We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden secret I had sofitel membership only for sofitel Cairo el gezirah”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #3 of 139 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Everything was great honestly , the location , the stuff , the lounge was great but it needs to be more wide and changing the wall color to white instead of that orange , the only bad things is the towels in bathroom it s old , the housekeeping are the worst ever but overall it was my fifth stay and I ll be back

Room Tip: 1721 Luxury club room
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments praising the Sofitel Ambassadors in the Club Millesiem were noted and was shared with all concerned as an example on how hard work and dedication pays-off.

You have also share your comments of the Hotels’ Housekeeping service were noted and forwarded to the Director of Housekeeping to reemphasize to her team the Sofitel Cleanliness codes. Rest assured that we have started replacing the hotels old towels with new to be up to our guests’ expectations.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

888 - 894 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

This was our base for travels around the Cairo area to see the pyramids, museum, markets, etc. and we were happy to come back to such nice accomodations. Updated, remodeled lobby & rooms, nice restaurants, excellent spa/pool; huge breakfast buffet with fresh fruits, pastries, eggs cooked-to-order, yogurts, etc. and beautiful outdoor patio seating; nice sized rooms (even doubles) with comfortable beds & excellent bathrooms. Bank in hotel for easy money exchange.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the Nile were nice because there's a lighted fountain in the middle of the...
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you described Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah as best hotel, best view and best breakfast. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Our check-in was reasonably smooth and once taken to our room we discovered that it was clean, and lovely, with an expansive view of the Nile.

We were told that the room came with wifi access, and although we could see the signal on our devices, it wasn't strong enough to surf the Internet. Our friends were staying a few rooms away from us, and they had a strong signal in their room.

Service was great, we even were able to pick up a shirt left in the room after check-out.

One night we were told at around 11 pm that the only on-site hotel still open for the night was Buddha Bar. We should have taken the cue when there were less than ten patrons on the premises (huge, like any Buddha Bar). Food was mediocre, very expensive and one of our group ended up with a horrible case of travelers diarrhea. Definitely do not eat here, we only came here when all of our other options were no longer options.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Nile and a balcony!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UmTareq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment! The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

We have also noted your comments on the Buddha Bar food quality; rest assured that the Director of Food & Beverage personally together with the Hotel French Executive Chef will thoroughly review this issue in order to meet our guest expectations.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Well this hotel is perfect form all aspects, great location, great view, perfect service amazing pool and health club
it is expensive though but you get what you pay for

Room Tip: all rooms are nile view so just choose a higher floor to get a better view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kabouzeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Bonjour,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel was older, in a good location, good service. Beautiful view of the Nile.

Room Tip: River view preferable
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EandK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This luxury 5 star hotel is certainly the best option In Cairo, egypt. Perfectly located in Zamalec, it offers high standing services, excellent accomodation and very corteous 1st class service. Staff is very professional, dedicated, and corteous. Food, beverages and leisure are of top quality. View to the pyramids, to the Nile.. don t look for another place: it s all about enchantment, pleasure whether you re in business or holidays. Yes: the sofitel el Gezirah is your best choice. Add the fact that it is down town, close to restaurants, pubs, cafes..it even host one very popular and famous Buddha bar! Swimming pool ? jacuzzi ? you have it with talented professionals dedicated to your wealness. All my congratulations, and a particular thanks to the Management Team for his dedication in making my stay a memorable event in Egypt. Pascal colibeau - FAO / UN

Room Tip: Reservation online is your best support. They revert to you in no time with the perfect offer.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PclClb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2011

Dear Our Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure having the chance to have you with us.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the very near future, whereby you will experience the difference yourself.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

where should i start? the flaws are so numerous that saying never again is not strong enough.rude staff from the entrance to the check-out. no toiletries enough in the bathroom,just a few half bottles left from the previous hosts.hair in the bed . terrible food and overcharged room service.last word service is inexistant........only good thing is the view but that is not sofitel that is cairo..........since 1978 i have had real problems but this time is the last chance.sorry to have spent so much useless money and nerves in the accor chain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bambou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#14 of 139 in Cairo
2,454 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
1.9 mi away
Conrad Cairo
Conrad Cairo
#10 of 139 in Cairo
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range: £97 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing