We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too modern, but OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This Hilton used to be the Safir Hotel/Residence in Cairo and was probably not really renovated for 20 years: brown wall to wall carpet, dusty curtains, old bathrooms. Its location is good if you want to do some shopping and restaurants. Its staff is nice and polite - as most Egyptians. The view from the rooms is great.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kisutazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments, I am happy that our Team Members have provided high quality of service to you, also delighted that you have enjoyed the hotel unique location and the many attractions around. Just to highlight the hotel had been completed its full renovation beginning of the year 2010, all rooms and suites have been redecorated and furnished, beige carpets were extended, and installed LCD TVs. I appreciate that it is not easy meet all tastes and expectations of everybody, however we are always seeking to excel in our services. Looking forward to welcoming you once again in Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2012

The location is fantastic in Cairo! It is located on the island of Zamalek which felt very safe and is centrally located island in Cairo.

The hotel is right on the Nile and has amazing views! We were fairly high up and the pictures are the views from our balcony.

The breakfast buffet is delicious and the staff was great.

It is close to the street, 6th of July Street, which has lots of great shops and restaurants.

Our room was very nice, the bed was very comfortable and the room was cleaned great every day!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a Nile view!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Serendipity5963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Great feedback, very happy to know you like the food, room, team and location.
Thank you for the lovely photos which are showing the magnificent view of the Nile River. I would like also to thank you for your time to write such a kind comment, wish you a merry Christmas and a very happy new year 2013.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Context is so important to understand the true value and quality of this hotel. You need to think of it in relation to where it stands and what's outside its walls. It is your true oasis in the heart of what is a very large and very chaotic city.

The hotel sits on the island neighborhood of Zamalek. It is positioned nicely right up alongside the banks of the Nile. It's also nestled among many foreign embassies which are all well protected mansions.

If you're taking a taxi there from the airport (or back to the hotel from elsewhere), it seemed that some drivers knew of the hotel by its current name, but others did not, until you mentioned the former hotel name which was "Samir".

When you arrive you'll notice that the hotel is set back from the street and that there are steel barriers (like you might find at a rental car location) preventing cars from driving right up to the front entrance of the hotel. If you want to be driven up the the front entrance, the guard on duty will come out and inspect the vehicle using a mirror to look around the undercarriage of the car. Once you're cleared, the steel barriers will be cleared so you can proceed to the entrance.

When you enter the hotel, your baggage goes through a scanner similar to the type found at airport security. You'll also have to go through a metal detector.

Once through the security, you'll be face-to-face with a very grand foyer with lots of beautiful marble used to create a traditionally lavish space.

The front desk staff wear traditional garb which is beautifully tailored and they are all very, very nice and super helpful. The will go out of their way to help with any of your needs. By know, you know you have arrived in your oasis.

You'll be escorted to your room in this 26 story hotel. It is clean and tastefully decorated throughout. We had a corner room on the 10th floor which overlooked the Nile and central Cairo across the river.

We had a lovely wrap around balcony which allowed us to gaze out across the city, hear the sounds of the boats travelling up and down the Nile and to take in the distinctive aroma that is uniquely Egyptian.

Our room was clean and well furnished. The bathroom was also clean and modern. We had a nice comfortable king sized bed. There was also a large flat screen TV which received satellite channels from around the world. As a Hilton Diamond member, we also enjoyed free internet service throughout our four night stay.

The included breakfast buffet was served until 11am which was a bonus given that the jet lag can have you getting up later than usual. There is one of the largest and most diverse buffets available to choose from. It included the standard western breakfast choices as well as many traditional Egyptian selections. The staff, once again, delivered superior service.

The main dining area was on the ground floor adjacent to the outdoor pool and dining area. You could enjoy your breakfast out by the pool or indoors.

The pool area was clean and very inviting. There were plenty of comfortable seats and the whole area provided wonderful views out across the Nile.

The front desk was helpful throughout the stay. They helped us arrange for a guide to go to the Pyramids, provided excellent restaurant suggestions and arranged form taxis when needed.

Another nice touch which was over and above came as a complete, yet pleasant surprise.The hotel manager took notice of the fact that it was my birthday during our stay and sent up a birthday cake and fruit assortment to the room!

After each day of navigating through the many things to see and do in and around Cairo, it felt very comforting to return to our own private Idaho to relax and re-charge our batteries or to turn in for the night.

I give the Hilton Cairo Residences 5+ stars!

Room Tip: Try to secure a Nile River view room on a level that is higher up in the building.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostonspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Dear valued guest,
I am speechless, you have made my day, your nice positive descriptive feedback has thrilled me and the team, and it is really rewarding to read such great comments about the property, services and team.
In my opinion your comments are much better than thousands text or sales brief can be written about the hotel, by such feedback we can only excel and improve in our services, and surely will motivate our team members to save no efforts in serving our dear guests.

I thank you so much and wish that you come back soon to your second home Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I was in Cairo visiting my son who was attending the American University there and my stay couldn't have been better. Ahmed and the others at the reservation desk were extremely accommodating. They were helpful in arranging a day tour of Cairo for me as we'll as making dinner reservations at local restaurants. My room was comfortable, clean and even had a fresh rose on the bathroom counter. The restaurant was lovely and I had a relaxing afternoon by the pool overlooking the Nile. Thank you to all who made my stay special.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences for your stay in Cairo, I am very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel, the level of cleanliness of your room, the restaurant and the Nile Terrace, also to learn that were satisfied with services were provided by our Team Members.
I wish to welcoming you once more in the near future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The furnished apartments have everything one can need to settle down for a few weeks or months. They are spacious and cozy. The kitchen in the apartment has excellent appliances but is a bit short on kitchenware although the staff can help find whatever is missing. The staff is very helpful.
The only downside is that wifi is offered at a ridiculously high price.This is a serious weakness of the Hilton. Buying a 3G USB key is an alternative, but those planning to stay in Egypt must know that vodafone 3G reception is very bad in that particular zone of Zamalek, so another 3g provider must be found. Also, clients must be careful because there have been a number of bag-snatchings on that particular street (as there is not too much traffic there, bag-snatchers on motorcycles can speed away).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mystery_Klient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear guest,
Delighted to know your feedback about your suite as well as about our Team Members, this will definitely recharge the Team energy to excel in their service.
I wish that you were able to use one of our long term internet packages, this definitely much cheaper than the daily rate, may be next time you can be benefited from such packages.
Please come back soon, we will be happy to serve you once more.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Zamalek for one night, and I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is in a very safe/nice area, the island Zamalek in the Nile River, and surrounded by embassies. The traffic to get to it is a fight, just like anywhere in Cairo. The hotel lobby had beautiful marble and the bed was very comfortable. It was my birthday and the hotel gave us a free cake and upgrade to a corner suite with a large balcony overlooking the Nile! The staff was very helpful and pleasant, and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Our room was 904. It was a corner suite with a great view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BARNETTL1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Friends,
I am very happy to read your positive review, and glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, I have shared your comments with my team and they are thanking you for your kind words. I am looking forward to welcoming you once more for a longer stay, one night is surely not enough for a city like Cairo.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Nice hotel and very spacious and clean room. We didn’t have a Nile facing room however we were still able to see the Nile from the room we were in. We had the buffet breakfast in the morning which was good and had a large selection of breads and croissants. They also had an omelette station and the chef can make your omelette to order. Coffee wasn’t good, maybe because the milk is different but coffee anywhere in Egypt isn’t that great. Wifi is available in the Hotel at a cost, there are several different plans available but the best value for money was $80 EGP for 24hours which converts to approx $12.50 AUD.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Hi,
Next time you should book a Nile view room or Suite, we have spectacular view over the magnificent Nile. I am glad that you have enjoyed breakfast, thank you for the Coffee comment, I will make sure to check it myself. See you soon
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.3 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,452 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.7 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
1.7 mi away
Novotel Cairo El Borg
Novotel Cairo El Borg
#25 of 139 in Cairo
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences

Address: 21 Mohamed Mazhar St. | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cairo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £74 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the picturesque and exclusive island of Zamalek on the magnificent waters of the River Nile, the Hilton Zamalek Residence Cairo is located in a tranquil spot between downtown Cairo and Giza and is only 12 miles from Cairo Airport. All of the luxurious guest rooms at this hotel in Cairo offer spectacular city or river views and feature modern amenities such as high-speed internet access and LCD TVs. Upgrade to an elegant suite for additional space, a kitchen, living and dining areas and terraces offering scenic Nile views. Hold a professional conference in one of 3 flexible meeting rooms, all of which feature the latest in audio/visual technology and make use of our business center. Dine on international and oriental cuisine overlooking the pool and the River Nile in Nile Breeze, listen to live music in the Tea Time Lounge and enjoy casual al fresco food and drink on the deck at Waves. Work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, swim lengths in the heated swimming pool, which features a Jacuzzi or indulge in a massage while the little ones have fun in the Children’s Play Area. Explore the Egyptian Museum, experience the exotic sights, sounds and smells of the vibrant Egyptian Bazaar, 'Khan El-Khalili' and marvel at the Great Sphinx and Pyramids at Giza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Zamalek Residence Hotel Cairo
Safir Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing