We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Ranked #42 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Golden Tulip Flamenco Hotel is located in a very safe area in Zamalek island adjacent to the Nile and to all embassies, Shopping and Restaurants are at every corner around the Hotel, I had a nice newly refurbished sapciuos room at the 4th floor with a beautiful bathroom suite 409 including a corner jacuzzi. The Bar at the ground floor has been the hot spot of the night full and packed , don,t forget to order the burger at the bar its the best I have ever had. Thanks to the front office staff they were very helpfull in recommending restaurants and directions.

Room Tip: Room 409 was a sapcious suite with a angle view to the Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nadine111-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review , and looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    127
    86
    32
    24
See reviews for
38
66
61
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Very well located in Zamalek with only 2 minutes walk to very nice restaurants at the Nile. Plenty of shops around including several supermarkets. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel is a little bit run down, breakfast simple but ok. Internet connection in the room is not that good. Noise from the street could well be heard in my room. Price maybe a little bit too high for what is offered.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located in Zamalek, the embassy littered neighborhood in the middle of Cairo. It is a huge hotel with a surprisingly small lobby and a small bar (too small, full every night). The rooms are surprisingly spacious if you take the more expensive ones overlooking the Nile (76 euro a night, cheap!).
Beds are very comfortable and airco works fine. Bathroom is attached and is small compared to the room but is supplied with a bathtub and shower, toilet etc. Quite nice.
Television works, and gives you BBC world and CNN, and a range of german and egyptian broadcast.
Staff is overall quite friendly and helpful.
You can always find a taxi on the street, and staff is always there to help you.

Breakfast is good, and there is a huge selection of food to choose from: eggs, sausages, yoghurt, all kinds of pastries and bread, fruit, etc etc.

You can order 24hr roomservice which serves a limited version of the menu in the bar downstairs. Food is ok but nothing special, and of course a bit more pricey than in a regular restaurant.

All in all I had a pleasant stay here for one week in november 2013 when in Cairo for business.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room with a Nile view. You will get a HUGE room for 76 euro, with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 3 nights at the Golden Tulip. Although we were a bit apprehensive about traveling to Cairo because of the unrest, we felt completely safe in Zamalek, and especially a this hotel. There is heavy security at the hotel, and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the Nile and many tourist friendly restaurants.
The rooms were small, but we didn't need much more then that. The beds were comfortable which was ideal trying to deal with jet-leg!
There is a safe in the room to keep your money, passport, and other valuables. Bathroom is clean and spacious.
Be prepared for a lot of noise. Lots of cars honking, but this is everywhere in Egypt. You will be woken up by the call to prayer as there is a mosque nearby, but to us this was all part of the Cairo experience and quite enjoyed it.
If there is anything I could recommend to the hotel, it would be to improve the breakfast. The service was great, but the food was a little dry.
I would definitely recommend staying at the Golden Tulip!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Laura thank you very much for your comment and looking forward to welcoming you once more , we will do our best to change the breakfast soon and regarding the room size we have different room sizes with a small supplement you can enjoy almost 40 square meter room and Nile View

Again thank you very much and we are proud to be your host
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Old hotel, old furniture, old bathroom.
This hotel is at best "Egyptian 3 stars" which would be a European 1 or 2 stars.

Breakfast is the same old appalling breakfast you will find throughout all of Egypt and the room service is rather embarrassing.

Like all Cairo hotels it's way overpriced especially because it is in Zamalek which may be the only pro of this hotel if you like everything within walking distance.

But Zamalek is a very noisy place and the soundproofing of the hotel is a joke.

If you look well enough you might find a better solution at Novotel Gezira which is the other side of Zamalek or better yet if you don't mind the 5 minute taxi ride stay at Safir in Dokki which is way nicer, 4 full stars, has a nice pool, gym, sauna and comes cheaper than Flamenco.

I didn't find the staff to be rude at all except perhaps the guards outside the entrance but the reception staff are all super professional and polite.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gmv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Our Hotel Golden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo is located in a quiet street overlooking the Nile River and for Cairo it is very quiet compared to the other two hotels mentioned in your review – a 15 minute walking from downtown and Tahrir Square. It is also not far from Pyramids. Being resident in Cairo I can assure you that this is the most secure and quiet place in Cairo ( please consider that it is a city with almost 25millions )

Our Hotel is officially classified as a four stars hotel furthermore recently refurbished to meet international standards and cannot agree with your comment about our rooms and furniture or the bathrooms all our rooms are very clean and fresh as shown in our new hotel photos. during all renovation actions we did was having one goal is to offer all modern equipment and services to our guests, such as total new marble bathroom , new carpet floors, furniture, TV etc. mainly to gain guest satisfaction we renovated till now 164 rooms out of 173 rooms and you cannot get an old room as the left 9 rooms are closed for renovation.

We only get complements on daily basis about our lavish breakfast buffet we never had such comment furthermore our room service serving very high amount of guests on time but orders has to be placed in advance to avoid waiting during the rush breakfast time.

Our staff. They are all quite knowledgeable and updated including our guards they are doing very great job to secure the place during the current situation in Cairo.

We are constantly checking guest reviews to adapt the new requirements of our guests but of course sometime we cannot agree with some reviews specially when we find it unfair to the staff efforts to make the guest stay as convenient as possible. Also review that recommend competitor hotels we find it not fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Rooms are kind of ok, since i start to office by morning 9 and returns by 10 at night, i didnt spent much time in hotel. And they have no recreation facilities too. Internet facility is poor, for standard rooms they provide 200MB limit wifi access if needed more we need to get the new wifi credential from receiption. Room is small but sophasticated for a single user and they clean it on daily basis, so the room use to be fresh always. overall its a decent place to say.

Room Tip: When you are planning for a holiday trip, try to get the nile facing rooms which i have heard its sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsmebala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlamencoHotelCairo, Manager at Golden Tulip Flamenco, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for your kind review , we are working to change the speed of the internet soon the main issue we have free internet connection for all our guests so we have to make sure about the internet usage during peak periods , we hope this will be solved soon

Again thank you very much and looking forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The room (with Nile view) was spacious and comfortable and the hotel is in good location in a safe, residential area away from the occasional troubles of Cairo. Staff professional. Otherwise, it is rather mediocre: the bar is on the street-level and is small and dreary and the breakfast room similar. I don't know why the hotel doesn't have a roof terrace bar/restaurant, which could be wonderful and take advantage of its location on the riverside. Seemed to me to be overpriced for the facilities.

Room Tip: (obviously) Nile-side rooms on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#24 of 138 in Cairo
711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
2.0 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#22 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#98 of 138 in Cairo
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
317 reviews
1.8 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel El Tahrir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Flamenco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Flamenco

Property: Golden Tulip Flamenco
Address: 2 El Gazira el Wosta Street | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Flamenco 4*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Tulip Flamenco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Flamenco Hotel Cairo
Golden Tulip Hotel Cairo
Golden Tulip Cairo
Cairo Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing