We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware the no amendment or cancellation policy + all the sudden extra's” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
Ranked #33 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
West Sussex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beware the no amendment or cancellation policy + all the sudden extra's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hotel was ok, the staff were ok. Nothing exceptional but fine. What really spoiled it for us was the long long arguments we had at the counter about our booking. We had been delayed due to issues beyond our control (aircraft problems) and so arrived in Cairo 24 hours later than we had anticipated. We called the hotel as soon as we were aware this would be the case the day before and were rudely told not to expect a refund. We arrived already knowing that we had lost a nights accommodation, with one night to go, but the argument didn't stop there...they then said we hadn't paid for the room yet. Thank goodness my iphone and email was handy! While the guy on the counter was friendly throughout, it just felt like they were trying to rip us off at every turn!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tobysimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestacairo, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Cairo. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced.

As I have just arrived at the property and was reading your review and I would appreciate the opportunity if you could contact me directly regarding your deposit issue.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    155
    119
    48
    31
See reviews for
66
82
54
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
709 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

This hotel claims to be a 5 star hotel which it is if you only look at the check-list for facilities (restaurants, pool, casino and so on), but when you have to call for service every time and the service isn't "automated", then it is not 5 stars. Having to call for towels (2 persons should get 2 towels automatically - right?), being ignored by the breakfast staff (for some reason tea and coffee had to be served by the staff in a utterly disastrous attempt to give a touch of service). The breakfast buffet is a disaster as well. Hardly any choice of bread (toast and one sort more), the fresh vegetables seems to be from yesterday, one type of cheese and one type of yogurt (if you dig deep you might find rare strawberry flavored ones), tea spoons seems to be hard value since they almost never were on place from the beginning. The "old tower" is a little worn down, which don't give the 5-star feeling. Free internet only in the lobby and for a fee in the rest of the hotel, which is really, really a stupid decision in a 5-star hotel when this is a service provided for free in most tourist hotels.
However, a true gem in this place are the Italian restaurant. Fantastic personnel, amazing food and real service shows 5-star quality - not very expensive either! Don't skip eating here. The cleaning staff is friendly (even if they seem to have a problem with counting towels).
There is absolutely nothing to see or do outside the hotel. There are some limited local life in the back streets, but you'll have to look for it. For business this is ok, but for tourism - choose something else!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youssefdahab, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Mr. dgjohansson

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to express your comments regarding your Recent stay at Sonesta Hotel , Tower & Casino Cairo which are very valuable to us

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the Inconvenience That took place With you as well we do promise to work Harder & Harder to overcome this comments to our guests satisfaction

Once again, our apologies, Hoping to count with your understanding and that this unfortunate incident does not reflex on your confidence in Sonesta

Best Regards,

Youssef Abul Dahab
Rooms Division Director
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo
Youssefdahab@sonestacairo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2010

This was my favorite hotel of our 18 day visit to Egypt. It is five stars by American standards. All the staff is outstanding and helpful. It is immaculate and everything works. The spa is great and free. Location convient to the airport and they have a true free shuttle service. One night we were booked to stay at Fairmont but after seeing our room and the charges for the spa went back to the sonesta. The food was really good and reasonable. I can not say enough good about this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humboldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youssefdahab, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Mr.humboldtraveler

I would like to seize the opportunity to thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo for your stay and we are very much glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well for the time take to state your comments which are very valuable to us

Once again , we do thank you & looking forward to welcome you again & again

Best Regards,

Youssef Abul Dahab
Rooms Division Director
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo
Youssefdahab@sonestacairo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NRW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

The room (in the new tower) was very nice and clean. Except that the A/C was really noisy and made it hard to sleep. Apparently, it is normal that windows don't open at all. I did find the hotel overpriced for the kind of amenities offered and no breakfast. Breakfast was extra and quite expensive. What really bothered me at the hotel was the staff at the reception that was extremly unfriedly from check-in to check-out and for questions in between. They seemed more concerned with typing my room number into their computer than with anserwing my questions. Worse, even though it was explicitely stated that no deposit was necessary, the whole amount for the stay was charged to my credit card at the time of reservation. When I checked in they wanted to make me pay again claiming that only the first night had been charged. They only believed me when showed them an account statement. When I checked out they wanted to charge me an unexplicable extra fee claiming that the exchange rate had changed in the meantime. (If they hadn't charged it all at the beginning...) It cost too much time and energy and I didn't really appreciated being treated in an unfriendly way as if I had one something wrong with the payment.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nenufara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youssefdahab, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Mr.Nenufara

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to express your comments regarding your Recent stay at Sonesta Hotel , Tower & Casino Cairo which are very valuable to us

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the Inconvenience That took place With you as well we do promise to work Harder & Harder to overcome this comments to our guests satisfaction

Once again, our apologies, Hoping to count with your understanding and that this unfortunate incident does not reflex on your confidence in Sonesta

Best Regards,

Youssef Abul Dahab
Rooms Division Director
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo
Youssefdahab@sonestacairo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the sonesta for 1 night at the end of a cruise with blue water organized with bales worldwide. The room was on the 4th floor and was the largest room we had had on the entire hoilday. The bathroom too was also the largest, however the room felt very business like with no complimentary extras. Others in our group stayed on the 6th and 8th floors, with the couple on the 8th floor saying their room did have complimentary water, fruit and extra bath amenities. The room was very clean with large beds and no problems with traffic noise. For our evening meal we all chose to go to the Lebanese restaurant and met first in Speake's Bar. The bar was clean and tidy with an never ending supply of crisps, peanuts and oilves every time a bowl was emptied. The meal in the restaurant was fantastic. We all went for the set menu of six cold and six hot starters followed by a mixed grill and a course of fruit and baklava to finish. We all had so much food for the starters that only two of us managed to eat all of the mixed grill, with two others unable to eat any! The restaurant very kindly allowed us to take our dessert course back to our rooms. The set menu cost 160 L.E. per person. The breakfast the following morning was also good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booandkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youssefdahab, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Mr.booandkitty

I would like to seize the opportunity to thank you for choosing Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo for your stay and we are very much glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well for the time take to state your comments which are very valuable to us

Once again , we do thank you & looking forward to welcome you again & again

Best Regards,

Youssef Abul Dahab
Rooms Division Director
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo
Youssefdahab@sonestacairo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

Ok, this place was sufficient for one night, but really, it was pretty gross. I felt like it was under construction--and it was never going to be finished. Even now, three weeks since I've returned, I'm a little grossed out by it.

The carpet was filthy by anyone's standards. The bathroom was questionable.

The Italian restaurant was pretty decent. The lobby was updated very nicely. Sonesta could definitely spruce this place up a bit. It has the potential to be really great.

A tip...you can get free WiFi in the Italian restaurant. It didn't work in the lobby or the rooms without paying some ridiculous fee.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ZCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youssefdahab, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Mr. .ZCastro

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to express your comments regarding your Recent stay at Sonesta Hotel , Tower & Casino Cairo which are very valuable to us

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the Inconvenience That took place With you as well we do promise to work Harder & Harder to overcome this comments to our guests satisfaction

Once again, our apologies, Hoping to count with your understanding and that this unfortunate incident does not reflex on your confidence in Sonesta

Best Regards,

Youssef Abul Dahab
Rooms Division Director
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo
Youssefdahab@sonestacairo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

We stayed in Sonesta for few days as part of package tour. Our experience was good apart from one which I would like to share. For breakfast they have a tendency to make nonwhite people sit in a separate room which wasn't very nice. In our group we were all Indians and inspite of main breakfast area 75 % free, they made us sit in the adjoining room. On our first day we didn't realise this but when they did it on second day, we fought with them. It was clearly visible that they were separating people on the basis of colour,

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youssefdahab, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Mr. .abhijay

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to express your comments regarding your Recent stay at Sonesta Hotel , Tower & Casino Cairo which are very valuable to us

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the Inconvenience That took place With you as well we do promise to work Harder & Harder to overcome this comments to our guests satisfaction

Once again, our apologies, Hoping to count with your understanding and that this unfortunate incident does not reflex on your confidence in Sonesta

Best Regards,

Youssef Abul Dahab
Rooms Division Director
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo
Youssefdahab@sonestacairo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.0 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#32 of 139 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
0.0 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn - Citystars
Holiday Inn - Citystars
#17 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo

Property: Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
Address: 3 El Tayaran Street, Nasr City, Cairo 9039, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#11 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#25 Business Hotel in Cairo
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Cairo's 409 spacious guest rooms and suites offer a variety of luxurious amenities. A room on the executive floors offer exclusive lounges and 24-hour concierge service. The poolside bar and full-service spa with a Turkish steam bath are heavens for relaxation. After the pampering, the hotel offers several options at its gourmet restaurants serving Italian, Lebanese, Japanese, or French cuisine. One of the best Cairo hotels, the Sonesta is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo Hotel Cairo
Sonesta Hotel, Tower And Casino Cairo
Sonesta Cairo Hotel
Sonesta Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing