We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“give it a chance if you want culture....not great...not awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2010

stayed at Windsor for 4 nights, its def old! over 100 years dont forget!! communal areas are ancient, its dark and dingy but full of character, including the staff!! the lift is unbelievable!! do not stay here if you are used to modern, clean contemporary hotels! you will be disappointed. Good points are beds have clean sheets, water is hot, but other than that..unless you have the luck of getting a refurbished room, the rooms are all old, peeling paint, cracked sinks, ensuites are pretty dreadful if you have one of the unconditioned rooms like we did...towels are old but changed daily, rooms are not dirty as such, just old, which is often mistaken for dirt, the floors could be cleaner, our room def needed a good hoover when we arrived and did not get hoovered at all in 4 days....! do not stay at the front of the hotel if you can help it, tooting horns all night, we had 2 sleepless nights then changed rooms to sadly another unconditioned room, there were nicer rooms but we did not get one despite asking for room with private facilities, if you do not request private facilities you just have a room and have to use communal toilet and shower shared with other rooms on the floor. The staff are charming and helpful, but this hotel wants money for most things that are not included, you have to buy maps and rent hairdyers....also be aware that if you book the tour guide to the pyramids with the hotel, its 125 egyptian pounds per person, this does not include any of the entries to the pyramids, the imhotep museum or lunch, so it ends up being another 125 egyptian pounds on top of what you have paid, the tour guide and driver then expect tip at end of day, which is usual i suppose and wherever you visit on the tour, locals stop you to take pics and then want money, so say no straight away otherwise they just go ahead!! even the police want money if you take their pics as they ride camels so its all about money money money...also the tour includes a stop at a paper making factory which is really a shop and you get the hard sell to buy stuff after the demo, but you can easily just say no, we did. Back to the hotel, the lounge and bar area is very atmospheric and the food here is good, no stomach upsets for us, we ate at the windsor every night. They have a good menu. Breakfast is included, its just tea or coffee, with croissants, toast and jams and butter, its ok and overall the price is good for the stay. Not sure I would stay there again, but would prob not ever go back to Cairo as its pretty filthy place, Windsor hotel location is good, close to old islamic district and 26 july street for shopping etc. so to recap i would say give it a chance if you want true egyptian culture, its not geat, but its not awful....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentTwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2010

Located in a safe neighborhood near the subway and restaurants, The Windsor Hotel gives its patrons a chance to step back in time. Claiming to have the oldest elevator in the world, there is a lot about the Windsor that is old but shouldn't claim bragging rights. The staff was wonderful, and the bar oozes with personality, but the rooms definitely need to be updated with new mattresses, carpeting, lighting, and plumbing. We loved our stay here, but I would definitely urge the owners to do some sprucing up.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shandachelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

My husband had stayed at The Windsor Hotel 30-odd years ago and had fond memories of it so he wanted to visit it again on our recent trip to Cairo.
We booked the most expensive type of room and it was described as having 'parquet floors' and antique furniture. It turned out to be extremely dingy and tired with twin beds which were quite comfortable but with lumpy pillows that should have been thrown out long ago. The room also needed a really good thorough cleaning.
The bathroom was added on 'inside' the bedroom. The lavatory did not flush properly, there were no stoppers in either the sink or the bath and the shower curtain was made of fabric so it took a long time to dry. The two towels were frayed and grey rather than white.
We explained to reception on our first morning that the loo didn't work but nothing was done about it and our bedroom wasn't even serviced. When we asked why, we were told it was because we hadn't left the key behind and they interpreted that as meaning that we didn't want it tidied for security reasons.
The breakfast consisted of a couple of croissants, a horrible tasting fruit juice and the worst lukewarm coffee and tea ever made. The dining room where breakfast is served is also tatty and tired.
Like previous reviewers, we would agree that the reception staff are helpful and friendly but the rest of the hotel needs a complete overhaul. There are better rooms than the one we were allocated (No. 117) because we saw them when they were open for cleaning so we were obviously unlucky. Overall, it was a very disappointing two-night stay and so we moved to a different hotel in a better location for our remaining three nights.
The Windsor Hotel obviously has had a great deal of charm in past years but it needs to
do a lot more to maintain its previous reputation.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo_Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

I've recently returned from 5 nights in Cairo where I stayed at the Windsor with my parents. We were welcomed on our arrival by Samir, who made our stay at the hotel special. He ensured that all our needs were met and was very helpful in suggestions for organising our days and visits to the sites. Samir informed us that he organises trips and tours, with an optional tour guide. So we decided to take the trip to the pyramid sites of Saqqara and Giza (with a guide) as organised by Samir. It was convenient as we didn't have to try and organise things ourself. The driver and guide were on time and the trip all in all was good. We had a very good driver (Said/Sayeed) who was very calm, which in the hectic traffic was a huge bonus. Said actually pointed out all the sites, so the guide is only really needed if you want further information (as despite his great helpfulness, Said's English is limited - though he was able to offer some excellent information on local points of interest that the guide did not).
The staff at the hotel are helpful and can also offer local information. Efficiency is brilliant - when we called reception for something, a staff member usually brought it up within minutes. The hotel itself is full of character and history. There is a restaurant on the second floor, though taxes are added (12 percent and a further 10 percent), as is the case with all sit down restaurants in Cairo. Although the hotel is a 15 minute walk from the Egyptian Museum and River Nile, it's a nice location as you get to see downtown, which you might not venture into if you stayed on the Nile. It's particularly nice to see the local area in the evening when the locals are out shopping.
Breakfast is included in the price and includes an orange drink, followed by a variation of breads (toast, croissant, rolls) with tea and coffee.
Although you can get information and support from the various desk staff, Samir is by far the most welcoming and helpful. He made us feel at home, treating us like family and offered a personal touch, which you cannot get in the bigger hotels. He offered local information and told us about taxi prices for the day we wanted to venture out to the local sites. He was accomodating to all our needs, without having to ask. This made a huge difference to our stay, making is a very positive experience. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

When we travel we try to find old hotels with some history and the Windsor is certainly that. The wide range of views on this hotel must be due to the room you receive. We arrived late and put in Room #1 which has a broken copy machine outside the door, and is located next to a hall toilet and the cleaning closet. Some rooms are large, airy and nicely furnished, ours was not. The beds were really hard, the floor dirty, old wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The location is in central downtown so the air and dirt in this vicinity are thick.

The staff is very helpful, but not very experienced in putting together a tour.

When we returned to Cairo we stayed at the Mena House and decided that the $280 cost represented good value compared to the $70 for Room #1 where we stayed for 3 days.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nydiscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

POSITIVE: staff: courteous, friendly, helpful, knowledgeable; free WiFi; excellent cheap eats within easy walking distance; great sweet shop nearby; easy walk to mosques, souks, bazaars, museums; there are less expensive places nearby, but smaller rooms, fewer facilities, and I don't know about their staff; I would absolutely stay here again and I've already recommended it to my travel agent friends

NEEDS IMPROVEMENT: nearly everybody (staff, guests) smoked, and community rooms/lounge were impossible for me; continental breakfast was too little, same every day; a little bit of "Egyptian" for breakfast could go a long way

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyFromCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2010

I should have paid more attention to my Rough Guide which on reflection got it spot on,
The good points were that the hotel is located in a good central location and the desk staff were courteous and helpful. Problem is that this hotel trades, in there own words, on it's faded glory. The ancient wooden passenger lift and the colonial bar are quite novel, but beyond that it's just run down and very dirty. In mine the carpets and curtains were filthy and the wallpaper was barely staying on the walls. I wonder how long you can keep extracting income from a formerly nice hotel without putting a penny piece back into it.
At 46 dollars a night for a room it's also quite poor value and for that the breakfast you're served is laughable; a small glass of orange squash, a croissant and a bread roll with one cheese triangle and portion of jam.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paspatout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.8 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#24 of 139 in Cairo
336 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
0.8 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#33 of 139 in Cairo
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#89 of 139 in Cairo
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#43 of 139 in Cairo
249 reviews
10.4 mi away
Le Passage Cairo
Le Passage Cairo
#1 of 139 in Cairo
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel Cairo

Address: 19 Alfi Bey Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#18 Business Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £25 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel Cairo 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Windsor Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairo Windsor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing