We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but..............”
Review of Conrad Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Conrad Cairo
Ranked #11 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Thomson's put us in this hotel instead of the Sofitel Gizza. We were very disappointed to learn that the Conrad is 16kms+ from the pyramids. However if that doesn't matter to you and you want a comfortable room and excellent but expensive food then you should enjoy Conrad. The breakfast is to die for! We had teething problems as there was noisy renovation work going on plus our shower water wouldn't drain away. We were moved to the 24th executive floor and that was fine but it took several hours for anyone to listen to our complaints. The beds are the most comfortable we have ever experienced with huge down filled pillows.
Would recommend this hotel just be aware that you are situated on a very busy three lane road and not near any attractions. Later there will be a choice of restaurants but during our stay there was only one. The buffet is a good choice but they do add nearly 25% to the bill for various taxes.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lusyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,626 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2009

We stayed at the Conrad Hilton for a short break during our 2 week holiday in Egypt, and it was the best hotel we have ever stayed at. We had brilliant views from our hotel room of the Nile (try to get a room on a high as floor as you can afford). The bedrooms are truly 5 star with the most comfortable bed we have ever been in, and, a pillow menu! Yes thats right, you have a choice of pillows to choose from, to ensure a comfortable night! What service! We had two bedrooms with my husband and me in one, and sister in another bedroom, so we know we weren't just lucky with our room. The bathrooms are wonderful, the staff for your room can't do enough, very very helpful and friendly. The double glazing is amazing as when you're in your room, you don't hear a sound from the road, but whe you open your balcony door you hear the cacaphony of noise which you would expect from Cairo! but you're not disturbed by it in your room. We had our best night sleep from our 2 week trip to Egypt. Other hotels may class themselves as 5 star, but this one truly is.

The breakfasts and restuarants are great, some of the staff could smile a bit more, but hey you can't win them all.

We are hoping to visit Cairo again when we do a Nile Cruise, and will definetly be staying here again.

You can get a cheaper rate sometimes at this hotel if you book as part of a package with another holiday company or tour package, as they can get better discounts than an individual booking, sometimes.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionaandbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

Very nice; my rating would have been a 5 if we didn't run into a few service issues.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
Thank ballenhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2009

We went for a short business trip. I found the hotel staff very very friendly. I loved the cook, as I was the only vegan in the lot, he made special pasta for me.

I love the hospitality of this hotel

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SPPatelIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This is good business hotel. Has all 5 star facilities. However the rooms are bit dated. The hotel staff is very friendly and courteous. They go out of the way to make you feel comfortable. However only one restaurant is working. Rest of the restaurants are work in progress. Prior to reservatiions when we made our booking, we asked about the restaurants and unfortunately for the reservation staff lied, saying all restaurants are working. Do get the breakfast package, it is worth it. Room service is good too, excellent Nasi Goreng. They have a bank in the basement you can get your money changed. Though most rooms have a Nile view, but it is not the best Nile view. For $250 a night for 3 guest inclusive of breakfast was a good deal. However will not be back if the restaurants are not working. Would prefer the beautiful Grand Hyatt or the oppulent Four Seasons.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WindyCity_Injuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2009

First of all let me state the good things of the hotel. It is clearly a nicely located 5 * hotel. It is not far up the Nile from the Egyptian Museum (we walked it, though maybe a little long in the conditions). It is very impressive on entrance and the facilities are what you would expect of this class of establishment. I stayed in a Deluxe Nile view King bedroom. It was a decent size although maybe not as big as I hoped for the Deluxe. It did have a Nile view, however after staying in a Luxor hotel overlooking the Nile the view paled in comparison. The bed was amazing. The TV was an older quite large square CRT. A DVD player and other luxuries were provided.

The bathroom was grand and nice. The shower was very powerful. Plentiful towels, amenities etc. The shower was designed oddly with a big gap at the bottom of the door. With the powerful shower quite a lot of water comes out, however the plentiful towels soon sorted that out.

We didn't use many facilities apart from the Lebanese restaurant. We enjoyed the service there, the view and atmosphere (although next to an open air disco, the music may put off some). The food was good apart from the dodgy cheese in the dessert. We enjoyed this and didn't mind paying a lot.

Use of the internet PC's was a ridiculous $25 for 15 minutes computer use. This would be obscene even in London. Round the back of the hotel I went to an internet café (although hard to find) for 1 Egyptian pound for half an hour (less than 20 cents).

In general the hotel was good, I'd paid £150 a night using an agent.

I however encountered some issues that spoilt my experience.

First of all a British citizen in an extremely westernised and expensive hotel should not be hassled about marriage papers without any prior warnings as to this requirement, regardless of whether my newly wed wife had a middle eastern background. I dread to think what would have happened if we'd been travelling together un-married as we have done in the past in Morocco and Yemen. We did not get this problem at other Egyptian hotels and I did not expect it in relatively liberal Egypt.

Secondly, I had paid up front a month earlier, using a trusted partner ('Travelocity' using lastminute.com) and received confirmation with explicit instructions to the hotel not to charge me again. On arrival I was required to be charged $200 that would be refunded, in case of mini bar expenditure. I was not prepared for this on my two night stay.

Their system said funds had not cleared from the agent for the room. I chased this up everyday I stayed there, giving them a copy of my bill that included credit card charge and the instructions. I was assured this was not a problem.

However on checking out in a hurry at 5am I was then asked to sign a non refundable credit card bill with no specified amount to charge, to be filled in later. This was unacceptable. After I argued this I was asked to sign a bill paying a much higher price, in case the agent did not come through with funds, putting on me liability for something I had not agreed to and was not forewarned to. With this mentality I could have been forced to pay any amount and Conrad would not accept any liability at all for its established trusted partner. The only positive was that after an hour of arguing the credit card agreement was agreed on the lesser amount. I was never charged this as the funds must have eventually come through. This was a bad hotel-agent partnership. I was delayed arguing for an hr at 6 in the morning. I hope this isn't a common experience, but it's lacking of such an evidently wealthy hotel trying to strong arm me over a two night stay I had already paid for.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

It is near the Nile river. It has a pool, put it is not worth it. The service is absolutely perfect. The rooms very large and of course very clean. Breakfast....? Comments cannot describe it. PERFECT! May be the best hotel in Cairo.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gtsip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
1.9 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
1.1 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#15 of 139 in Cairo
2,491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cairo Zamalek Residences
0.4 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Cairo

Address: 1191 Corniche El Nil, Cairo 11211, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#5 Business Hotel in Cairo
#6 Family Hotel in Cairo
#8 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#13 Best Value Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £79 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 614
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the magnificent River Nile, Conrad Cairo is set in the heart of bustling downtown. This award-winning event and business hotel offers city explorers premium rooms, elegant dining and 24-hour entertainment with a glamorous International Casino. Conrad Cairo offers spectacular River Nile views from every room. Enjoy easy access to city center businesses, as well as legendary attractions such as the Sphinx and Giza Pyramid. Extensive amenities include an on-site health club featuring the latest fitness equipment, steam rooms, saunas, massage services and heated swimming pool. Hotel boutiques, florist, beauty salon and shoe shine are also available for your convenience. Six outstanding restaurants and bars offer round the clock dining and entertainment. Visit the International Casino with a cocktail in hand and experience the glitz and glamour of Stage One bar. Our hotel is now in the TripAdvisor Hall of Fame, receiving outstanding traveler reviews and a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence five years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Conrad Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Cairo Hotel Cairo
Cairo Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing