We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service and follow up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Ranked #35 of 144 Hotels in Cairo
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Bad service and attention to follow up...lack of urgency to respond to requests. Tv wasn't working for two days and no offer to move me to another room. Breakfast service was slow and not many variety to choose from. Staff not friendly

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Greetings from Le Méridien Heliopolis…

Many thanks for having recently stayed with us while visiting Cairo.

We were very disappointed to learn that we could not live up to your expectations; this surely indicates that you did not receive the typical Le Méridien experience we aim to deliver (TV, breakfast and services…). We have shared with the Department Heads concerned the points you have highlighted, for their immediate action.

Rest assured that through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests.
Kind regards, Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

This is fantastic hotel with a long history. Staying here is like going back in time. Unfortunately, the hotel is scheduled to close - it will be converted into luxury condos. Such a shame! Each room is different - not the "cookie cutter" style of a modern hotel. It's located on a quiet street - a few minutes from the Ku'damm. The breakfast buffet is fantastic - great variety. The staff are very friendly. I highly recommend it! Please enjoy this charming, one-of-a-kind hotel while it is still open!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernest g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for posting this positive review on Le Meridien Heliopolis page on TripAdvisor. Your comments and description of the location you have been to, seems to refer to another Hotel. We do have plans to renovate our Hotel, however, without converting it into luxury condos. Nevertheless, we will be delighted to welcoming you should your travelling plans bring you back to Cairo and in particular Heliopolis area. The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

A large hotel with a spread out lobby and multiple restaurants, this place is a true delight to stay. The rooms may not be that splendid by are equally good and take care of the basic expectations. What i like about the place is the Bele-dancing in the restaurants in the evenings. The spa is also excellent and takes you to the Egyptian Hamams.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis and for highlighting your positive experience. We are delighted to have met your expectations and confirm our commitment to always deliver the best of service to ensure our guests feel welcomed and at home. We look forward to being of service to you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This Le Meridien has experienced and kind staff who are doing their best with what may be an older property and dust that comes from the deserts around Cairo. It is positive to see locals visit the lobby cafe for coffee and savouring of life music. There is always a refreshing spicy scent in the lobby. The hotel is close to the international airport and well-situated if you have to go to New Cairo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis. The location is indeed one of the many positive features of our Hotel, which makes it a convenient place for all of our clients.
We do appreciate the efficiency of our Staff Members who work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
We thank you once again for choosing Le Méridien Heliopolis while recently visiting Cairo and look forward to the pleasure of your company again soon.
Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Last week I had very interest stay with Le Meridien Heliopolis. I had business meeting in Cairo, I found that best location to stay is Le Meridien Heliopolis. No Complaints. Had a lovely stay. Very welcoming and comfortable hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The bed was so comfy it was the best nights sleep I ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waleed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Mr Waleed,
Delighted that you could share your positive experience at Le Méridien Heliopolis on TripAdvisor. We hope that from now onwards you will be using our Hotel for your business or leisure trips; it will be our pleasure, welcoming you, delivering the best of service and making sure that you have a pleasant and comfortable stay. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to being of service to you again, in the near future. Kind regards, The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was a great 5 star hotel , Not any more . The services are getting worse . The food is OK , But the rooms have OLD furniture and BAD pillows , I could not sleep because of the pillows and the noise from outside the rooms , VERY THIN walls . the location is central , That was the only good thing about this hotel . Left over food from the previous guest was left for me in the room ! ! . No amenities except for a small bar of soap ( was not even replaced for the second day !! )and a shampoo . Everyone is asking for TIPS even the SECURITY at the entrance of the hotel ! ! .

Room Tip: AVOID IT . IF U have to , Take a room with a pool view on the TOP FLOOR .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
First let me thank you for your loyalty to Le Méridien Heliopolis and for posting your constructive comments on TripAdvisor. Indeed, our Hotel needs a new facelift and we are definitely working on it. Rest assured that I have shared your remarks with the Department Heads concerned for their immediate attention and action. I very much regret that this time your expectations were not met and that you did not receive the typical Le Méridien experience we aim to deliver. Myself and the Management Team of Le Méridien Heliopolis will be happy to assist you whenever you plan to visit us again. Kind regards, The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

I have spent a couple of days there, I can tell it was not bad but it is expensive and the food quality and service are not to the level expected. The pool size is not bad and it was clean. Very convenient location near the airport. So it is perfect for meetings and business men. There is also free Internet service. There is a good place there called Darts must try for those who loves English bars. It has a free parking area for guests but for one car only/room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazmazco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementCairo, General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for posting a review on Le Meridien Heliopolis site. Your comments and description of the location you have been to, seems to refer to another Hotel. We take this opportunity to attempt bringing you to live Le Meridien experience and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon. Kind regards, The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cairo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
6.3 mi away
Renaissance Cairo Mirage City Hotel
7.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#43 of 144 in Cairo
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Heliopolis

Address: 51 Al Orouba Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cairo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#21 Business Hotel in Cairo
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the most exclusive site in the heart of Heliopolis lays this 283 rooms and suites elegantly designed hotel, Le Meridien Heliopolis offers a vast spectrum of limitless services, guaranteeing comfort designed with space and charm. The restaurants & bars range from formal to casual offering a unique assortment of dining experiences with an unparallel variety of International cuisine from the five continents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Meridien Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Cairo
Cairo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing