We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night stay and that was too long!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
Ranked #34 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A one night stay and that was too long!”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

First impression when walking into the hotel was very good (apart from the security check).
Got to the room to find 2 single beds, but it was rectified immediately and another room was found.
Air conditioner had one setting, HOT! The wifi connection in the room didn't connect.
The hot & cold buffet was cold & cold, when this was raised with the maitre'd there was a distinct lack of interest and no attempt to get something hot.
A 5 star shambles but would not have missed the day roaming around Cairo, what a crazy, mad and fantastic city!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    157
    125
    49
    32
See reviews for
66
83
54
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the start of September. Arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the airport, which was a very good option as they meet us at luggage and we avoided the potential headache of getting from the airport to the hotel. Staff were excellent at check in and throughout our stay. The room was nice, clean and everything worked well. It is located in the city centre but taxis are essential for visiting places of interest. We could not have asked for much more from our short stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricket1Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariveles, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

My husband & I had left our room but realised when we reached the lobby that we had left our camera behind. He returned to the room to find a member of the staff on his knees going through one of my bags! When the management came up to the room the allowed the thief to remain in our room arguing.
We have had problem with the aircon in the room & problems with the toilet flushing.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed for 4 days in Sonesta. Similar to the experiences of others, we had expectation of a 5 star hotel but when we checked in, we realized it's by no mean a 5-star. I would give a 3 and a half stars for non-executive floors and 4-star if you get a room on the exec floor. The main issues on non-exec floors: The carpet is not very clean. Furniture is a bit old and cheap looking. The safety deposit box doesn't work. On exec floor, there are no such problems. We were able to get the upgrade because our group collectively complained. The hotel staff is helpful and accommodating. The restaurants are expensive by Egyptian standard, but we ate mostly outside. The hotel has free Wifi connection in the lobby if you need to access internet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I'm not sure who rated this hotel but its not 5 star. The hotel and staff have a long way to go before they are on par with some of the 5 star hotels around the world. We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was ok. The rooms are dated and the air con is very noisy! The mini bar was totally empty, there were not enough towels in the room and in a twin room there was only one mug for coffee/tea. On arrival the staff at reception were slow and could not fully understand our requirements.The TV in the room kept flicking its self out of the the tv channel we were watching which after 10 mins became very annoying. The outdoor pool is private, the staff around the pool were very friendly and the italian restaurant makes good pizzas! Overall the hotel was ok for a place to crash, however over priced for what we got. I certainly wouldn't choose it if I was coming to Cairo on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The hotel was ok, the staff were ok. Nothing exceptional but fine. What really spoiled it for us was the long long arguments we had at the counter about our booking. We had been delayed due to issues beyond our control (aircraft problems) and so arrived in Cairo 24 hours later than we had anticipated. We called the hotel as soon as we were aware this would be the case the day before and were rudely told not to expect a refund. We arrived already knowing that we had lost a nights accommodation, with one night to go, but the argument didn't stop there...they then said we hadn't paid for the room yet. Thank goodness my iphone and email was handy! While the guy on the counter was friendly throughout, it just felt like they were trying to rip us off at every turn!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobysimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonestacairo, General Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 15 November 2010
Thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Cairo. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings you experienced.

As I have just arrived at the property and was reading your review and I would appreciate the opportunity if you could contact me directly regarding your deposit issue.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Steven Kalczynski
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronneby, Sweden
Level Contributor
783 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 376 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This hotel claims to be a 5 star hotel which it is if you only look at the check-list for facilities (restaurants, pool, casino and so on), but when you have to call for service every time and the service isn't "automated", then it is not 5 stars. Having to call for towels (2 persons should get 2 towels automatically - right?), being ignored by the breakfast staff (for some reason tea and coffee had to be served by the staff in a utterly disastrous attempt to give a touch of service). The breakfast buffet is a disaster as well. Hardly any choice of bread (toast and one sort more), the fresh vegetables seems to be from yesterday, one type of cheese and one type of yogurt (if you dig deep you might find rare strawberry flavored ones), tea spoons seems to be hard value since they almost never were on place from the beginning. The "old tower" is a little worn down, which don't give the 5-star feeling. Free internet only in the lobby and for a fee in the rest of the hotel, which is really, really a stupid decision in a 5-star hotel when this is a service provided for free in most tourist hotels.
However, a true gem in this place are the Italian restaurant. Fantastic personnel, amazing food and real service shows 5-star quality - not very expensive either! Don't skip eating here. The cleaning staff is friendly (even if they seem to have a problem with counting towels).
There is absolutely nothing to see or do outside the hotel. There are some limited local life in the back streets, but you'll have to look for it. For business this is ok, but for tourism - choose something else!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
youssefdahab, Manager at Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo, responded to this review, 25 July 2010
Dear Mr. dgjohansson

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to express your comments regarding your Recent stay at Sonesta Hotel , Tower & Casino Cairo which are very valuable to us

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the Inconvenience That took place With you as well we do promise to work Harder & Harder to overcome this comments to our guests satisfaction

Once again, our apologies, Hoping to count with your understanding and that this unfortunate incident does not reflex on your confidence in Sonesta

Best Regards,

Youssef Abul Dahab
Rooms Division Director
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino - Cairo
Youssefdahab@sonestacairo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#33 of 137 in Cairo
484 reviews
1.0 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
3.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
5.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn - Citystars
Holiday Inn - Citystars
#18 of 137 in Cairo
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo

Property: Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
Address: 3 El Tayaran Street, Nasr City, Cairo 9039, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#11 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#25 Business Hotel in Cairo
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta Cairo's 409 spacious guest rooms and suites offer a variety of luxurious amenities. A room on the executive floors offer exclusive lounges and 24-hour concierge service. The poolside bar and full-service spa with a Turkish steam bath are heavens for relaxation. After the pampering, the hotel offers several options at its gourmet restaurants serving Italian, Lebanese, Japanese, or French cuisine. One of the best Cairo hotels, the Sonesta is ideal for both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Hotel, Tower And Casino Cairo
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo Hotel Cairo
Sonesta Cairo Hotel
Sonesta Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sonesta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing