyday.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2009

The hotel rates were excellent and food in the restaurants was good. The room and bathroom were clean and I did not experience the noice from the outside as some of the other reviewers did. Our family does not use hotel facilities such as pool and gym, but by the looks of it they were adequate and well maintained. The location is quite a distance from the pyramids etc but the cost of the tour was not affected. We did spend a lot of time in traffic, but that was bearable. We used Salah Mohammed of First24hours.com for our tours and he was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2009

We stayed for 5 nights and loved it, the pool area was beautiful and the staff were more than helpful. The restaurants were fantastic albeit a little pricey. The rooms were great and well maintained. We used their registered taxi drivers who were fantastic and offered a great insight into the locals and their culture. Our driver Hesham was hilarious and was a fantastic host, taking us to lunch and secret places that tourists would usually overlook. He went above and beyond and looked after us very well. Altho the hotel is about a 20 min drive from the city centre, the surrounds are nice and quiet and you are situated in a gated complex. They offer free shuttles to and from the airport and museum.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L'Ametlla de Mar, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

We booked this hotel specifically because it had a pool but when we arrived the pool was closed for annual maintenance.

Another thing that really annoyed us was that in the main reception area there is a sign with arrows pointing where the different restaurants, business centre and fitness suite are. However, the arrows point in the opposite direction to which they should. When we pointed it out to the staff, they said that the sign had been moved over 6 months ago but no-one thought it was their job to move it back.

Expedia were doing a special deal for Executive Suites which we took up. However, I wouldn't call the room we were given a "suite". It was just an ordinary bedroom with en-suite bathroom. The rooms were comfortable although it would have been nice to have two chairs to sit on instead of only one.

There was a lounge on the floor below us where we had breakfast. The choice was OK but the quality wasn't brilliant. Also in this room, soft drinks were available, free, all day and high tea (sandwiches and little cakes) between 3pm and 5pm (also free). However, the atmosphere in the room wasn't condusive to sitting and having a relaxing drink.

We did have one evening meal in the hotel, in the restaurant called The Silk Road. The meal was very nice if a bit expensive.

The business centre sells 1/2 hour and 1 hour cards for internet access. These are very expensive and you can only use them once so it's a real swizz.

The hotel is very near the airport so it's convenient for that but the opposite side of Cairo from the pyramids. You don't hear noise from the airport but the rooms are inadequately soundproofed so you can hear people talking in the next room and walking up and down the corridors. Not what I expect from this grade of hotel.

All in all, we were disappointed in this hotel. We'd booked this with the intention of relaxing for a few days after a hetic holiday seeing the sights.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crazy_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
3.1 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#2 of 138 in Cairo
1,253 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
2.8 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#33 of 138 in Cairo
486 reviews
2.2 mi away
Fairmont Towers Heliopolis
2.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip

Property: Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
Address: 69 Abdel Hamid Badawi Street, Heliopolis, Cairo 5614, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#11 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#16 Business Hotel in Cairo
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#19 Family Hotel in Cairo
#22 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable suburb of Heliopolis, 10 minutes from Cairo International airport, 10 minutes from the Cairo International Conference center and 25 minutes from the city center with courtesy hotel shuttle. Georgian style hotel of architecture boasting all leisure facilities including tennis courts, glazed squash courts, equestrian club & business center. 320 spacious rooms with 18 suites and 14 individual pool side rooms, Executive floor including business advantage rooms, Executive lounge and butler service. All rooms & public areas have broadband internet access with free WiFi technology, IP telephone with voice mail, data port. All rooms with 32-Inch LCD TV. 11 fully equipped meeting rooms accommodating up to 500 people. All rooms feature the latest audiovisual equipment, fax and computer facilities. Fitness & Health Club fully equipped with cardiovascular equipment for total body workouts. The Spa sauna, Jacuzzi , hammam and professional massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Concorde El Salam Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing