We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such helpful staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Hotel Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #21 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Such helpful staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

The staff at the Windsor went out of their way to make sure that my friend and I were okay every place we went. Whether it was taking us to get a SIM card for our cell phone or directing us to a pharmacy for sunscreen and off, they were nice, patient, and very helpful. That the building has not been changed since its original British Officers Club status is great; it is beautiful with lots of unique charms.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crosby372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    213
    76
    33
    41
See reviews for
69
159
153
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2010

The Hotel Windsor is worth looking at. We were trying to stay at the Longchamps but it was full and they suggested this hotel as an alternative. We could not book the hotel directly or through most services but were able to book it through Venere.com. We spent two enjoyable evenings eating and drinking in the 2nd floor lounge. The lounge staff were friendly and helpful - the front desk staff were ok. The room was large, clean, quiet but also aging and basic - as was expected. The bathroom was large and ok - which probably is all you expect at this price point - and plenty of hot water! Cairo is a noisy city but the street noise outside wasn't a big problem in our room. Cairo is difficult to find your way around so make sure you have a driver or have a good map.

We appreciated the pre-arranged transfer from the airport to the hotel as our drive had great personality and was a good tour guide. The hotel arranged a driver for our pyramids tour the next day and he was good - we had to be very specific that we wanted to do a private tour and that we were going to Giza, Saqqara, and Dashur. The hotel called a taxi to take us back to the airport and we were amazed the car made it - but we did get there on time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtmwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionehic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

After disappointedly staying one night at Pension Roma, we moved to Windsor Hotel. The ownesr/managers and staff were so incredibly helpful and hospitable, the beds were a touch hard but still comfortable,everything was clean and good hot showers. The food in the restaurant is mediocre. Instead, for good cheap Egyptians eats I would recommend Gad which is very close by. Also, I cannot recommend the laundry service as a few of my things were stretched out and the dye rubbed out of a pair of my pants. But truly, everything else was fabulous. It is a three star hotel, so keep that in mind. It has an old world elegance and charm. Free wi-fi in the lounge. We really appreciated our stay there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dionehic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2010

We decided to stay here for one night before our Gecko tour started. It was a good place to stay for an initial impression of Cairo. We were treated very well.

I agree that cleanliness is sometimes an issue, but I think that is true everywhere in Cairo. Everything in Cairo has a layer of dust because it's in the middle of the desert.

Pluses: We were picked up at the airport with no problem even though our plane was an hour late. We were able to leave our bags at the front desk while we went to the museum. The night manager set us up with a taxi to our next hotel for a reasonable price.

Minuses: Nothing significant.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2010

I liked it! You have to come to the Windsor Hotel with certain mind set. If you are looking for that old world charm, of traveling to a unique place in the world and want to experience it as traveler might have in that 1920s - 1950s than the Windsor is for you. Over look the cracked paint in some places or older carpet as the hotel is not perfect in that respect. But, sitting in the bar soaking in all the many years and many travelers that have stayed there in the past was great. As a solo traveler I met a lot of nice unique guests staying at the hotel. Some were first timers and others were repeat customers. I did not personally hear of any complaints of the hotel while staying there and everybody seem quite happy.
The support service staff was very good, and the management was always willing to help. This hotel was a good value, as it was in the center of old Cairo close 5 min walk to the market, and a 10-15 min. walk to the Museum. Center Cairo is a very busy place, and a little noisy at time outside the hotel.
I met the owner one morning as he went to each guest at morning breakfast and apologized in advance for any inconvenient as a movie that would be filming there through out the day. Upon returning from the day the film crew as packing up. They trashed the place, but upon showering and changing I exited my room to find the Windsor support staff quickly cleaning the hotel as if the film crew were never there.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moxiepener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

There's lots of cheap hostels around Cairo where you can find a bed for under $20US. If you want to "splurge" a little, try the "Windsor Hotel."

The hotel is right in downtown Cairo, walking distance from the Egyptian museum and the Talaat Harb shopping district. The Nasser Metro stop is also walking distance (20minutes) and can get you to old Coptic Cairo for 1LEP.

The Windsor is lots of old world charm: think dark wood paneling, cool antique elevator with bowtied bellhops. The lounge bar feels like a cross between jumangi and titanic. Very convenient to have free wifi internet in the lounge, which makes a great respite from the bustle of downtown Cairo.

Samir and the reception staff were all very helpful when we had questions about transportation and our stay in Cairo. Samir even gave us free postcards on checking out.

Cons: the beds are not luxury comfortable, and the pillows were lumpy and hard. The rooms are generally clean, but you should be prepared to compromise on what you expect from a chain hotel. The complementary breakfast is simple (bread, jam, fresh mango juice) but good. If you order extra breakfast, we recommend the regular omelette over the cheese. There are lots of cheap local restaurants to eat in the area, but you might need to speak a little arabic and be brave.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed in this hotel for one night just to catch a flight and paid next to nothing for the room. The room was very small and we weren't impressed by the 'charm' that others speak of. The shower/sink area in the bedroom seemed very dated and dirty and I felt hesitant to take a shower. We got to the hotel very late at night but stopped in and saw the bar which we loved.The breakfast room looked very nice, but we were in too much of a rush to have more than a piece of toast and some juice. The hotel reception also set up a cab to the airport for us which was very helpful. I write to take this review lightly because I've read other reviews about renovations and have seen the pictures that others have posted and our room looked nothing like those. I'm sure that we were given the cheapest room since we paid so little and were there for only a few short hours. If we would have been there longer we probably would have been given something better/asked for a renovated room.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#40 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 139 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
8.4 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 40 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#47 of 139 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Property: Windsor Hotel Cairo
Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing