We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Laoag, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Breakfast with poor service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel on the 22 June 2014 with a colleague, check in was quite long and it seemed the guy at the desk didn't know really what to do, after 30 minutes we got 1 room, my colleague still was waiting after I returned from the room, we had pre-booked early check in, which was confirmed with the reservation.
Bellman service at the front very slow and staff didn't show initiative to get things done in the morning, evening staff seemed to be more attentive and more friendly.
The room was nice layed out, quite and clean, bathroom very small, the birthday cake send to the room of my colleague was well received and tasty, too big for 2 guest, but very nice gesture.

Breakfast next morning, nicely presented, and refilled, the cook was not able to make a proper omelette, just a flat Spanish style pancake, but that is quite common in the region, the waiter was inattentive and not will to bring a cappuccino for breakfast or an espresso.

After check out in the afternoon we met the Guest relations Lady in the lobby and she saved the day, the only real professional person we have met during our stay, well done, she is a real asset to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    159
    64
    24
    13
See reviews for
107
93
49
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is well located in Cairo for a quiet stay, although close to all tourist attractions. Lovely pool on the side of the Nile. Staff excellent and friendly. Food quality and service was good, but drinks advertised not always available. Hotel very busy during Ramadam, so entertainment can be a little noisy in the hotel and surrounding area's. This part of Zamalek contains lots of Embassies so security levels high, but not a problem walking to local restaurants in this immediate area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The HiltonHonors complementary internet for Golden Card members, more than a gift is a pain in the neck. Be ready to fully waste your time and patience to get a fair and reliable internet connection while you are at the hotel.
You can spend time waiting and going through their centralized service center for nothing. You can complain to the front desk every day, there is some quick fix somehow or they have to make you to change rooms as some device is not working, and next day over and over again with the same never-ending story.
The people are always kind and trying to help, but the result, for some reason difficult to understand, is worthless and frustrating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jesus Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
My dear valued guest,
I would like to thank you for being a loyal dear guest for Hilton Zamalek, and would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have faced with the internet service, I hope that our ISM was able to explain the unpredicted failure of one of the access points in your room, therefore it was necessary to change the room.
I hope that you have enjoyed all other facilities and services and wish to welcoming you once more in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I confronted a very embarrassing treatment upon check-in.

Although I said I have a residential visa to a receptionist, showing my passport & visa (the valid visa page), working ID card issued by the Egyptian government, he did not trust me, saying that those are not enough to prove my residency, thus I should pay the non-residency price. Then, I explained that I'm working here in Cairo and showed my booking record e-mail which says the "price for residency." After this silly argument on "have or not" for good 10 minutes, finally, he said it's OK but he needs to confirm this with his manager, which I did not receive any feedback nor apology from the hotel.

Then, three points I have to mention on this hotel's service.
1. The hotel staff lacked the very basic knowledge on the passport and residency. If it is an international level hotel, the staff should have been knowledgeable on such a basic issue.

2. Even if you have a question on the customer's residency status, you DO NOT have to challenge it openly in front of your customer. It was merely a waste of time for both sides. The staff should have just proceeded with the check-in and simply explained that he needs to double check the evidence later. Then, if there is something wrong with it, he can rectify it later.

This time it took me more than 20 minutes just to check-in, including this absurd discussion time.

3. Most importantly, Do NOT challenge or doubt what your customer explained, in the first place. The hotel staff should trust your guests, not doubt them. I was not sure whether the hotel would like to make their guests happy or unhappy. In the latter case, I have no incentive to choose this hotel for my holiday.

Certainly, it was not a happy welcome and was not a level of service that I expect from the HILTON stay. This problem at the entry point was like a rotten spot in a peach for my whole stay, which undermined my hotel's brand image. Plus, I was not certain whether it was due to one underdeveloped staff member's capacity or whole management issue. Furthermore, there wasn't an inch of apology nor feedback from the hotel even though, the receptionist's understanding was obviously wrong.

Therefore, this time I gave my evaluation as very poor (1).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank biz_traveler_japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedhatSamir, General Manager at Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Valued guest,
First let me thank you for being a loyal guest to Hilton Zamalek, I appreciate communicating your concern, which I have investigated carefully. I learned that your first stay as a lucky winner went very smooth and you have enjoyed it the residency issue was not tackled at that time since there was no rate attached to your reservation, however on the second time was an issue, reason was your residency in Egypt was expired on your passport which is needed to be valid to apply the Egyptian rate as per the rules and regulations of the Egyptian authorities. However the issue was over when you have submitted your Organization ID.
What I would like to explain here we trust our guests however it is a must to follow the laws and regulations, having said that but any issue should not discussed in public, we have noted that and the concerned department head will make sure it will not be repeated. Finally please accept our apology for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The location is very close to everything. In the heart of Zamalek which is a very nice district with all kinds of nice restaurants and cafes. Very close to downtown and close proximity to other locations. Service is very good. Rooms have big balcony overseeing the Nile and furniture is a bit old but still ok. Valet parking with charge in an area very difficult to find a parking spot.

Room Tip: For big families you can get two rooms with common living room and dinning tabe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Even I got a special rate at reservation for car rental 15:00 / night, the hotel receptionist refused applying this rate telling it might be in dollars not Egyptian pounds, however the hotel rate is cheaper than the offer I got.
Im holding Hilton Premium card and they refused Premium card coupon " discount" on my stay
The location is amazing for the hotel but compared to other Hiltons, there is a wide gap in dealing with customers. It is my second time to stay there but won't repeat it

Room Tip: Determine from beginning which view to choose. I chooses Nile view and at front desk they hosted me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasser E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed on 27-30 June. Compared to other major hotels in Cairo, the front desk’s efficient and speedy response at the time of check-in was impressive. If you travel Egypt you may usually find not-so- smooth reception response and often annoying check-in process. However, this time I faced no stress or problem at the time of check-in. It was a good start of my three days stay.

I asked the room with a good Nile view and on a higher floor, which they tried their best to respond to me request. The room was indeed quiet, seemed very good both for work and rest.
The hotel has a cozy gym with a Nile view as well as pool on the river side. It was a good escape from the nuisance of Cairo, which is unfortunately utter chaos these days.

There was a Japanese restaurant on the lobby floor, which you can ask a delivery order to your room. The food was a decent Japanese meal prepared by Japanese chefs. Also on the other side of the restaurant, there was a French-style bakery-café whose croissant was very delicious.

Overall, it was an excellent stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mockturtle-patio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.3 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 138 in Cairo
2,401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#11 of 138 in Cairo
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.7 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
2.1 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences

Property: Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
Address: 21 Mohamed Mazhar St. | Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cairo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#17 Business Hotel in Cairo
#19 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the picturesque and exclusive island of Zamalek on the magnificent waters of the River Nile, the Hilton Zamalek Residence Cairo is located in a tranquil spot between downtown Cairo and Giza and is only 12 miles from Cairo Airport. All of the luxurious guest rooms at this hotel in Cairo offer spectacular city or river views and feature modern amenities such as high-speed internet access and LCD TVs. Upgrade to an elegant suite for additional space, a kitchen, living and dining areas and terraces offering scenic Nile views. Hold a professional conference in one of 3 flexible meeting rooms, all of which feature the latest in audio/visual technology and make use of our business center. Dine on international and oriental cuisine overlooking the pool and the River Nile in Nile Breeze, listen to live music in the Tea Time Lounge and enjoy casual al fresco food and drink on the deck at Waves. Work out in the complimentary Fitness Center, swim lengths in the heated swimming pool, which features a Jacuzzi or indulge in a massage while the little ones have fun in the Children’s Play Area. Explore the Egyptian Museum, experience the exotic sights, sounds and smells of the vibrant Egyptian Bazaar, 'Khan El-Khalili' and marvel at the Great Sphinx and Pyramids at Giza. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Zamalek Residence Hotel Cairo
Safir Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing