We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would come back again for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Ranked #33 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Friendly staff offering help always, a classic hotel with classical building with a personality not another artificial fancy hotel..
I recommend for people who enjoy their time not just bed and breakfast hotel.
I enjoyed the breakfast a lot in the sunny resturant

Stayed: March 2012
Thank blasi_ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
I am delighted to read your comments, very much appreciated, and take this opportunity to thank you for posting your positive notes about Le Méridien Heliopolis, Hotel and Staff. We will always make sure to deliver a delighted experience on your future stays at our Hotel. Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, soon to your Home away from Home. Kind regards, The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Heliopolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

I stayed here for five days in March and was very pleased. Having stayed in Cairo central before this was a much better stay, and better value. The hotel is slightly tired, but makes up for this in friendliness. The rooms are excellent, the beds very comfortable and everything just nicely appointed. Everything about the hotel is comfortable, from the moment they pick you up at airport (a must). Shame the pool was closed, but hen it was quite cold!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Fulhamrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your kind words, very much appreciated. Le Méridien Heliopolis Team Members who are all geared to provide their guests with the utmost comfort, care and attention, were delighted to hear about your comments. Our Hotel is definitely in need of refurbishment and we are at present working on it. Please consider Le Méridien Heliopolis YOUR HOME in Cairo. Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Good thing about this hotel:
(1) Close to Cairo Airport
(2) Good staff-willing to go extra mile to satisfy customer. Lady at Breakfast reception asked us what we would like in Indian Cuisine and asked Chef whether it was possible to prepare those dishes. But Chef did not know about Indian Dishes.
(3) Breakfast/food excellent.

Bad/Negative/Crib part of this hotel:
(1) Shops in hotel rip you off. Mobile SIM costs LE10 whereas we were charged LE60 and did a top up of LE50 but could speak for only LE30. No proper bill/receipt provided for purchase
(2) Shop selling perfumes was charging 4times the charge for perfumes available in market and was expecting us to bargain. Maybe this was first time for me to bargain in 5star hotel shops for price of stuff sold.
(3) Though there are No Smoking signs mentioned at many places but people openly smoke. Our room was supposed to be non smoking but the moment we open the door we could smell dirty cigarette smoke!
(4) Airport pickup was not arranged as we contacted the hotel a day before our arrival. Airport pick up will be done only if informed 48hrs before arrival date. Not sure whether this has been mentioned at their website. But would expect hotel to contact us via email to tell us these things or call us.
(5) Staff was not able to find our booking details in their database eventhough we had confirmed about our booking 24hrs before. Not a big deal but would expect them to have a list of bookings for the day handy, instead the staff made quiet a few calls to check with manager, etc and confirm.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaushik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Dear Mr Khaushik,
Thank you for posting your positive comments and for drawing our attention to some issues that need our intervention. 1+2) We have communicated your comments to the shopkeepers requesting them to amend their pricing strategy to meet our clients’ expectations. 3) In line with our environmental policy, we are pursuing our aim to reduce smoking pollution and are gradually introducing ecological restrictions, however, this process needs a lot of efforts and persuasion. 4) We definitely need 48 hours prior to arrival to ensure airport service and transportation, as per Cairo Airport Authorities regulations. 5) My apologies for the delay at check-in. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you and look forward to the pleasure of your company soon. Best regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This Hotel is stunning! The most amazing is its view of the Pyramids from the pool area.

Service and Staff: Service and staff is amazing at this hotel. ALL are friendly and helpful and check in was fast and efficient.

Bank: The hotel boasts its own exchange bank with currency rates that are equal to those anywhere else. This is very convenient and is open almost all the time.

Rooms: Rooms are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The beds are the best part! The sheets and comforters are so relaxing and a wonderful treat to the end of a busy and tiring tourist day. The rooms are always clean and each room has a safe. The mini bar is wonderful but a tad expensive and calling from the room is expensive as well. However the television has many channels and there are many English stations. The bathrooms are extremely clean and new and the tissue, towels and toilet paper are always replaced by maid service.

Food: the restaurants are incredible and the buffet has the largest selection I have ever seen. You will not go hungry here! Water is decently priced.

Pool: the Pools are large and range in depth. There is a bar and bridge that separates the pool. One side is shallow for children and the other is deep for swimming.

Entertainment: There is usually singing and entertainment near the bar at night beside the pool and it is wonderful. It gives one a real flavor for Egyptian music. The shisha bar is wonderful as well.

Location: Though the hotel is a bit far from the airport it is well worth it because of its proximity to the Great Pyramids of Giza. If you want to visit Giza go as soon as the site opens to ensure you have a ticket to get into the Great Pyramid (of which there are only approx. 100 per day). Also arrive early because you want to beat the intense crowds that arrive around 7 - 7:30 a.m and onward.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GREENQUEEN08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel during January 2012, the hotel is old but is under renovations , rooms are quite spacious compared to newer built hotel , staff at the break fast make you feel at home , they volunteer to make nice traditional dishes for you and meet you with From heart smile. the location is good for people having business trip in Heliopolis or Nasr City to avoid Cairo crazy traffic. If your business in down town or Giza then try to be near your business venue to avoid traffic jamm.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohamed_Roushdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Mr Roushdy,
Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Heliopolis while visiting Cairo last January. We are indeed undergoing some works on the Hotel’s infrastructure until we start our partial renovation plan by mid 2012. We are delighted that our Breakfast Team made you feel at home and that you were able to avoid Cairo’s heavy traffic jam, by staying at our Hotel. We look forward to the pleasure of your company soon. Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I stayed there last year (2011) on our way to and from Saudi Arabia via Egypt. I can say I am willing to stay there again, but since I have a residence in Cairo, I doubt I will be staying there very often. The first positive experience started at Cairo Airport where I found someone waiting for us as soon as we departed the plane. He took our passports and cleared the immigration work, helped us get the luggage and clear the Customs. This service, I was told, is offered to foreign visitors only and since we are dual citizens, we benefited from this service. A shuttle was waiting for us to take us back to the hotel with 2 bottles of cold water. At the hotel, the staff was friendly and got us to the room in no time. Although it expected in Egypt that you tip hotel workers, they were still smiling when I told them I have not exchanged money or had change yet. The room was nice and I agree, some things could be updated but overall, it was nice. We had breakfast there, which was nice with a lot to choose from. It had the typical Egyptian beans (Foul Medammes) with my favorite lemon juice and cumin, eggs, sausages, cheeses, fruits, juices, etc. Breakfast was included with the room. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby, but not in the room. I think the room had wired Internet service for a fee. There are souvenir stores in the hotel, a currency-exchange and an ATM.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ama1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Valued Guests,
Thank you for your kind review of Le Méridien Heliopolis, very much appreciated and for the positive detailed description of our airport meet & assist service. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your Breakfast experience and hope that, although you have a residence in Cairo, you will still frequent our Food & Beverage outlets; may I recommend Rachawadee our Thai restaurant and during the Summer season the Palmeraie open air restaurant around the pool offering delicious barbequed specialties, with live entertainment. We thank you once again for your support and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in the near future. Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I was scheduled to stay in the Ramses Hilton but, because of the trouble and traffic disruption in Tahir Square, moved out of the city centre to Le Meridien in Heliopolis. It was excellent in every respect with the only niggle being that the traffic noise was disturbing if, like me, one was in a room facing the road to the airport

Room Tip: Lower numbers on each floor ar away from the main road.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
We were lucky to have you with us this last December and thank you for selecting Le Méridien Heliopolis when shifting from the city center to the quiet district of Heliopolis. We are delighted to read your review and thank you for reflecting your positive experience with those charming and inspiring words "Excellence in every respect". We regret, however, the disturbing traffic noise and assure you that one of our top priorities, is to install soundproof window glasses, thus securing thermal and noise insulation. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again and again. Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
2.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel Cairo by Royal Tulip
2.4 mi away
Fairmont Towers Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cairo Airport
0.5 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Heliopolis

Address: 51 Al Orouba Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cairo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#21 Business Hotel in Cairo
#29 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £70 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the most exclusive site in the heart of Heliopolis lays this 283 rooms and suites elegantly designed hotel, Le Meridien Heliopolis offers a vast spectrum of limitless services, guaranteeing comfort designed with space and charm. The restaurants & bars range from formal to casual offering a unique assortment of dining experiences with an unparallel variety of International cuisine from the five continents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Cairo
Cairo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing