We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for the money”
Review of President Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
President Hotel
Ranked #87 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great Value for the money”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Good, clean, small basic hotel in a Quiet safe neighborhood. Friendly staff, some English spoken. Quiet is important to us and believe me, Cairo, is noisy!
Stayed here three nights to see the wonderful amazing Cairo Museum, pyramids, sphinx, Memphis, Sakkara, Cairo Citadel, Mohamed Aly Mosque, Hanging Church and Wonderful Khan El Khalili Bazaar-all things in Cairo or close to Cairo, so we didn't hang out in our room all the time - just a clean place to sleep. Breakfast not bad either.
Nearby little store to walk to to buy bottled water. Only negative was one of the taxi drivers we picked up in front of the hotel - should have reported him to the tourist police as he dropped us off one day nowhere we wanted to be telling us it was the location. Be ware of this in Egypt totally. All in all a good value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    51
    44
    18
    27
See reviews for
19
39
25
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2010

the other reviews are spot on. decent hotel for those that plan to be out and about most of the day and do not need infinite amenities. Rooms worn but are clean enough (match what you would find at a nice motel or express hotel in the US), friendly staff, good "general" location of the city.. but not as well know to city cabs as the major chains, a/c worked, great view, bonus: heard the "call to prayer." great value! but if price was equal to the hotel chains... it's egyptian "charm" would not hold up against the luxuries... (and I can compare since we had to switch hotels due to travel plans changing and the hotel being fully booked).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myscon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Hotel is basic but in a good area. I would go there again, Breakfast is fine too. Make sure you get a room with air-conditioning as not all the units work.
BUT we asked the doorman to get us a taxi and the driver rifled our suitcases and stole possessions. The hotel was not interested in doing anything about it . We had problems with taxis that we hailed ourselves too and the women were indecently assaulted in the Kahn el Kalili market, which incidently is very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaLondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

The breakfast was good, the room clean and you could get a glimpse of the Nile.
Definitely do not take the cleark's recomandation for a taxi for airport or other trip in Cairo because you will get riped off and/or taken in other parts of Cairo "just to have a look".
This is general advice for Cairo. You are looked upon as a tourist that need to be striped of his/her money in order to "never ever" want to return to this town.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Nice Hotel located in quieter Zamalek area of Cairo. The rooms are warn but clean and the staff is very friendly. We stayed there twice, room 219 which had a large patio overlooking the city from the 11th floor and room 304 which was very large but had no balcony. The air conditioning was not the best but as we were only there nights it was no problem. The Cairo Cellar is an English style pub located in the hotel and was very cozy with average prices and good food. Breakfast was basic continental with great pastries but no meats. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasd61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

I spent a week at the hotel a couple of weeks ago. I enjoyed my stay because the room was clean and the people that worked there where very nice and helpful. The area is quiet and the location is great. My recommendation is however that you should avoid the guided tours provided by the hotel. The guides’ historical knowledge may not always be good because you might not get a licensed guide. I have read elsewhere that this is true for other hotels as well.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abkmmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vordingborg, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2010

The title says it all, everyone at the hotel was very kind, but everything in the room was half broken (the walls, the bathtub, the window). The elevator was scary, and the breakfast mediocre. Great view over the city if your room is on the right side of the hotel.

Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NulloF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cairo
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Flamenco
Golden Tulip Flamenco
#50 of 137 in Cairo
325 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pharaohs Hotel & Casino
1.7 mi away
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
Swiss Inn Hotel Cairo
#75 of 137 in Cairo
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
Horizon Shahrazad Hotel
#102 of 137 in Cairo
46 reviews
4.1 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#57 of 137 in Cairo
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
Cairo Khan Suites Hotel
#93 of 137 in Cairo
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to President Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about President Hotel

Property: President Hotel
Address: 22 Taha Hussein Str | Zamalek District, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — President Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Hotel occupying the first & top 4 floors of an apartment building in residential area near embassies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your President Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
President Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing