We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect, from the first minute. The sights are amazing, the service is excellent, and there is a great variety of”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Ranked #5 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect, from the first minute. The sights are amazing, the service is excellent, and there is a great variety of”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Everything was perfect, from the first minute. The sights are amazing, the service is excellent, and there is a great variety of restaurants and bars

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nihanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment, the Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    347
    100
    35
    37
See reviews for
250
428
124
348
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We spent three nights at the Sofitel at the beginning of our holiday in Egypt and had a great time. We arrived late in the evening and were impressed with the "nibbles" available in the Club Lounge, which saved us from having to go to the restaurant or order room service.

The breakfast in the Club Lounge was very good with the waiters remembering our preferences for juices, freshly cooked omlettes and hot milk with our coffee. We also ate in the Morrocan restaurant and the Buddha Bar - service and food in both were excellent. We also had lunches and drinks in the Window on the Nile bar.

Our room was very comfortable and clean with a view of the pyramids in the distance - and we could watch the rowers going up and down the Nile first thing in the morning.

All the staff were efficient and friendly - it was just a shame there weren't more guests staying in the hotel. This was our second visit to the Sofitel and it was just as good as we remembered it from last year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzyl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor. Your feedback will be influential in improving your experience on your next stay.

We are glad to hear you fully enjoyed the experience and Cairo. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

If you need to know what the meaning of luxury, you should visit Sofitel wonderful
Hotel fabulous view every thing in this hotel excellent, my room very nice and every night the housekeeping but fresh prifem in my room. the lounge more than
Excellent, excellent service exllant staff really I hope to stay forever in this hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you love Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah. We are glad that you liked your experience within the hotel. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murten, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The ambiance is great, well high class. the food in their Kebabj Restaurant is excellent, so is the breakfast buffet. The rooms are nicely decorated, the staff is very friendly. The ambience is more international than local, but still with a local touch. It costs but worth the quality you get for the price.

Room Tip: Take a room with view on the Nile - it's juste gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sibylle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that you described Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah as an excellent ambiance and services. We really appreciated your comment on our renowned Kebabgy Restaurant food and the hotel’s breakfast buffet. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2011

What a charming and unexpected surprise to find the intimate, attentive, and homey ambiance of club 16 tucked away in this little corner of sofitel tower. The light and expertly prepared hordoeurves were a perfectly delicate counterbalance to the sometimes overwhelming fare offered at the other restaurants here. My grandmother and I found ourselves quite at home and at ease in the elegant and quiet atmosphere where our every need was met and exceeded by an excellent staff, who even let me come into the kitchen and demonstrate how to make some of my favorite, more obscure cocktails with which they were unfamiliar! They then prepared them to perfection! What a treat! We will definitely be making club 16 a daily part of our experience here. A truly refined treasure in this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Our Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for sharing your thoughts of Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah with others guests’ on the tripadvisor.

We were very pleased to read that enjpyed our stay with is. Your comments praising the Sofitel Ambassadors in the Club Millesiem were noted and was shared with all concerned as an example on how hard work and dedication pays-off. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity once again to serve you in the very near future.

Cordially;

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Three day trip to do the pyramids etc before going on to Luxor & 7 day Nile cruise.First impression wow!,location is on the lower point of the island with the Nile flowing right by,On arrival the staff were attentetive & very friendly,at reception we were given a choice of room which was nice, so we opted for the 26 th floor with an awsome view of Cairo.The room was nice and big with a balcony and clean.The hotel inside is beautifull and the ambience is fantastic and has five restaraunts, we loved the Le Deck as it's floating on the Nile with great views and so relaxing in the balmy evenings,There is a pool,sauna,casino and much more,The location is excellent for the Museum and tarhir square about 2km.
All in all 5 star at it's best well done Cairo

Room Tip: Go for the top floors for a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Our Esteemed Guest,

I would like to thank you most sincerely for taking the time to write to us. It is always a great pleasure to receive such compliments, as it truly serves as a motivational factor in striving to achieve excellence.

We all look forward to be of service to you once again at Sofitel Cairo-El Gezirah.

Sincerely yours,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I have enjoyed staying there and the lovely scene for the beautiful cairo from the 26th level
the pool is having a view of the nile while you are swimming
a nice place for romantic vacation

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karim-mohsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofitel_Quality, Manager at Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Bonjour!

First of all thank you for your nice comment. The whole Sofitel Cairo- El Gezirah team as well as the hotel management will be looking forward to your next visit.

Cordially,

Iman El Gabaly
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
0.4 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
1.3 mi away
Cairo Marriott Hotel & Omar Khayyam Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
InterContinental Citystars Cairo
0.9 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
2,377 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Cairo, Nile City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah

Property: Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Address: 3 El Thawra Council St Zamalek, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Cairo
#2 Spa Hotel in Cairo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cairo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cairo
#6 Business Hotel in Cairo
#16 Family Hotel in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully refurbished in 2007, the contemporary interior design combines exquisite style and elegant refinement with the convenience of several restaurants, bars, spa, casino, 850m2 of conference/meeting facilities and all the latest amenities - the unique French flair and personalized service add a special touch of luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah Hotel Cairo
Cairo Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing