We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Zamalek, Cairo”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #88 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Maine, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel in Zamalek, Cairo”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Nice Hotel located in quieter Zamalek area of Cairo. The rooms are warn but clean and the staff is very friendly. We stayed there twice, room 219 which had a large patio overlooking the city from the 11th floor and room 304 which was very large but had no balcony. The air conditioning was not the best but as we were only there nights it was no problem. The Cairo Cellar is an English style pub located in the hotel and was very cozy with average prices and good food. Breakfast was basic continental with great pastries but no meats. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    51
    44
    18
    27
See reviews for
19
39
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I spent a week at the hotel a couple of weeks ago. I enjoyed my stay because the room was clean and the people that worked there where very nice and helpful. The area is quiet and the location is great. My recommendation is however that you should avoid the guided tours provided by the hotel. The guides’ historical knowledge may not always be good because you might not get a licensed guide. I have read elsewhere that this is true for other hotels as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abkmmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vordingborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

The title says it all, everyone at the hotel was very kind, but everything in the room was half broken (the walls, the bathtub, the window). The elevator was scary, and the breakfast mediocre. Great view over the city if your room is on the right side of the hotel.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NulloF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Oamaru
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Budget hotel in a good area. You can walk to shops and two very good restaurants are just out the front door. Friendly and efficient staff. Average facilities. Rooms clean and spacious. Nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tremont59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2010

It wasn't a great hotel, but it was at the best area of Cairo, especially if you travel alone. We were visiting a friend so we had to move around on our own a lot, and Zamalek was the best area to do that. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was friendly. We were satisfied in general.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Stayed at this hotel in December 2009, arranged by our tour agent. Nothing much to say about this hotel as there’s nothing much the hotel has to offer either. It is a small adequate hotel. Located in Zamalek area. Embassies are all around. It could be the safest place in town with tight security or it could be the most dangerous place. Not far from the hotels are some shops. Grocery shops, pharmacies etc. Not a problem if you need to buy basic items such as bottled water. Walk a little bit more there are fast food outlets. As for attraction, I don’t find any nearby attraction. Most of the attractions are in Cairo anyway.

The room is very basic. Didn’t expect much anyway. TV is working find. Limited channels but some English channel . Better than nothing at all. Carpet is filthy. The room smells like cigarette smokes. Actually, everywhere in the hotel smells like cigarette smokes. Having to stay there for 4 days, even the clothes in the luggage smells like cigarette smokes. The wall is super thin. We could hear people walking in the hallway very loud and clear despite how a person walks. Even worst when someone is knocking on someone else’s door. Feels like the whole hotel could fall off anytime soon.

Complementary breakfast, just like any other 3 star hotel would offer, lots of different kind of bread (which is actually not bad), with butter, jam, cheese. There’s jus, cereal, coffee and tea. If you want egg, you have to request it. Just have to tell them how you like it. We only know about it on the very last day.

Most of the important talking to the hotel reception/staff is done by our tour guide in Arabic. Not that they can’t speak English, it’s just that they don’t look very friendly and very attentive to begin with. The hotel definitely has not internet…and believe this…no printer!!! We wanted to do the online check in and need to print the boarding pass. They couldn’t help us in any way. We saw the business center extension number in the directory but whenever we called, no one is on the other side of the line to answer. I don’t understand why they even bother to put the extension number there.

Since there’s nothing that I can compare with this hotel, I would say, stay there with NO EXPECTATION at all!!! and you’ll be fine.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Akit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

spacious room with a large but not ............. balcony. No lock at bathroom door!! Helpful and kind staff. Good restaurant on top. Was able to see the bfast only which was satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben_yet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#42 of 138 in Cairo
334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#87 of 138 in Cairo
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#79 of 138 in Cairo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Horus House Hotel
Horus House Hotel
#49 of 138 in Cairo
47 reviews
1.8 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#21 of 138 in Cairo
580 reviews
2.2 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#34 of 138 in Cairo
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 22 Taha Hussein Str | Zamalek District, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 138 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — President Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel occupying the first & top 4 floors of an apartment building in residential area near embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing