We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great management and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Adealaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great management and staff”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Old place in need of a face lift but still has great character and charm. Central Cairo and close to sites. Food and service is great. Their restaurant is full of old world antiques and charm. It used to be the headquarters of the british army during second world war. It is a family run business and the owners are first class gentlemen full of old school charm and will do anything for you. All staff were helpful and freindly. Rooms are spacious and have a bar fridge which you can put your cold beers in from the restaurant. Ask for a room with a soft matress. Most rooms are air conditioned - just ask. For the price - it is a gem. When you first arrive dont get scared off by the outside appearance. Its is old Cairo.

Room Tip: Ask for air con and soft bed with attached bathroom etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    217
    78
    33
    42
See reviews for
70
165
158
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you're look for an experience, stay here. It's walls are steeped in history and management works to keep today's service an authentic representation of the hotel's past. The place has a simplicity to it that, interestingly, was once colossally colonial. I stayed here a few years back and really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Cairo is very noisy, but this place was just off major roads, so you could get a decent sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDeCoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
314 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a 3 generation family run hotel in the heart of Cairo, but not in a main square which can be noisy. It is very close to a metro station and the family who owns it and runs it is wonderful. I was in and out of Cairo multiple times and I loved coming back to the Windsor. It was highlighted in the "Around the World" series with Michael Palin which is why I chose it. It has a very memorable "barrel bar" which is atmospheric to say the least. After a busy day in Cairo I loved coming back there, usually for a pot of tea, but it is also a bar. The owners will take very good care of you. I was a woman travelling solo and I loved the hotel and my very comfortable room. I am aware of all the turmoil in Cairo at the moment. If you are traveling there, the family will take good care of you. If you go in the future, please keep in mind this very special hotel!

Room Tip: Upper storey is always good in Cairo, but it is in a centrally located area which is part of a neigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColoradoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed at the Windsor for 2 nights in mid June 2013. Really liked this hotel - especially the bar/lounge area; great place to relax, sip a beer with WIFI access for emails etc. Clean and comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location, being a 15 minute stroll to the Museum. Location is also very safe and secure, despite being close to Tahrir Square. Hotel put me in touch with tour guide - Samir Fayek, who arranged for a very comprehensive tour of the sights (The lack of tourists and traffic meant that I could accomplish in one day what usually requires two days - leaving my remaining day to explore the Museum and enjoy the Cairo atmosphere). Thoroughly recommend both this hotel and Samir Fayek.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is unlike any that I've ever stayed in. The bar and the elevator are amazing, as is the decor and photos in the rooms.

Our rooms were huge, some of them don't have aircon, but you can opt to upgrade rooms when you get there if its a problem.

The location is awesome, there's a metro entrance a street away, plenty of eating and coffee / shisha places downstairs and a main street a two minute walk away which is lined with shops and market stalls.

Breakfast is really basic.

The staff are great, I highly recommend getting an airport transfer with Samir who is associated with the hotel ( samirfayek@hotmail.com / +20 12 399 51 47) - so much better then having to deal with taxi drivers and he is a tour guide so points out all the sights and gives you an intro to egypt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here many years ago on business. Rather shabby and 'old-fashioned' at the time but having been there for 3 or 4 days I really got to like it. It felt like I was appearing in a black and white movie such as Casablanca or The Thirty-Nine Steps.
I should have known what to expect when I spotted a photograph of Michael Palin (as intrepid explorer) and owner high up on the wall in reception.
Very much hustle and bustle of Cairo outside. Cage lift to all floors. Male cleaners in Kaftan and Fez hiding in the shadows on landings. Bare floorboards and so on.
Take your own bath plug and toilet paper.
I may be doing them an injustice. I'm sure thing are better now.
A very nice time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 341666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I had 2 stressful days in Cairo...single American female travelling alone and I got lost in Cairo TWICE. The Barrel Bar was an oasis in that chaotic city. I ate almost every meal there. At night, I sat outside and had some tea and people watched and felt safe. It didn't hurt that there was an armed guard at the door! LOL The hotel was outdated and the elevator was ancient, so I only rode it once and took the stairs the rest of the time. The a/c didn't work very well and when I opened the window for air, flies and noise from street (even at 3am!) bothered me. The staff was friendly and helpful (postcard stamps, answering questions, getting taxis). I wish I left some tip for the staff before I left. Also, picked all Egyptian hotels for their rooftop terrace and I asked about it when I got there and they said that it was closed. I sneaked up the next day and saw it hadn't been used in a long time...all the plants were dead from lack of water and caring.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
315 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
379 reviews
10.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#3 of 137 in Cairo
1,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#52 of 137 in Cairo
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Property: Windsor Hotel Cairo
Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing