We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Ranked #33 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The good : The hotel location is good, the rooms are clean, the bathrooms are clean. The amnesties in the room include a kettle, iron,TV, iron board, hair dryer .. They all are in a good condition. The swimming pool is small but does the job specially on a hot Cairo afternoon, the swimming pool staff are super attentive, I felt safe leaving my children under their supervision. The breakfast was great, the restaurant was clean, nicely decorated, and the food was good in both the taste and the variety.
The bad : Over Tipping !! I know tipping (baksheesh) is important in Egypt .. But that hotel (and I stayed in other 5 star hotels in Cairo before) is exceptional when it comes to tips!! Everything is done by 2-3 persons rather than the usual one person (the Valet would end up in the valet himself, the garage attendant and a third person to open the doors) and all three will stand starring at you until you give them tips ... same in the lobby, the bellman (it took two persons to deliver one bag and one suitcase on a cart to my room), the restaurant (they served food I didn't ask for and put it on my table asking me to taste it, I thought that was complimentary or something, as I was leaving the restaurant, The Head waiter and two other waiters followed me and my kid told me they must want something, and they did more tips!!)
It seems good morning translates into give me tips in that hotel .. I always tip, but in that hotel it was a must and was overblown.
The SPA is lousy .. I made an appointment and went down to find there was no register to that appointment, the staff were having something to eat (it was 5PM) during the time and while they were eating told me to come back in half an hour (The Egyptian way of telling to you you are not welcome at the time being ) they did not ask my name or room number to even check for the appointment or reschedule a new one ... I had a look inside and there is only on single person dressing room and if you want to change your cloths you will have to wait in line and there is no lounge where you can wait .. you actually stand in line like a supermarket!!
All in all .. It is a nice hotel where you can stay for a layover between flights or a quick Cairo visit .. But it is not a hotel where you can spend sometime and enjoy it .

Room Tip: A third floor room will be directly on the pool ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddy9141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly O, Admin. Assist. to the General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
It is with great concern that I have read your review and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their concerns with us so we can endeavour to meet their expectations. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and confirm that this is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests with. The points you have highlighted in your message were all addressed with the Management Team to prevent reoccurrence. Again, we are sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated and that we have missed the opportunity to impress you. We look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you again soon. Kind regards, the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    184
    80
    41
    36
See reviews for
61
77
65
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel for one week, the front office teams is very friendly and helpful, upgraded to double room for few money including breakfast, the room was spacious and clean.

breakfast quality was convenient, i have not tried lunch and dinner in the hotel. despite the hotel is old, but it is clean and seems to be renovated recently, however, still some tiny things needs to be fixed, i.e. water tap leaks even if you tried to close it as much as possible.

didnt got time to try the pool, so i cannot comment about it, but it looks good.

you may face some difficulties due to its location, as it is on the highway, downtown and most of the destination are on the other side so you need to cross the street which is sometimes extremely difficult and dangerous. a pedestrians bridge maybe so helpful there. and yeah, you will count the planes arriving to Cairo each night :)

make sure to have a room away from the elevator, so not to count the visitors in your floor.

in general, the hotel deserves a very good review.

Room Tip: top floors, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly O, Admin. Assist. ot the General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Ayman,

It is a real pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis as reflected by your positive review.
We are delighted to learn that you’ve enjoyed your overall experience with us, bringing to our attention your good opinion of our Staff for being friendly and helpful, is very much appreciated.

Regarding your comments for the bridge, we just want to inform you that there is a walking tunnel 100 meter only from the hotel to go to the other side of the hotel, as for the hotel being old, we are on the process to commence our renovation plan, which will change the entire hotel in term of furniture, equipments, decoration, internet etc….
Rest assures that we will always make our utmost to make your future stays as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Again we thank you for your support and we hope to be of service to you soon.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

the best price wise convenient hotel near the airport with all the comforting facilities. Good hospitality and nice location . with facility to have a shuttle bus to the airport every hour for free
i really recommend it for any one. plus it is near the ring road , 2 big amazing malls ( city stars and sun city mall )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazaryia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly O, Admin. Assist. to the General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Valued Client,

Delighted to note that you have appreciated your recent stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis, and very proud to read the kind words you have posted expressing your satisfaction with our services and facilities.

We thank you for that and we hope that you are considering Le Méridien Heliopolis, your HOME in Cairo.

We will always look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Amazing that Meridien would allow a property like this to carry that brand name. Is more like a sub-three-star hotel. Poor excuse for business hotel...tired, poor food, bad service. Took 1 1/2 hours to check in!! Had bathrobe and iron/ironing board, but hair-dryer was the hose-attached-to-wall. TV stations were 95% Arabic/local - only English language station was Bloomberg. Bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly O, Admin. Assist. to the General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is with great concern that I have read your review and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, We always appreciate when our guests take the time to share their concerns with us so we can endeavour to meet their expectations. We apologize for not meeting your expectations and confirm that this is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests with. The points you have highlighted in your message were all addressed with the Management Team to prevent reoccurrence. Again, we are sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated and that we have missed the opportunity to impress you. We look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you again soon.
Kind regards,
the Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We’ve been there for one week, to visit Cairo and meet some friends. The whole staff was very friendly. At the first night, we realized, that the air condition doesn’t work. On the next morning, before breakfast, we mentioned this tissue at the reception. After breakfast, it was already fixed. Great service. 5 Points. I can’t say so much about the restaurants at the hotel, because we didn’t test. We’ve been outside in the city, but breakfast was good. Not as excellent as the food outside, but very good anyway. We recommend this hotel to everybody, who’s planning to stay in Cairo without any hesitation.
Bernd

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly O, Admin. Assist. to the General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Bernd,

It is a real pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis as reflected by your positive review.

A great appreciation for your comments regarding our staff being friendly.
Rest assured that customer care is amongst our highest priorities and we will do our utmost to merit your support and loyalty to Le Méridien Heliopolis. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Having spent more than 40 days in the last year in Le Meridien Heliopolis, it is a very good stay.S
Spacious and good rooms, excellent and very friendly staff, very good breakfast. The Thai restaurant is also fine.

Room Tip: The rooms with pool view are better, though with some noise from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly O, Admin. Assist. to the General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear AMP66,

It is a real pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay at Le Méridien Heliopolis as reflected by your positive review.
Your lovely words are really appreciated regarding our friendly staff.

Our aim is to deliver the best and we will always make every effort to make your future stays as comfortable and pleasant as possible. Again we thank you for your support and we hope to be of service to you soon.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is my last night at the Le Meridien Heliopolis, Cairo. I am writing from the lobby while I am listening to the beautiful live music from Mai and others. I've had the most enjoyable stay ever in Cairo. I can't sya anything more than what others has said so far. Excellent staff, excellent hotel, anything is done to please their guests. My daughter had a very nice time with everyone looking after her while we eating. The Manager, Mr. George is always around, asking customers how they feel about the service and more than willing to listen and act.

I've stayed for 9 nights at this wonderful hotel and I am really sad to leave, but I shall come again, and again, and again.
The hotel in the centre of everything where shops, banks, chemists few minutes walk.
The staff ( Mr. Essam, Khalid, Ahmed Ali, Mohamed Baheej, Lotfy, Ahmed) are a real credit - very attentive, extremely polite and everything run very smoothly. They do more than is required of them. You immediately feel that staff enthusiasm is contagious. The room was a perfect size, very clean, with all facilities in place. Waiting staff served the meal very efficiently, and it was fresh, hot and absolutely delicious. I have no hesitation of recommending the hotel to others, specially those with children.
I feel the hotel follow the role "
"Give trust and you’ll get it double in return"– Kees Kamies

Room Tip: The hotel in the middle of the city. If you need a taxi, look at the prices inside the hotel and ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldermoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelly O, Admin Assist to the General Manager at Le Meridien Heliopolis, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Aldermoor,
We were lucky to have you with us and thank you for selecting Le Méridien Heliopolis.
It is very rewarding to read your motivating comments and we thank you for it
We are thrilled to know about your positive experience with those charming and inspiring words regarding our Excellent Hotel and in particular our staff.
We are really delighted with your contentment, as much as you have enjoyed your stay, we are pleased, your fascinating and amazing comments concerning our staff being very attentive, enthusiastic are very supportive and encouraging.
Rest assure that we will always do our utmost to make your stay always comfortable and memorable.
We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service to you again and again.
Kind regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.4 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
0.5 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cairo Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#6 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Cairo Airport
2.4 mi away
Fairmont Towers Heliopolis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Heliopolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Heliopolis

Property: Le Meridien Heliopolis
Address: 51 Al Orouba Street | Heliopolis, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cairo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#21 Business Hotel in Cairo
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Heliopolis 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the most exclusive site in the heart of Heliopolis lays this 283 rooms and suites elegantly designed hotel, Le Meridien Heliopolis offers a vast spectrum of limitless services, guaranteeing comfort designed with space and charm. The restaurants & bars range from formal to casual offering a unique assortment of dining experiences with an unparallel variety of International cuisine from the five continents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Heliopolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Heliopolis Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Hotel Cairo
Le Meridien Cairo
Cairo Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing