We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Windsor and Mr. Fayek”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #22 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Windsor and Mr. Fayek”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The Windsor hotel is an old yet charming place that will inspire. My significant other and I stayed for two days and while we were there we had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Samir Fayek and his son Mina. Samir arranged incredible tours for us around Cairo, Alexandria and even a cruise down the Nile, all with local tour guides meeting and guiding us along the way. Samir is a dedicated, hardworking man who did his best and more to ensure that we enjoyed our time in Egyp, all the while learning more about its people and their history along the way. We would highly recommend him for anyone travelling to Egypt and looking to arrange engaging tours. We had looked around a little before we came to Egypt and the prices he offered were reasonable and fair compared to everything else we had seen. Mina was also a very kind, personable young man with excellent English. I have to admit that he knows his cuisine- he took us for some of the best meals of our lives!

Some notes regarding the hotel:
-the staff are wonderful, very genuine, kind people who went out of their way to help us
-it’s in a busy district with a mosque right across the street so it is as lively as it is noisy- bring ear plugs! --make sure you’ll be given a room with a bath/toilet if that’s what you need because not all rooms have these facilities and they do cost extra
-we were originally given a room that had not been used in a long time so everything was very dusty, check the sheets before you go to sleep
-lastly, sorry to say, but we did have unexpected visitors during the night…hopefully they have fumigated since then

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    217
    78
    33
    42
See reviews for
71
165
160
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitzbuehel
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Windsor is located on the wonderfully-named Alfi Bey (Lord Alfi) Street. Past crumbling examples of Khedive Ismail’s nineteenth-century building boom, we pulled up opposite an outdoor café filled with hookah-smoking men. Across the street, flanked by clusters of trees, an art-deco entranceway led into our port of call.
   After stepping into the lobby, a dusky narrow space whose Bakelite switchboard might have been lifted from the movie "Casablanca", we proceeded past posters of Gstaad and St Moritz into what the Schindler Elevator Company describes as the oldest lift in Egypt if not the world. For two months, we stayed there, frequently dining in the legendary Barrel Lounge, where we were invariably indulged with the warmth that is so characteristic of the hotel staff.
   If there is one word to describe the Windsor it is atmosphere: bought by the current owners in 1962, time has stood still within its walls, and for anyone who favours the genuine over the one-size-fits-all, this is your place. To top it all, Samir Fayek, who served at the reception for several years and now looks after the hotel clients, will cater to your every touristic needs in perfwith unfailing

Room Tip: number 5 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterJohnKitzbuehel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We (three girls) stayed in Cairo for 3 nights at the Winsdor Hotel. The hotel is exactly how it is described, it is cool and interesting, especially the lounge area.
More importantly, we were put in touch with a man at the hotel named Samir Fayek, who arranges private tours of virtually anything you would want to see in Egypt. Originally we just asked him to arrange a day trip to Alexandria for us and we were very happy with it so we asked him to arrange our trip to the Nile. He gave us a fair price quote from the beginning, without even haggling and it was cheaper than the other tours we had already looked at. We were three girls traveling together and he treated us like his daughters. He gave us advice and arranged EVERYTHING for us. We had a long list of things we wanted to see and he accommodated everything. He is a well-connected man with knowledgeable, friendly guides and very professional drivers. We were passed from guide to guide in effortless transitions and Samir called to check on us frequently. There was never a moment of confusion or worry and our whole trip ran very smoothly. He even added a few extras in for us as we went, like he arranged guides for 2 places that we hadn't planned on. Part of our package included returning to Luxor by train. Unfortunately there was a railworker's strike and the trains stopped running. Before we had even found out about this, Samir was on it and had his contact arrange alternate transportation for us and we were provided with several options. As we watched the dismay of other travelers trying to figure out what to do, we had a car waiting for us outside within 40 minutes and we were on the road. This is to say that Samir went above and beyond consistently to ensure our enjoyment, safety and experience. I would recommend him without hesitation!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BeccaGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saitama, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here in 2009 for a couple of nights and we were a bit shocked when we arrived. The hotel is in a rather unsafe area of Caro and our room was old, like rooms in the 1950s. I like old style if it's clean, however our room wasn't. The reception staff was just OK. The only positive thing in this hotel is the bar, where we had some beers and coffees and we liked the atmosphere of it. Would I stay here again? Not sure about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eur0peankiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moers
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Don't be afraid to have a look at all places like Midan Tahrir. But make sure to have a place where you find native people for exchange of experiences. WINDSOR HOTEL is situated in the center of past and actual events you are looking for if you travel to cities like Cairo.
The Doss family owns the Windsor. Wafik and Wasfi Doss are competent partners to introduce you into the city of Cairo and Egypt as a historical and social focal point. Ask them! And meet a various number of interesting guests in the barrel bar. The atmosphere of this Hotel is based on deep philanthropic and religious convictions that lead to the habitual question: "What can I do for you?" Come and test this Hotel - and because of its central position in Cairo I add: don't forget your earplugs in order to find sleep during the night!

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgunterMoers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This hotel was built circa 1892, staying at the Windsor hotel is an experience of the real colonial past, if your looking for new plush surroundings this wont be for you. Not sure when the last make over was but I think they shouldn't change a thing its the real "macoy", I loved the old telephone system which must date back to the 1930's and is still in use, amazing. The old attendant lift was straight from a Ealing movie (old British films of the1920's ) the barrel bar was typical of a traditional colonial establishment, the only thing I didn't like was the smoking allowed.

This hotel wont be for every one as its doesn't have many modern comforts, but I loved it.

I would stay again if I visit Cairo, which will never happen...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mondomodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Windsor Hotel is truly run by a caring staff. Everyone at the front desk wants to make sure you have a good stay in Cairo. The restaurant/lounge bar has a "cool" vibe about it in this very old hotel. Plus the food was delicious (lots of vegetarian options) & the bar makes a great mojito. My only problem was the bed; it will probably take a few more days for my back to recover. If this is the price range you are looking for in downtown area, then you'd probably enjoy the Windsor. For me, I found I need my creature comforts in Cairo, so would prefer Zamalek & pay the price again for the Hilton.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karen317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#23 of 138 in Cairo
316 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 138 in Cairo
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 138 in Cairo
233 reviews
10.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#2 of 138 in Cairo
1,266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#47 of 138 in Cairo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Property: Windsor Hotel Cairo
Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing