We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average hotel and is only good for transit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Passage Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Passage Cairo
Ranked #9 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very average hotel and is only good for transit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is very average. I had been to this same hotel in 1995 when it was under the management of "Movenpick" and was much better and cleaner. All the rooms are out-dated and need a lot of renovation. Rooms are very small and lack a lot of facilities for a good hotel. I can hardly rate this hotel as three stars, it is only convenient for transit travellers being in the airport, but never use it as a long staying hotel (more than one night).

However the staff is friendly and trying to do their best with the modest facilities.

Room Tip: A room in the main floor, away from reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    199
    156
    84
    80
See reviews for
149
121
151
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We were on our honeymoon and needed to stay two days in Cairo. We let the reception know that we were on our honeymoon hoping to get some nice treatment (as we did receive from other hotels). The only thing we received was an "Alf Mabrook".

From that point, it seemed as we were entering the gates of HELL. First is the unbearable smell of cigarette smoke, they would only bring one pair of slippers (for a double room) -- I guess one of us had to walk barefoot on the nasty carpet). I went down to the restaurant to ask for an empty cup, so that my wife and I could drink the almost 20LE bottle of water they sold to us. They refused to give us even empty cups.

So, we ordered delivery. For 1 HOUR, they prevented the delivery man from entering the property and they said no outside food is allowed in the hotel. They said if we are hungry, we can eat at their restaurant for 375LE per person OR starve in their hotel room. I asked if I can leave the hotel by taxi and they said it will cost me 120LE just to leave by taxi. We felt trapped. After much arguing and threatining to call the tourist police, they allowed the food in but it was already too late to eat it, and it was cold, so we placed it in the refrigerator.

The next morning, the food had began to become rotten because the refrigerator did not work. We reported the non-functional refrigerator and they did not even bother to do anything about it. We tried to use the hairdryer in the room. The hotel employee explained to us that the hairdryer had a short circuit and needed repair -- and he began pulling wires out of the wall. After approximately one hour, we asked him to leave and come back later. What a NICE HONEYMOON GIFT -- sending a repairman to stay in the room with you.

This horror story is to be continued...

Room Tip: go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasDad2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had layovers of approximately 16 hours coming in and out of Addis Ababa and in such cases middle eastern airlines often put passengers up in hotels (as nice service). So I need to make clear that my review is coming from the perspective of being a complementary service, which cost me nothing. The hotel provides a regular shuttle between the airport and the hotel, we found the driver nice and in both trips waiting approximately 15 minutes for the shuttle. Our check in was in less than 10 minutes both trips but the number of different counters at the hotel seemed to confuse others. The room was clean, the bathroom clean with good water pressure. This hotel is a common location for weddings and we saw 4 different weddings during our two stays. There are two pools, they are nice but have rather odd hours, If I remember correctly it wasn't open until 8 and closed at 6. The food in the main restaurant isn't bad, although I do have to say I was impressed by their labneh.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 1028 and 1038
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo Governorate, Egypt
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very bad hotel !! It took us about 45mi to check in and when we did we got one if the worst rooms we ever stayed at. Not clean. The minibar isn't working and there is a water problem in the bathroom. Trust me you wouldn't wanna try this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karim85o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Although it is usually my second choice for Cairo airport hotel (due to higher price and shuttle bus is every 30 minutes not per demand like Novotel), yet it is better in quality, service and food.
One nice feature I liked: Usually when I order something or ask for any service, it happens that I want to go to the toilet or have a shower, they come and knock and either you cut whatever you are doing or just ignore and call them again. I found a nice feature, a button that you hit, and keeps a signal outside the room : please wait.
I attached a photo for that

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehab_Heikal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

rooms stink, they allow smoking even in the non smoking rooms, the ash trays and food trays left outside rooms doors, but still the staff lie and say it is nonsmoking section, furniture looks very old and spotty, they transferred me 3 times, but they gave me worse rooms, when I requested to cancel and was about to call Novotel Hotel, they offered a little bit better room but still has this smoky stinky smell, it took me 3 hours from check in till i got to last room so i can sleep and catch my morning flight, it supposed to be 4 or 4.5 star hotel but i can't even rate it like 2 star motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hisham001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Said, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

the only thing that makes me book in this hotel is the place , and everything else is so bad
Parking with fees although the hotel website said it is free , No service at all , the front office team surprised that I have booking Voucher although there are no rooms available , after long negotiation he gave me a very bad room (Garden room )

Room Tip: choose the neighbor hotel NOVOTEL
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
11.0 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
18.1 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Novotel Cairo Airport
Novotel Cairo Airport
#30 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
11.1 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
11.0 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Passage Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Passage Cairo

Property: Le Passage Cairo
Address: Cairo International Airport Road | El Horreya-Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Passage Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Passage Cairo Hotel & Casino is located in Heliopolis, an elegant business and residential district in Cairo and it is considered one of the safest area in town. The hotel is only five minutes from Cairo International Airport and ten minutes from the Cairo International Convention Centre and Fair Grounds, with free shuttle bus service, free wifi and free internet. Great design is the key to this urban, cosmopolitan business and leisure base, providing a sophisticated and stylish environment in the throbbing heart of Egypt and the Middle East. Le Passage Cairo Hotel & Casino celebrates individuality with a wide range of accommodation choices from well appointed rooms and suites with exquisite views to the Executive Club floor which is ideal for business travelers, short breaks, family holidays or those special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Passage Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Passage Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Iberotel Cairo Hotel
Iberotel Hotel Cairo
Cairo Heliopolis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing